Management by
Management provides students with a thorough explanation and exploration of management concepts and practices across all management functions. The major theme of the book is management at a time of change, reflecting the challenges faced by managers with increasingly rapid developments in technology, the culture and environment in which they work and the globalisation of ideas and business activity. Written in a straightforward style, the book contains chapters contributed by experts in their field to ensure coverage of the most recent ideas and practices. It is suitable for students studying business or management in further or higher education and introductory management modules for non-specialists
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Essentials of Contemporary Management. Gareth Jones, Jennifer George by
This work attempts to put students in the manager's shoes by describing how their personal characteristics can influence an organisation's culture, using case studies and exercises. It focuses on the important managerial issues of ethics and diversity.
Management and Organisational Behaviour by
Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Management and Organisational Behaviour. 11th edn. (E-book) by
Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Doing Your Research Project. 7th edn. (Print copy) by 
Qualitative Research Methods in Sport Exercise and Health by
Qualitative forms of inquiry are a dynamic and exciting area within contemporary research in sport, exercise and health. Students and researchers at all levels are now expected to understand qualitative approaches and be able to employ them in their work. In this comprehensive and in-depth introductory text, Andrew C. Sparkes and Brett Smith take the reader on a journey through the entire qualitative research process that begins with the conceptualization of ideas and the planning of a study, moves through the phases of data collection and analysis, and then explains how findings might be represented in various ways to different audiences. Ethical issues are also explored in detail, as well as the ways that the goodnessof qualitative research might be judged by its consumers. The book is based on the view that researchers need to make principled, informed and strategic decisions about what, why, when, and how to use qualitative forms of inquiry. The nature of qualitative research is explained in terms of both its core assumptions and what practitioners actually doin the field when they collect data and subject it to analysis. Each chapter is vividly illustrated with cases and examples from published research, to demonstrate different qualitative approaches in action and their relative strengths and weaknesses. The book also extends the boundaries of qualitative research by exploring innovative contemporary methodologies and novel ways to report research findings.　 Qualitative Research Methods in Sport, Exercise and Health　is essential reading for any student, researcher or professional who wishes to understand this form of inquiry and to engage in a research project within a sport, exercise or health context.
Social Research Methods. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Introduction to Research Methods 5th Edition by
Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods *Choose your participants *Prepare a research proposal *Construct questionnaires *Conduct interviews and focus groups *Analyse your data *Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher
Marketing Research by
This market leader has established itself as a classic through seven previous editions by presenting superior, balanced coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of marketing research. The six stages of the research process provide a solid framework to ensure the development of students' conceptual and practical understanding of marketing research. It may be used for both upper-division undergraduate and graduate level courses.
Marketing Research by
This title provides an integration of both the professional and the practical elements of marketing research. The perspective is market-led, rather than focusing on technique, and the text remains accessible by assuming less statistical knowledge than most others available.
The Concise Time Management and Personal Development. (E-book) by
There are many books on time management and personal development. However, John Adair's wide experience of management development in the business, military and academic spheres adds a rare degree of insight, depth and context to practical advice. John Adair's books have sold hundreds of thousands of copies. This book encapsulates his writing on how to establish clear long-term goals and link your daily action planning to their achievement. It provides you with the tools, techniques and framework for continuing personal development.
Skills for Success by
Whatever stage your students are at, it's never too soon for them to be thinking about their future. Competition for jobs is fierce, and having a degree is no longer enough. This indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and develop the skills and capabilities required by today's employers. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. This versatile resource is ideal for students on personal development modules from foundation through to postgraduate level. It can also be used independently by students from all disciplines.
The Personal Efficiency Program by
How to be more organized and productive at work and have more fun doing it In the decade since the publication of first edition of this international bestseller, Kerry Gleeson's famed Personal Efficiency Program (PEP) has revolutionized the work lives of more than a half-million people worldwide. With increasing pressure to produce with far less support than at any time in the recent past, the techniques herein are more timely than ever. The program helps readers conquer the daily stream of interruptions and paperwork to manage tasks and time effectively. This Third Edition features expanded coverage of how to get more done in teams, including tips on managing multiple schedules and running more efficient meetings. It also incorporates ways to effectively use technology, helping readers make the most of the Internet, PDA's, and email to get the job done more quickly and with less effort. Kerry Gleeson (Boca Raton, FL) is founder and CEO of the Institute for Business Technology International. IBT's client list includes GM, Texaco, Westinghouse, and Hewlett-Packard. Gleeson has been featured in the Financial Times, the Washington Post, and Success.
Working Ethically by
TheBusiness on a Shoestring series helps small business owners growtheir business imaginatively, effectively, and without spending a fortune. Aimed at entrepreneurs with plenty of vision and commitment but not a lot of cash, each book ispacked with ideas that really work, real-life examples, step-by-step advice and sources of further information. There has never been more interest in working ethically, and many small business owners are leading the way in finding positive solutions that benefit them, their community and the environment. This book helps you to do the same, by offering invaluable advice on:Creating an ethical strategy for your business; Finding suppliers who share your aims; Playing your part in an ethical supply chain; Banking ethically; Buying positively; Treating your staff fairly; Respecting and protecting the environment; Contributing to your local community. 'a great little package'The Bookseller
Business and Sustainability by
Climate change, the resource constrained economy, and sustainability in general are amongst the hottest and most problematic topics in contemporary business today. Increasingly, new enterprises are being established to address key twenty-first century environmental challenges, incumbentindustries are implementing new strategies to comply with stringent legislation to retain their licenses, and multi-nationals are endeavouring to link tackling issues from poverty to deforestation to their bottom line. This textbook is one of the first to offer students a comprehensive overview of how the world's sustainability challenges are affecting, and being affected by business, and has been written specifically to cater for the growing number of courses and modules at undergraduate and postgraduate levelsfocused on sustainability in the business context. The author adopts a mix of practitioner and theoretical perspectives and offers an insightful review of the subject across three core areas: the global business context, business management and ownership, and the external environment. Each of theseareas contains chapters on particular aspects of sustainability and management, and draws from a range of global case studies and exercises. This textbook serves as a concise summary of contemporary sustainability issues for lecturers and students wanting a single resource on the subject.Online Resource Centre: For Students:* Links to web resources e.g. company sustainability initiatives, sustainability organisationsFor Lecturers:* Teaching suggestions for the case studies* PowerPoint slides* Links to films, online video and other AV resources for use in the classroom, including summaries of their content and how they could be used* Electronic versions of figures and diagrams from the book
The Origin of Wealth by
Over 6.4 billion people participate in a $36.5 trillion global economy, designed and overseen by no one. How did this marvel of self-organized complexity evolve? How is wealth created within this system? And how can wealth be increased for the benefit of individuals, businesses, and society? In The Origin of Wealth, Eric D. Beinhocker argues that modern science provides a radical perspective on these age-old questions, with far-reaching implications. According to Beinhocker, wealth creation is the product of a simple but profoundly powerful evolutionary formula: differentiate, select, and amplify. In this view, the economy is a "complex adaptive system" in which physical technologies, social technologies, and business designs continuously interact to create novel products, new ideas, and increasing wealth. Taking readers on an entertaining journey through economic history, from the Stone Age to modern economy, Beinhocker explores how "complexity economics" provides provocative insights on issues ranging from creating adaptive organizations to the evolutionary workings of stock markets to new perspectives on government policies. A landmark book that shatters conventional economic theory, The Origin of Wealth will rewire our thinking about how we came to be here--and where we are going.
Understanding Organisational Context by
Introduces organisations, their structures, behaviours, cultures, resources and functions, before showing how organisations can manage their external environment.
Understanding Organizational Culture by
′Understanding Organizational Culture is a most timely and comprehensive book. And Mats Alvesson is surely one of our most intrepid and intellectually astute authors writing on this topic. This is a lively, enthusiastic text that covers a good deal of territory, looking at a variety of contemporary organizational cultures. It manages to convey just why organizational culture studies continue to grow in number and quality. The book is fascinating, usefully provocative and of considerable relevance to understanding the source of so much of our work-a-day pleasures and frustrations′ - John Van Maanen, Professor of Organization Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology The concept of culture is a key issue within management and organization studies. Understanding Organizational Culture provides a useful and comprehensive guide to understanding organizational culture, from a range of angles, contexts and sectors. The book answers questions of definition, explores alternative perspectives, and expands on substantive issues (such as leadership and change), before discussing key issues of research and providing a new framework for this topic. Mats Alvesson synthesizes for students the advances in the field of organizational culture, drawing upon the range of relevant literature within Organization Studies. The author also uses examples to develop and illustrate ideas on how cultural thinking can be used in managerial and non-managerial organizational theory and (theory-supported) practice. Understanding Organizational Culture provides great breadth within a textbook approach - covering a wide spectrum of management and organization while at the same time developing a new theoretical approach to organizational culture. It will be essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in Management and Organization Studies, particularly key for modules in Organizational Behaviour, Organizational Theory and on MBA programmes. It is also relevant to students and academics in sociology and psychology.
Organizational Cultures by
First published in 1993. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
