Sports Biomechanics - The Basics: optimising human performance. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Human beings are the 'all-rounders' of the natural world - while they aren't naturally the quickest, biggest or strongest creatures, they can achieve more amazing physical feats than any other animal. Nowhere is this ability more pronounced than in sporting performance, the ideal area for studying the mechanics of a human - our biomechanics. But all too often the study of sports biomechanics can become bogged down in pure mathematics, tables and graphs that bear little resemblance to what you see on the field of play. In this comprehensively revised third edition of bestsellingSports Biomechanics, Professor Anthony Blazevich answers real-world questions using easily accessible language and fully updated, clear and concise diagrams. Each chapter is devoted to a single area of the subject and details scientific underpinnings of sports performance; this edition features a new chapter on human gait (walking and running) as well as new information on the latest topics in sport biomechanics. An absolutely essential resource for any student, athlete or fitness professional involved in the field of sports biomechanics.
Sport and Exercise Biomechanics, (Print copy) by
Instant Notes Sport and Exercise Biomechanics provides a comprehensive overview of the key concepts in exercise and sport biomechanics. The kinematics of motion are reviewed in detail, outlining the physics of motion. Mechanical characteristics of motion, the mechanisms of injury, and the analysis of the sport technique provides a source of valuable information.
Essentials of Performance Analysis in Sport by 
An Introduction to Sports Coaching: connecting theory and practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of #65533;knowledges#65533; which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: quick reference (Print copy) by
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exerciseis a quick reference guide to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts. Covering all major anatomical areas, the book includes: an A-to-Z guide to anatomical terms and concepts. clear and detailed anatomical illustrations cross-referenced entries throughout highlighted key terms 'hot topics' discussed in more detail full references and a list of suggested further reading. Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise is a must-have supplement for undergraduates in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and related areas. Clare Milner is Assistant Professor in Biomechanics at the University of Tennessee, USA
Athletic Ability and the Anatomy of Motion. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This book serves as a bridge between biomechanics and the practice of sport. By providing a detailed analysis of movement, it helps readers understand the important factors for maximizing performance. Valuable coverage is provided on the general characteristics of bones, joints, and muscles, as well as guidelines for flexibility and strength training that provide a firm theoretical framework for effective training. From this basis, the book explores the anatomy function of different parts of the body and examines the types of movement important in sports activities. The book's unique approach features a rigorous application of biomechanics to sport training. Mechanics are related to the use of muscles in specific sports. Coverage is both theoretical and practical, making the book useful both for academic study and as a training aid. Highly illustrated format helps readers understand key concepts and important details. Fully updated content provides the latest knowledge on the subject. New illustrations and new, engaging text layout draw the reader in and bring important concepts to life. Additional coverage has been added on several topics, including strength training.
Introduction to Sports Biomechanics.3rd edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
Introduction to Sports Biomechanics: Analysing Human Movement Patterns is a genuinely accessible and comprehensive guide to all of the biomechanics topics covered in an undergraduate sports and exercise science degree. Now in a fully revised and updated third edition, the book explores both the qualitative and quantitative analysis of human movement, covering the following key topics: Movement patterns - the essence and purpose of sports biomechanics Qualitative analysis of sports movements Sports movement patterns and the geometry of motion Quantitative motion analysis in sports biomechanics What causes sports movements? Forces and moments of force The anatomy of human movement Every chapter contains cross references to key terms and definitions, learning objectives and summaries, study tasks to confirm and extend understanding, and suggestions for further reading.　 In addition to the printed textbook, readers of this new edition will also have access to an Interactive eTextbook version, a new kind of e-book that can be used on both mobile and desktop devices offering students an unparalleled level of interactivity. Featuring video, data files, pop-up definitions, hyperlinks, self-test quizzes and interactive labelling and sorting tasks, this new electronic edition brings the subject of sports biomechanics to life like no other textbook. This remains an essential course text for students of sport and exercise, human movement sciences, ergonomics, biomechanics, physical education, and sports performance and coaching.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Coaching Process: principles and practice for sport. (Print copy) by
The coaching process in sport - what is it? Who is involved? How does it work in practice? The 'coaching process' is both eclectic and multi-disciplinary. It is the coach's role to manage the various parts of the process to form an effective strategy for improving sports performance in the athlete or team. For this unique book, the editors have brought together a team of expert contributors to answer these questions and to share their experiences in coaching, some at Olympic level.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching: connecting theory and practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of #65533;knowledges#65533; which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Like the groundbreaking first edition, Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise, Second Edition,introduces exercise and sport biomechanics in simple and concise terms rather than focusing on complex math and physics. With a unique presentation of biomechanical concepts supported with illustrations, the book helps students learn to appreciate external forces and their effects, how the body generates forces to maintain position, and how forces create movement in physical activities. Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise, Second Edition,allows students to discover the principles of biomechanics through observation of common activities. By observing ordinary activities firsthand, students will be able to develop functional and meaningful explanations, resulting in a deeper understanding of the underlying mechanical concepts. This practical approach combines striking visual elements with clear and concise language to encourage active learning and improved comprehension. Many new benefits are in the second edition for students and instructors alike: -More sample problems throughout the book to illustrate problem-solving techniques -A quick reference guide of frequently used equations printed on the inside cover -A new chapter on technology used in the study of biomechanics -Review questions at the end of each chapter to test the reader's understanding of important concepts -A new instructor guide outlining each chapter and step-by-step solutions to the quantitative problems presented, as well as a test package Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise, Second Edition,is ideal for those needing a deeper understanding of biomechanics from a qualitative perspective. Designed for students who will likely take only one course in biomechanics, the text prepares students to utilize the principles of biomechanics as professionals in the physical activity field. Thoroughly updated and expanded, Biomechanics of Sport and Exercise, Second Edition,makes the biomechanics of physical activity easy to understand and apply.
Skill Acquisition in Sport: research, theory and practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Success in sport depends upon the athlete's ability to develop and perfect a specific set of perceptual, cognitive and motor skills. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, Skill Acquisition in Sport examines how we learn such skills and, in particular, considers the crucial role of practice and instruction in the skill acquisition process. Containing thirteen completely new chapters, and engaging with the significant advances in neurophysiological techniques that have profoundly shaped our understanding of motor control and development, the book provides a comprehensive review of current research and theory on skill acquisition. Leading international experts explore key topics such as: attentional focus augmented Feedback observational practice and learning implicit motor learning mental imagery training physical guidance motivation and motor learning neurophysiology development of skill joint action. Throughout, the book addresses the implications of current research for instruction and practice in sport, making explicit connections between core science and sporting performance. No other book covers this fundamental topic in such breadth or depth, making this book important reading for any student, scholar or practitioner working in sport science, cognitive science, kinesiology, clinical and rehabilitation sciences, neurophysiology, psychology, ergonomics or robotics.
Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription-7th edn. (Print copy) by
Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription, Seventh Edition With Online Video, provides a comprehensive approach to physical fitness appraisal and exercise prescription. The text bridges the gap between research and practice and synthesizes concepts and theories from exercise physiology, kinesiology, measurement, psychology, and nutrition to provide a clearly defined approach to physical fitness testing and the design of individualized exercise programs. The accompanying online videos enhance the learning experience and teach the techniques necessary for conducting fitness testing and program design. More than 40 clips featuring common exercise assessments will help users learn essentials of fitness testing, such as calibration of blood pressure cuffs, functional movement assessment, and push-up and pull-up testing. Unlike introductory texts, which typically focus on field testing for evaluating physical fitness, this text includes both field and laboratory assessment techniques. Readers will find the latest information on maximal and submaximal graded exercise testing in healthy populations, muscular fitness testing protocols and norms for children and adults, and field tests and norms for evaluating cardiorespiratory fitness, muscular fitness, body composition, flexibility, and balance. The seventh edition of Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription reflects current guidelines and recommendations, including new physical activity recommendations from the U.S. government, American Heart Association, and American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), as well as the latest ACSM guidelines for medical exam and exercise testing requirements before beginning exercise programs. Additional updates to the seventh edition include the following: - New research substantiating the link between physical activity and disease risk - Expanded information on prediabetes, metabolic syndrome, osteoporosis, and overweight and obesity, including updated statistics on the global prevalence of obesity - New dietary guidelines for Americans, including information on MyPlate - Inclusion of SCORE system to estimate 10-year risk of fatal cardiac event due to atherosclerosis - Expanded information on the use of technology to monitor physical activity - Updated information on the use of exergaming and social networking to promote physical activity and exercise - Additional OMNI pictorial scales for ratings of perceived exertion during exercise - Latest ACSM FITT-VP principle for designing aerobic exercise programs - Whole-body vibration as an adjunct to resistance training and flexibility training Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription, Seventh Edition, is organized around physical fitness components, providing information on assessment followed by guidelines for designing exercise programs to improve each fitness component. The text begins with an overview of physical activity, health, and chronic disease, followed by discussion of preliminary health screening and risk classification, including the principles of fitness assessment, exercise prescription, and exercise program design. The remainder of the text provides in-depth coverage of assessment and exercise prescription for each of five physical fitness components: cardiorespiratory endurance, muscular fitness (strength, endurance, and power), body composition, flexibility, and balance. In each chapter, key questions help readers focus on essential information. Key points, review questions, and key terms reinforce concepts and summarize chapter content. An instructor guide, test package, chapter quizzes, and presentation package plus image bank provide tools for lecture preparation, creative content delivery, and class assessment. New to the seventh edition are online video clips for both students and instructors to further a
Skill Acquisition in Sport. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Success in sport depends upon the athlete's ability to develop and perfect a specific set of perceptual, cognitive and motor skills. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, Skill Acquisition in Sport examines how we learn such skills and, in particular, considers the crucial role of practice and instruction in the skill acquisition process. Containing thirteen completely new chapters, and engaging with the significant advances in neurophysiological techniques that have profoundly shaped our understanding of motor control and development, the book provides a comprehensive review of current research and theory on skill acquisition. Leading international experts explore key topics such as: attentional focus augmented Feedback observational practice and learning implicit motor learning mental imagery training physical guidance motivation and motor learning neurophysiology development of skill joint action. Throughout, the book addresses the implications of current research for instruction and practice in sport, making explicit connections between core science and sporting performance. No other book covers this fundamental topic in such breadth or depth, making this book important reading for any student, scholar or practitioner working in sport science, cognitive science, kinesiology, clinical and rehabilitation sciences, neurophysiology, psychology, ergonomics or robotics.
