Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Personal and Professional Development Reading List. Here you will find all the resources to support you throughout your module.
Study Skills for Foundation Degrees by Study Skills for Foundation Degrees offers a step-by-step guide to the skills needed to successfully complete a Foundation Degree. Filled with activities and useful tips, it will help students to move from nervous novice to confident expert and provide them with the necessary tools to accomplish this. By reading this book, students will be able to learn new skills and enhance existing ones. This third edition has been fully updated and features new chapters on e-learning and dissertations as well as expanded sections on ethics, feedback and referencing. Each chapter includes practical guidance as well as student perspectives that will help students through their course of study. It includes advice on how to support learning, boost motivation and enhance time management, and covers all the essential skills required for successful study, including: Effective reading and note-taking strategies Developing oral skills in a wide range of presentation settings, including what makes a good presentation and how each stage of the process can be prepared for Carrying out well-planned, methodologically sound and well-written research Preparing for examinations and other forms of assessment Producing a professional development portfolio or winning CV Highly accessible, this new edition is an essential resource for all Foundation Degree students who want to get the most out of their course, mature students or anyone with limited or no experience of academic study.
Call Number: eBooks
Publication Date: 2019
Critical Thinking Skills by Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Writing at University by Writing at University offers guidance on how to develop the writing you have to do at university along with a greater understanding of what is involved in this complex activity. Writing is seen as a tool for learning as well as a product to be assessed. The importance of what you yourself can bring as a writer to your academic writing is stressed throughout the book. The book looks at an array of writing projects, including essays, reports and dissertations, and analyzes what is expected of each form of assignment. The authors provide examples of student writing and reflections on writing by both tutors and students. This edition includes new sections on: Making an argument and persuading your reader Using sources creatively Avoiding plagiarism Writing online Further sources of information about academic writing Writing at University is an essential resource for all college and university students, including postgraduates, who wish to develop their academic writing. It will also be an invaluable aid for tutors in supporting their students.
Call Number: STSK 808.042 CRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Reading, Writing and Reasoning by "A concise and useful guide, which provides an overview of the skills necessary to good reviewing ... Dealing clearly with traditional sources such as books and journals alongside recent developments such as wikis, blogs, and other online material, this handbook provides students with not only the basics, but guidance on the evolving issues in research dissemination and literature reviewing." Daniel Zahra, Student, University of Plymouth, UK What do you have to do to achieve success in your university studies? Many students find the 'step up' from school or college work to university study a challenge. The same is frequently true for those returning to study after time spent in the workplace. If you find yourself in either of these situations then this is the book for you. Straightforward and sympathetic, this accessible handbook will help you to develop the essential skills in three of the core aspects of university study: reading, writing and reasoning. Drawing on a wealth of experience of working with students in a variety of settings, Gavin Fairbairn and Christopher Winch have completely revised and updated this best selling text. It is packed with practical advice, examples and exercises that will be invaluable for all students and assist in developing effective reading practices, high quality academic writing and critical thinking skills. The new edition contains: Expanded coverage on plagiarism and how to avoid it Additional guidance on structuring writing Suggestions for overcoming writer's block Tasks designed to reflect on key issues and practice skills Guidance for tutors on how to help students
Call Number: STSK 808.042 FAI
Publication Date: 2011
Communication in Nursing and Healthcare by Communication is an essential skill for nurses, midwives and allied health professionals when delivering care to patients and their families. With its unique and practical approach, this new textbook will support students throughout the three years of their degree programme and on into practice, focussing on how to develop person-centredness and compassionate and collaborative care. Key features include: * students′ experiences and stories from service users and patients to help readers relate theory to practice * reflective exercises to help students think critically about their communication skills * learning objectives and chapter summaries for revision * interactive activities directly linked to the Values Exchange Community website
Call Number: 610.73014 GAU + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Study Skills: for Nursing, Health and Social Care by An accessible textbook to help students develop their study skills. Study Skills is an accessible textbook for nursing, health and social care students seeking to improve their study skills, develop their resilience, enhance their employability and cultivate a love of lifelong learning. Through clear explanations, helpful hints, activities and quizzes, the book will help you to develop your study skills for both your studies and future career. You will learn: How to manage your time How to develop your reading and note-taking skills How to search the literature and apply critical thinking to your reading How to write essays and reference your sources How to use feedback and reflective practice to improve your academic performance How to deliver effective presentations This book will help you to develop your study skills and become a resilient lifelong learner. Essentials is a series of accessible, introductory textbooks for students in nursing, health and social care. New and forthcoming titles in the series: The Care Process Leadership Communication Skills Promoting Health and Wellbeing Research and Evidence-based Practice.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Fundamentals of Care by Fundamentals of Care is an accessible introductory textbook for all health care assistants; assistant practitioners and social care support workers who are undertaking the newly introduced, mandatory Care Certificate, as well as offering a resource for providing care and support. Practically focused, each chapter begins with the outcomes associated with each standard, which helps contextualise and focus the reader on the content and relevance to the Care Certificate. The book also includes exercises to encourage the reader to stop, look, listen and act, thinking cap activity promotes further thinking and application to care and support provision along with case studies and resource files. Written to help the reader come to terms with the role and function of the heath and care assistants, Fundamentals of Care offers support to those undertaking the Care Certificate and to assist those who already work as health and care assistants, helping them in their quest to enhance safe and effective care.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
The Handbook for Nurse Associates and Assistant Practitioners by Written specifically for students who are undertaking a foundation degree or higher level apprenticeship in healthcare practice, or for those studying for the new nurse associate role, this book provides readers with the core knowledge and skills, giving them a springboard to further study. Key features include: a one-stop shop for the course including a broad range of topics such as study skills, professional development, infection control and health promotion, health sciences, mental health, learning disabilities, children and families, clinical case studies throughout to show how theory relates to real-life practice different levels of activity to help students 'step up learning' whether they are at level 4 or 5 Written by a wide range of authors with both experience in practice and in running degrees in nursing and health, the book is essential reading for all healthcare support workers, assistant practitioners and nurse associates.
Call Number: 610.73 ROW
Publication Date: 2018
Reflective Practice for Healthcare Professionals by "This detailed, practical guide to reflective practice has relevance to all healthcare practitioners. Taylor offers readers her REFLECT model to guide them through the process of reflection... Throughout she uses a wide variety of techniques to explain and illustrate what to expect and how to adapt and accommodate to different circumstances and preferences... This book has such depth and detail and yet at the same time is practical and written in plain language. There is literally something for everyone..." Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy, April 2011 78(2) "Taylor reveals how reflection and contemplation creatively welds the everyday working day world to a myriad of cultural, ethical, moral and managerial challenges. This book offers the beginning practitioner a broad understanding of why conscious awareness of one's thinking matters. Taylor's insight reveals her deep thoughtfulness as a meticulous researcher, supervisor and mentor and her guidelines will ground you in shaping your own development as a researcher in practice." Dr Margaret Martin, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand "Reflection, as a process of critical self-evaluation, continues to grow and be recognised as a successful,approach to improving, changing and managing healthcare practice. This latest text by Taylor is a welcome addition to the increasing body of knowledge on the subject. She writes, as always, with exceptional clarity and manages to combine practical guidance with experiential insights and theoretical frameworks. Highlighting the importance of ordinary human communication for all healthcare professionals, Taylor's text and presence is anything but ordinary." Professor Dawn Freshwater, University of Leeds, UK "This book is about more than reflection, it is about a philosophy of nursing that Taylor has espoused throughout her career, and it makes a connection with the reader in a way that many books do not.This is a must-have book for all who wish to move their practice forwards." Joanne Pike, Senior Lecturer, NEWI, North Wales This popular book provides practical guidance for healthcare professionals wishing to reflect on their work and improve the way they undertake clinical procedures, interact with other people at work and deal with power issues. The new edition has been broadened in focus from nurses and midwives exclusively, to include all healthcare professionals. Practice stories by a variety of healthcare professionals are interweaved throughout the book to illustrate reflective practice and 'author's reflections' boxes are used to illustrate the author's experience of reflective practice. The book contains a clear and comprehensive description of: The fundamentals of reflective practice and how and why it is embraced in healthcare professions Strategies for effective reflection Systematic approaches to technical, practical and emancipatory reflection A step-by-step guide to applying the Taylor REFLECT model This edition also introduces the concept of 'ordinariness' in health care, which used consciously with the reflective practice processes in this book should increase the likelihood that patients receiving healthcare will feel acknowledged, heard and comforted as intelligent human beings.
Call Number: 610.7301 TAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills by This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides guidance for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Study Skills Toolkit for Students with Dyslexia by Packed with helpful advice, checklists and templates, this book will help you improve your study skills throughout your time at university. Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense style, the guidance can be broken down into manageable chunks. Issues covered include: procrastination planning your assignment understanding your essay question researching, writing and referencing your written work managing your own well-being. Drawing on years of experience running study skills workshops in higher education, Monica Gribben has written an accessible book for students with dyslexia that shows how to work through the challenges that studying presents. The companion website www.sagepub.co.uk/gribben has podcasts, worksheets and electronic resources to support each chapter. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Call Number: 371.9144 GRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Workplace Learning in Health and Social Care by "A really positive and timely text, which contributes to the evidence base and prepares and supports the health and social care student for the challenges of the modern workplace. I highly recommend it." British Journal of Healthcare Assistants, May 2011 "This book is clear, concise and makes for easy reading throughout ... It provides some great tips on learning within a work environment in addition to an excellent chapter on learning styles that any student could benefit from. The book is bursting with helpful knowledge on formulating action plans, working with mentors, personal development plans and the importance of career planning ... Its concepts are useable and applicable to all student nurses." Laura Carter, Student Nurse, Kingston University, UK "A good, comprehensive addition to any student nurses collection! The book is laid out in a clear, logical manner which is easy to read whilst covering the most important points ... [It will be] particularly beneficial to those considering applying for jobs as it explains the Knowledge and Skills framework and how this can be used in practice as well as giving tips on filling in application forms, completing CV's and how to be successful in an interview ... A valuable resource for any student currently studying a course related to health and social care." Ashley Malone, Student, Queen's University Belfast This practical book is an essential student guide to getting the most out of your work based learning (WBL) experiences in health and social care settings. The book is designed to help you understand the different aspects of WBL and how it links to your foundation degree, lifelong learning and your own individual personal development. The book: Provides practical strategies and exercises to strengthen your capacity to learn at work and reflect on your own personal and professional development goals Shows you how to develop relationships with your employers and key members of your multi-disciplinary team Explores how you can demonstrate evidence of learning in the workplace in your PDP and portfolio Includes real life quotes and tips from healthcare students undertaking WBL as part of a foundation degree, so you can learn from their experiences Workplace Learning in Health and Social Care is ideal for foundation degree students as well as health care workers, health care assistants and assistant practitioners. Contributors: Jane Abbott, Tom Aird, Jayne Crow, Peter Ellis, Mary Northrop, Helen O'Keefe, Barbara Workman
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Critical Thinking and Writing for Nursing Students by This book is a clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing programme. This new edition also provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection to help nursing students appreciate the requirements of degree level study. The book demonstrates the transferable nature of critical thinking and reflection from academic contexts to the real practice of nursing.Key features Clear and straightforward introduction to critical thinking directly written for nursing students, with chapters relating the subject to specific study and practice contexts Student examples and scenarios throughout, including running case studies from four nursing students and further annotated examples of student's work on the website Each chapter is linked to the new NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: 610.73 PRI
Publication Date: 2016