Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Human Growth and Development reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Human Growth and Development by What is it that determines what sort of person we become? Is a child's future personality already determined at birth, or is a newborn baby like a blank sheet, waiting to be written on by life?Is our personality determined by anything, or do we choose for ourselves who we are, create ourselves out of nothing? This bestselling introduction to emotional, psychological, intellectual and social development throughout the lifespan will help you explore these questions and many more. Written for students training for careers in the helping professions, including nurses, social workers, occupational therapists, teachers and counsellors, the book covers topics which are central to understanding people whether they are clients, service users, patients or pupils. Following the shape of a human life, beginning with birth and ending with death, it combines theoretical concepts and reflective learning to help you develop an understanding of what makes human beings grow and change over their lives to inform your decisions and professional practice.
Call Number: 155 BEC
Publication Date: 2016
Identity and the Life Cycle by This book collects three early papers that--along with Childhood and Society--many consider the best introduction to Erikson's theories. "Ego Development and Historical Change" is a selection of extensive notes in which Erikson first undertook to relate to each other observations on groups studied on field trips and on children studied longitudinally and clinically. These notes are representative of the source material used for Childhood and Society. "Growth and Crises of the Health Personality" takes Erikson beyond adolescence, into the critical stages of the whole life cycle. In the third and last essay, Erikson deals with "The Problem of Ego Identity" successively from biographical, clinical, and social points of view--all dimensions later pursued separately in his work.
Call Number: 155 ERI
Publication Date: 1994
Theories of Childhood by Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: 372.21 MOO + eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
Psychology by Exam Board: AQA, Edexcel, OCR & WJEC Level: A-level Subject: Psychology First Teaching: September 2015 First Exam: June 2016 Provides the essential foundation for psychology students, this is a revised and updated version of the most trusted introduction written by the bestselling psychology author Richard Gross. Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour has helped over half a million students worldwide. It is the essential introduction to psychology, covering all students need to know to understand and evaluate classic and contemporary topics. - Enables students to easily access psychological theories and research with colourful, user-friendly content and useful features including summaries, critical discussion and research updates - Helps students to understand the research process with contributions from leading psychologists including Elizabeth Loftus, Alex Haslam and David Canter - Ensures students are up to date with the latest issues and debates with this fully updated edition
Call Number: 150 GRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Ageing and Later Life by Aging and Later Life examines the range of issues raised by aging in contemporary society. The collection is unique in combining academic and practitioner analyses with personal accounts. By taking a multidisciplinary approach that includes literary, historical, sociological, policy, psychological, and clinical perspectives, this lively and informative collection features essays by major authors and includes discussions of cultural aspects of self-image and identity, current concerns relating to health and well-being, and the reality of power and control in the care of older people. It also explores concepts and values that shape our understanding of aging, issues of policy and politics, and historical perspectives on aging and the possibilities for the future. Aging and Later Life is an invaluable sourcebook for students, practitioners, and researchers in social gerontology, sociology, psychology, health, and social work. "It is a real pleasure to recommend this very pleasing collection, which is a welcome addition to any gerontology library, personal or public." --Baseline
Call Number: 362.6 JOH
Publication Date: 1994
On Death and Dying by Ten years after Elisabeth Kübler-Ross's death, a commemorative edition with a new introduction and updated resources section of her beloved groundbreaking classic on the five stages of grief. One of the most important psychological studies of the late twentieth century, On Death and Dying grew out of Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross's famous interdisciplinary seminar on death, life, and transition. In this remarkable book, Dr. Kübler-Ross first explored the now-famous five stages of death: denial and isolation, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Through sample interviews and conversations, she gives readers a better understanding of how imminent death affects the patient, the professionals who serve that patient, and the patient's family, bringing hope to all who are involved. This edition includes an elegant, enlightening introduction by Dr. Ira Byock, a prominent palliative care physican and the author of Dying Well.
Call Number: 155.937 KB
Publication Date: 2014
The Language and Thought of the Child by Many of the earliest books, particularly those dating back to the 1900s and before, are now extremely scarce and increasingly expensive. We are republishing these classic works in affordable, high quality, modern editions, using the original text and artwork.
Call Number: 372.6 PIA
Publication Date: 2007