Essentials of Research Methods in Health, Physical Education, Exercise Science, and Recreation. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This easy-to-read, user-friendly text explores the full range of basic topics typically covered in research courses in exercise science, kinesiology, and physical education. The book provides the information and skills needed to write effective research proposals and theses; read, assess, interpret, and apply published research; and understand how to conduct basic studies in health, physical education, exercise science, athletic training, and recreation.
Research Methods for Sports Studies. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analyzing data to writing the research report, it is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case-studies and examples from around the world. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, the book includes completely new chapters on using social media and conducting on-line research, as well as expanded coverage of key topics such as conducting a literature review, making the most of statistics, research ethics and presenting research. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, revision questions and practical research exercises. An expanded companion website offers additional material for students and instructors, including web links, multiple choice revision questions, an interactive glossary, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields.
Research Methods for Sports Studies, 3rd end. (E-book) by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analyzing data to writing the research report, it is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case-studies and examples from around the world. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, the book includes completely new chapters on using social media and conducting on-line research, as well as expanded coverage of key topics such as conducting a literature review, making the most of statistics, research ethics and presenting research. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, revision questions and practical research exercises. An expanded companion website offers additional material for students and instructors, including web links, multiple choice revision questions, an interactive glossary, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields.
Qualitative Research in Sport and Physical Activity. by
Designed especially for students in sport and physical activity, this book provides a detailed guide to planning, undertaking, and writing up qualitative research. Opening with a discussion of the main traits of qualitative inquiry and its use in sport and physical activity, the authors provide a coherent and accessible overview of qualitative research using numerous examples to bring the text alive. The book is divided into five parts informed by stages in the research process, with chapters on: * early steps in the research process * ethics * choosing your an approach * methods of data collection * analysing the data * writing up and disseminating your findings. This is essential reading for undergraduate and Masters students carrying out a qualitative research project in sport and physical activity and for PhD students looking to refresh their knowledge.
Qualitative Research in Sport and Physical Activity. (E-book) by
Designed especially for students in sport and physical activity, this book provides a detailed guide to planning, undertaking, and writing up qualitative research. Opening with a discussion of the main traits of qualitative inquiry and its use in sport and physical activity, the authors provide a coherent and accessible overview of qualitative research using numerous examples to bring the text alive. The book is divided into five parts informed by stages in the research process, with chapters on: * early steps in the research process * ethics * choosing your an approach * methods of data collection * analysing the data * writing up and disseminating your findings. This is essential reading for undergraduate and Masters students carrying out a qualitative research project in sport and physical activity and for PhD students looking to refresh their knowledge.
Doing Your Research Project in Sport. (Print copy) by
The research project is a major component of most higher education sport courses. While undertaking a research project can be an exciting and rewarding experience, it can all too easily lead to stress and disappointment. Mistakes made early in the process - in the design of experiments, for example - can lead to frustration later on. This accessible book guides students through the process, from the initial stages of research (identifying problems and designing questions) right through to the presentation of their findings.
Research Methods in Sport. (Print copy) by
This book is a comprehensive resource for all those studying sport at college or university. It covers qualitative and quantitative methods, and explains what research is, how to conduct a systematic review, and how to select, apply and combine research methods.The reader is supported throughout by learning activities, real-life examples and advice on further study.
Research Methods in Physical Activity. 6th edn. (print copy) by
This key text offers an engaging overview of the research process and methods for students within all subdisciplines of sport and exercise sciences. New chapters have been specifically created to future models of research that employ both quantitative and qualitative methods .
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Introduction to Quantitative Research Methods. (E-book) by
Introduction to Quantitative Research Methods is a student-friendly introduction to quantitative research methods and basic statistics. It uses a detective theme throughout the text and in multimedia courseware to show how quantitative methods have been used to solve real-life problems. The book focuses on principles and techniques that are appropriate to introductory level courses in media, psychology and sociology. Examples and illustrations are drawn from historical and contemporary research in the social sciences. The multimedia courseware provides tutorial work on sampling, basic statistics, and techniques for seeking information from databases and other sources. The statistics modules can be used as either part of a detective games or directly in teaching and learning. Brief video lessons in SPSS, using real datasets, are also a feature of the CD-ROM. Why would you choose Introduction to Quantitative Research Methods - It is theoretical, providing a concise overview of issues of quantitative research. - It is practical, providing case studies that exemplify the different ways of research is conducted in the social sciences (ranging from psychology to sociology, politics and media). - It is educational, providing practical vignettes, and chapter highlights for revision. - It is integrative, producing a typology of different ways of conducting quantitative research methods. - It is international, providing case studies from a range of countries. - It is innovative, providing multimedia tutorials on generic research and statistical skills. - It is clear, concise and accessible.
How to Manage Your Arts, Humanities and Social Science Degree. (Print copy) by
This innovative book takes a practical, no-nonsense approach to all areas of undergraduate life, from getting started and maximizing learning opportunities to making choices, mastering time management and succeeding in exams. It also covers the wider aspects of the university experience including peer pressure, finances and grasping the opportunities available to undergraduates throughout their degree course. The book concludes with guidance on how to break into a career as a graduate.
Doing your research project. 6th edn. (Print copy) by 
The arts good study guide 2nd edn. (Print copy)) by 
Doing a Literature Review: releasing the social science research imagination (Print copy) by
'This book can provide an excellent framework for bolstering what is often an experiential process - doing a literature review. It is best seen alongside the supervisor, as a guide, through the multidimensional sea of academic literature' - British Educational Research Journal Reviewing the literature for a research project can seem a daunting, even overwhelming task. New researchers, in particular, wonder: Where do I start? What do I do? How do I do it? This text offers students across the social sciences and humanities a practical and comprehensive guide to writing a literature review. Chris Hart offers invaluable advice on how to: search out existing knowledge on a topic; analyse arguments and ideas; map ideas, arguments and perspectives; produce a literature review; and construct a case for investigating a topic. Doing a Literature Review contains examples of how to cite references, structure a research proposal and present a Master's thesis. It is published as a Set Book for The Open University Postgraduate Foundation Module (D820) The Challenge of the Social Sciences. `I have been waiting for this book for five years. It sets out a number of important dimensions involved in the process of literature review and by clear signposting, diagrams, and examples will help the student to carry out her or his review more systematically. Learning how to carry out a literature review has always entailed the experiential. While this is a the best way of learning, it is only so providing that learning actually takes place during the experience (or by reflection afterwards). This book makes explicit those dimensions which could remain implicit or even missed by the student as they wade through all those books, papers, articles, and print-outs' - Kevin Maguire, Nottingham Trent University SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Sports coaching concepts: a framework for coaches' behaviour. 2nd edn. by 
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
Data Analysis and Research for Sport and Exercise Science: a student guide. (Print copy) by
This is a handbook written for undergraduate sports and exercise science students and should be of particular use to students undertaking research projects and a research-based dissertation. The text is divided into three main areas of Research and Design, Data Analysis and the Interpretation of Findings.
