Understanding Sports Coaching. (Print copy) by
Successful sports coaching is as dependent on utilising good teaching and social practices as it is about expertise in sport skills and tactics. Understanding Sports Coachingoffers an innovative introduction to the theory and practice of sports coaching, highlighting the social, cultural and pedagogical concepts underpinning good coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, the book explores the complex interplay between coach, athlete, coaching programme and social context, and encourages coaches to develop an open and reflective approach to their own coaching practice. It addresses key issues such as: power and the coach-athlete relationship viewing the athlete as a learner instructional methods and reflection how our view of ability informs assessment coaching philosophy and ethics. Understanding Sports Coachingalso includes a full range of practical exercises and case studies designed to encourage coaches to reflect critically upon their own coaching strategies, their interpersonal skills and upon important issues in contemporary sports coaching. This book is essential reading for all students of sports coaching and for any professional coach looking to develop their coaching expertise.
Understanding Sports Coaching: the social cultural and pedagogical foundations of coaching practice. (E-book) by
Successful sports coaching is as dependent on utilising good teaching and social practices as it is about expertise in sport skills and tactics. Understanding Sports Coaching offers an innovative introduction to the theory and practice of sports coaching, highlighting the social, cultural and pedagogical concepts underpinning good coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, the book explores the complex interplay between coach, athlete, coaching programme and social context, and encourages coaches to develop an open and reflective approach to their own coaching practice. It addresses key issues such as: power and the coach-athlete relationship viewing the athlete as a learner instructional methods and reflection how our view of ability informs assessment coaching philosophy and ethics. Understanding Sports Coaching also includes a full range of practical exercises and case studies designed to encourage coaches to reflect critically upon their own coaching strategies, their interpersonal skills and upon important issues in contemporary sports coaching. This book is essential reading for all students of sports coaching and for any professional coach looking to develop their coaching expertise.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching: connecting theory and practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of #65533;knowledges#65533; which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
Inclusive Physical Activity-2nd edn by
The second edition of Inclusive Physical Activity is an excellent resource for physical activity practitioners or students preparing to work with diverse populations in schools, fitness facilities, community recreation sites, and sport programs. This text shows how to provide optimal programming for all individuals--regardless of capability--so they can be healthy and active throughout the life span. Inclusive Physical Activity, Second Edition, can help you * provide well-designed and appropriate physical activity for individuals of all abilities, * increase opportunities for meaningful participation in lifelong physical activity, and * facilitate physical activity to increase health and and wellness for individuals with disabilities. The book covers programming considerations and strategies for infants and toddlers, school-age children, and adults; examples of inclusive practices for commonly offered physical activities; and suggestions for more effectively individualizing programming. Inclusive Physical Activity also provides information on adapting instruction and providing activity alternatives across the life span in five content areas: 1. Movement skills 2. Games and sports 3. Health-related fitness 4. Outdoor recreation and adventure 5. Aquatics Inclusive Physical Activity outlines a systematic approach to planning and implementing appropriate programs for individuals of varying abilities. Using the unique Functional Approach to Modifying Movement Experiences (FAMME) model, practitioners can learn--step by step--how to connect modifications directly to participants' capability differences to provide optimal challenge and success. Updated and expanded, the second edition offers three new chapters plus special learning features: * Including All Individuals chapter-opening scenarios * Think Back questions that encourage readers to apply chapter content to each scenario * What Do You Think? questions and What Would You Do? case examples that promote reflective thinking and problem solving Instructors who adopt the text get online access to an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package. New to the second edition, the presentation package offers approximately 200 slides highlighting the most important concepts from the book plus essential figures, tables, and photos. With Inclusive Physical Activity, both students and professionals will find the knowledge and support to make meaningful and inclusive physical activity a reality and promote better health for everyone.
Sports Coaching: professional isation and practice. (E-book) by
Sports Coaching: Professionalisation and Practice is a comprehensive evidence-based textbook of sports coaching theory and practice. The book is edited by leading academics in sports coaching studies and authored by a world-renowned team of experts in sports coaching research. It deals with all aspects of coaching behaviour and practice, including coaches' decision making, coaching pedagogy, and the development of expertise. Each of the chapters provides an up-to-date position statement on coaching themes, and makes explicit reference to the professionalisation of coaching. Written in an accessible style, and identifying critical ideas and issues, the book will complement and challenge both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching programmes, and will be an invaluable source of ideas for researchers and academics. Multicontributed chapters follow uniform structure to increase clarity and accessiblity of text 'Snapshots' of critical ideas and issues presented as models or diagrams to facilitate students' understanding Case examples and scenarios illustrate key concepts in each chapter Latest research and current literature summarised for each thematic topic.
Expert Performance in Sports: advances in research on sport expertise. (Print copy) by
Expert Performance in Sports: Advances in Research on Sport Expertisepresents an overview of the critical issues facing researchers who study how athletes reach--and stay at--the pinnacle of their sports. The text will allow you to update your knowledge of sport expertise with the most current research and practical applications for the development of sport expertise in athletes, referees, and judges. This comprehensive reference reflects both theoretical underpinnings and future directions in the understanding of sport expertise research and is the first book to look specifically at how elite athletes are developed. Editors Janet L. Starkes and K. Anders Ericsson identify the questions typically asked in the study of sport expertise; they provide a stimulating, scientific debate that addresses the question of whether a general theory of expert performance is achievable; and they conclude with a glimpse of future directions for research on sport expertise. This new reference answers controversial questions that arise with regard to the training of high-level performers: -How can you potentially speed up the acquisition process? -How easy or difficult is it for experts to retain high performance levels as they age? -How can coaches structure practices to maximize active time and preparation for the next competition? -What is the role of coaches and mentors who work with elite performers? -What aspects of performance best reflect expert behaviors in a particular sport--anticipation, perceptual accuracy, decision speed, attention focus, response selection, response consistency, strategy, or others? With Expert Performance in Sports,you not only can read about sport expertise research but also find out how athletes and coaches benefit the most. "Experts' Comments" at the end of each chapter present the opinions of two world-class experts, Therese Brisson and Nick Cipriano. These experts' opinions bridge the gap between the research presented and its practical applications. Dr. Therese Brisson's academic training is in motor behavior; she also is an Olympic gold medalist, silver medalist, and six-time world champion in ice hockey. Professor Nick Cipriano is both an academic and an international-level wrestling coach. He is a former international-level wrestler and world-renowned coach in freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling, and he has coached both male and female athletes from the high school level to the Olympic team. This is a must-have reference that will challenge researchers to identify both their theoretical underpinnings and future directions in their study of how the best excel at sports.
Coaching Knowledges: understanding the dynamics of sport performance. (Print copy) by
Too often coaching is seen by sports science students as mechanistic and prescriptive. What a coach does in training and on the sidelines, however, is far more complex and involved than simply setting exercises and drills. Effective coaching requires a range of 'knowledges', from the pedagogical to the sociological, physiological and psychological. In this book teachers, lecturers and coaches from Bath University's 'Team Bath' coaching and teaching faculty look at how various 'knowledges' influence every coach's daily practices. The book will have three sections. The first section will be written by sports scholars who have or are still coaching. Section two will be written by coach educators who are active elite coaches. The final section will feature three indepth interviews with three master international coaches.
Sports Coaching Cultures: a framework for coaches behaviour. (E-booky) by
'The art of coaching is recognising the situation, recognising the people and responding to the people you are working with... that's the big thing, to handle people'. Steve Harrison, Coach, Middlesbrough Football Club. Responding to the fast growing subject in academic sports departments, this groundbreaking new coaching studies text offers a view that focuses the coach as a person and the coaching practice as a complex social encounter. Unlike existing titles in the field which look at coaching as a science, this book examines the personalities, histories, relationships and individual styles of eight coaches at the top of their profession. One-to-one interviews with some of the best-known and respected elite sports coaches include Steve Harrison, Hope Powell and Graham Taylor from football; Ian McGeechan and Bob Dwyer from rugby; Di Bass from swimming; Lois Muir from netball; and Peter Stanley from athletics; and form the basis for subsequent exploration of four key themes in sports coaching: * coaching pedagogy * the coach's role * the coach's interaction with athletes * the coach's power. This text will be of significant interest to students of coaching science and sports science, and will appeal to the considerable body of amateur sports coaches with an interest in the styles of those at the top.
The Sports Coach as Educator: re-conceptualising sports coaching. (Print copy) by
Teaching athletes to improve their performance is the essence of sports coaching. In response to new government-led initiatives to invest in and develop coaching, this book is the first introduction to pedagogical theory for coaching. Bringing helpful insights from educational theory to bear on coaching practice, The Sports Coach as Educator expands and enriches the role of the coach and allows professionals to approach their work in new and inventive ways. Exploring the nature of coaching, this text covers: educational concepts in coaching coaching, teaching and leadership athletes¿ learning coaching communities and the social process reflective practice mentoring developing expert coaches.
Sports coaching concepts: a framework for coaches' behaviour. 2nd edn. by 
Coaching for Performance: growing human potential by
Coaching for Performance is the bible of the industry and very much the definitive work that all coaches stand on. This fourth edition explains clearly and in-depth how to unlock people's potential to maximise their performance. It contains the eponymous GROW model (Goals, Reality, Options, Will), now established as the basis for coaching professionals. Clear, concise, hands-on and reader-friendly, this is a coaching guide written in a coaching style. Coaching for Performance digs deep into the roots of coaching, particularly transpersonal psychology, a useful model for personal development and in-depth coaching. There are new coaching questions and fresh chapters on emotional intelligence and high-performance leadership. Whitmore also considers the future of coaching and its role in the transformation of learning and workplace relationships, as well as illustrating how coaching can help in a crisis.
Adapted Physical Education and Sport. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition is updated to keep you current with today’s trends in adapted physical education and sport and new chapters, major chapters, revisions and an increased emphasis on best practise
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Journals
