Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Practice Learning 1 reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Compassion, Caring and Communication by Compassion and caring are at the very heart of nursing ¿ possibly that¿s why you were attracted to the nursing profession in the first place. But what does compassionate caring really mean in nursing practice? Compassion, Caring and Communication: Skills for Nursing Practice is a practical book that guides you through the complex dimensions of caring. It considers the ways in which you connect with patients, families and co-workers, and the long-lasting impact of emotions and feelings. Using real-life narratives, case studies and reflection activities, the authors demonstrate how you can develop and maintain the empathy and communication skills you need to create effective, compassionate and caring partnerships. New to the second edition: Comprehensively updated throughout to reflect and highlight current professional pressures and public concerns around nursing practice. Includes a broader range of relevant case studies, discussions and scenarios to engage students and qualified nurses at all levels. Contains new content about the impacts of recent government reports and policies on nursing care, developing an awareness of contemporary issues and debates. The BOND caring framework has been revised and updated alongside new ¿caring indicators¿, to support the development of compassionate caring skills. All references have been updated using the latest sources and evidence-based studies.
Call Number: 610.730699 BAU + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Your Foundation in Health and Social Care by Your Foundation in Health & Social Care provides readers with all the knowledge and skills necessary for effective learning at Foundation level, both in study and the workplace. It explores all the key areas of the Foundation Degree, including: - critical analysis and practice - communication - work placement skills - psychology Each chapter features case studies to translate theory into real-life practice, activities to challenge readers, and further reading so that students can develop their understanding. This is an essential companion for those studying foundation degrees across health and social care, and also valuable reading for students at higher education level.
Call Number: 362.1 BRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Skills for Success by Whatever stage your students are at, it's never too soon for them to be thinking about their future. Competition for jobs is fierce, and having a degree is no longer enough. This indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and develop the skills and capabilities required by today's employers. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. This versatile resource is ideal for students on personal development modules from foundation through to postgraduate level. It can also be used independently by students from all disciplines.
Call Number: PGR 650.1 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills by This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides guidance for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Workplace Learning in Health and Social Care by "A really positive and timely text, which contributes to the evidence base and prepares and supports the health and social care student for the challenges of the modern workplace. I highly recommend it." British Journal of Healthcare Assistants, May 2011 "This book is clear, concise and makes for easy reading throughout ... It provides some great tips on learning within a work environment in addition to an excellent chapter on learning styles that any student could benefit from. The book is bursting with helpful knowledge on formulating action plans, working with mentors, personal development plans and the importance of career planning ... Its concepts are useable and applicable to all student nurses." Laura Carter, Student Nurse, Kingston University, UK "A good, comprehensive addition to any student nurses collection! The book is laid out in a clear, logical manner which is easy to read whilst covering the most important points ... [It will be] particularly beneficial to those considering applying for jobs as it explains the Knowledge and Skills framework and how this can be used in practice as well as giving tips on filling in application forms, completing CV's and how to be successful in an interview ... A valuable resource for any student currently studying a course related to health and social care." Ashley Malone, Student, Queen's University Belfast This practical book is an essential student guide to getting the most out of your work based learning (WBL) experiences in health and social care settings. The book is designed to help you understand the different aspects of WBL and how it links to your foundation degree, lifelong learning and your own individual personal development. The book: Provides practical strategies and exercises to strengthen your capacity to learn at work and reflect on your own personal and professional development goals Shows you how to develop relationships with your employers and key members of your multi-disciplinary team Explores how you can demonstrate evidence of learning in the workplace in your PDP and portfolio Includes real life quotes and tips from healthcare students undertaking WBL as part of a foundation degree, so you can learn from their experiences Workplace Learning in Health and Social Care is ideal for foundation degree students as well as health care workers, health care assistants and assistant practitioners. Contributors: Jane Abbott, Tom Aird, Jayne Crow, Peter Ellis, Mary Northrop, Helen O'Keefe, Barbara Workman
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Fundamentals of Care by Fundamentals of Care is an accessible introductory textbook for all health care assistants; assistant practitioners and social care support workers who are undertaking the newly introduced, mandatory Care Certificate, as well as offering a resource for providing care and support. Practically focused, each chapter begins with the outcomes associated with each standard, which helps contextualise and focus the reader on the content and relevance to the Care Certificate. The book also includes exercises to encourage the reader to stop, look, listen and act, thinking cap activity promotes further thinking and application to care and support provision along with case studies and resource files. Written to help the reader come to terms with the role and function of the heath and care assistants, Fundamentals of Care offers support to those undertaking the Care Certificate and to assist those who already work as health and care assistants, helping them in their quest to enhance safe and effective care.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Promoting Equality: working with diversity and difference. 3rd edn. by Practitioners working within the people professions have a legal and moral responsibility to promote equality wherever possible. This insightful book from a leading author provides a lucid guide to the complexities of inequality, and offers a sound foundation for practice that makes a positive contribution to equality, social justice and empowerment. Now in its third edition, this highly successful text challenges oversimplified approaches to tackling discrimination and oppression. It combines an impressive blend of theoretical analysis and practice insights, all conveyed in the accessible and engaging style which has earned Neil Thompson his sterling reputation in the field. Along with a new introductory chapter, this revised edition features: ? 'Voice of experience' comments: practitioners' real-world experiences of discrimination; ? Key concept boxes: authoritative support in demystifying complex theoretical ideas; ? Practice focus illustrations: cameos from practice which bring theoretical issues to life. With a clear exposition of a coherent theory base that does justice to the multi-level and multi-dimensional nature of discrimination, Promoting Equality is essential reading for students and practitioners within the helping professions, and managers and supervisors across the public, private and voluntary sectors.
Call Number: 361.32 THO + eBook
Publication Date: 2011