Understanding Sports Coaching. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Every successful sports coach knows that good teaching and social practices are just as important as expertise in sport skills and tactics. Now in a fully revised and updated third edition, Understanding Sports Coaching is still the only introduction to theory and practice in sports coaching to fully explore the social, cultural and pedagogical concepts underpinning good coaching practice. The book examines the complex interplay between coach, athlete, coaching programme and social context, and encourages coaches to develop an open and reflective approach to their own coaching practice. It covers every key aspect of coaching theory and practice, including important and emerging topics, such as: athletes' identities athlete learning emotion in coaching coaching ethics professionalization talent identification and development coaching as a (micro)political activity Understanding Sports Coaching also includes a full range of practical exercises and extended case studies designed to encourage coaches to reflect critically upon their own coaching strategies, their interpersonal skills and upon important issues in contemporary sports coaching. This is an essential textbook for any degree-level course in sports coaching, and for any professional coach looking to develop their coaching expertise.
Understanding Sports Coaching. (E-book) by
Successful sports coaching is as dependent on utilising good teaching and social practices as it is about expertise in sport skills and tactics. Understanding Sports Coachingoffers an innovative introduction to the theory and practice of sports coaching, highlighting the social, cultural and pedagogical concepts underpinning good coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, the book explores the complex interplay between coach, athlete, coaching programme and social context, and encourages coaches to develop an open and reflective approach to their own coaching practice. It addresses key issues such as: power and the coach-athlete relationship viewing the athlete as a learner instructional methods and reflection how our view of ability informs assessment coaching philosophy and ethics. Understanding Sports Coachingalso includes a full range of practical exercises and case studies designed to encourage coaches to reflect critically upon their own coaching strategies, their interpersonal skills and upon important issues in contemporary sports coaching. This book is essential reading for all students of sports coaching and for any professional coach looking to develop their coaching expertise.
Improving Workplace Learning by
Across the western world, there is a growing awareness of the importance of workplace learning, seen at the level of national and international policy, as well as in the developing practices of employers, training providers and Trades Unions. Authoritative, accessible, and appealing, it presents key findings on work-based learning, bringing together conclusions and investigating a variety of workplace contexts to show how such learning can be improved. An extensive practical treatment, brought to life with illustrations from both the public and private sectors, this book has a unique combination of breadth of coverage and depth of understanding. Grounded in rich and detailed empirical studies, this volume challenges conventional thinking. An important new addition to the Improving Learningseries, it focuses on guidelines for improving learning by marrying the very best theory and practice to provide an accessible and authoritative guide to workplace learning. Practitioners, policy makers, students and academics with an interest in learning at work will find this an invaluable addition to their bookshelves.
Learning Through the Workplace by
Offers an approach to providing information on learning theories and application, and how we measure learning and skills. This text considers how people learn, processes of learning, and learning resources. It is meant as a reference for those involved in the development, training, and assessing of people learning in a work-based environment.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching by
An Introduction to Sports Coachingprovides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of 'knowledges' which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching. (E-book) by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of 'knowledges' which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
Sport Coaching Concepts. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Coaching is a vital factor for success in sport at all levels. Sport Coaching Concepts offers a comprehensive introduction to the theoretical issues that underpin sport coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, it explains why a conceptual approach to sport coaching is more important than ever before, using practice-orientated analysis to help students develop a full understanding of coaching theory and technique. Drawing on more than a decade's worth of research, the book reflects upon the profound changes that have transformed coach education and development. It covers all the key topics of the sport coaching curriculum and includes six new chapters on the evolution of coaching theory, coaching expertise, decision making, social perspectives on the coach-athlete relationship, social inclusion and principles of coach development. Each chapter contains a full range of pedagogical features to aid learning, including discussion questions, practical projects, guides to further reading, case studies and insights from practising coaches. Sport Coaching Concepts is essential reading for all students of sport coaching and any serious coaches looking to develop their own coaching practice.
Workplace Learning in Context by
As policy makers increasingly focus on workplace learning as a way of improving organizational performance, the debate about the learning organization has grown. Counterbalancing the often over-optimistic assumptions made about the future of work and learning, this book argues that without a contextualized analysis of the field, our understanding of the learning environment is limited. It reconsiders the true role and nature of workplace learning in context. Grounded in original research, the book features case studies which illuminate how the workplace environment can provide both barriers to and opportunities for learning. It explores learning in different organizational contexts and different countries, sectors, types of public and private sector organization, and by different occupational groups. This multi-disciplinary approach provides a coherent perspective of the institutional, organizational and pedagogical contexts of workplace learning, and as a result, policy-makers, trainers, trade unionists and educators alike will welcome this groundbreaking text, as it gives the intellectual tools required to understand how learning in the workplace can be improved.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Work-Based Learning by
Work-based learning is a radical approach to the notion of higher education. Students undertake study for a degree or diploma primarily in their workplace and their learning opportunities are not contrived for study purposes but arise from normal work. The role of the university is to equip and qualify people already in employment to develop lifelong learning skills, not through engagement with existing disciplines, bodies of knowledge or courses defined by the university, but through a curriculum unique for each person. The organizations in which students work benefit directly through projects that advance the enterprise as well as contributing to student learning. The arrangement is a three-way partnership - involving organization, learner and university. In this arrangement, individuals' learning is linked to the strategic goals of the organization, together with the knowledge and experience they bring to the learning. The key responsibility at the university is the recognition, assessment and accreditation of the learning. Work-based Learning is the first comprehensive book on this major innovation and: *locates work-based learning as part of major changes influencing universities *includes contributions from many of the pioneers of work-based learning *provides accessible accounts of the teaching, learning and assessment practices involved *examines the impact of this innovation on the institutions in which it is introduced *explores the changes in academic work practices associated with work-based learning and the challenges these present to academics
Facilitating Reflective Learning. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
Facilitating Reflective Learning: Coaching, Mentoring and Supervision is written by two leading experts in the field. The text explains how coaching and mentoring works in different situations. The authors guide the reader through key learning theories; describe the different models available for coaching and mentoring; and demonstrate how they can be applied in practice. In this completely revised new edition, robust theory is backed up by practical advice and numerous case studies. The coaching and mentoring skills used in different situations are clearly described. Ready to use resources include templates for contracting, reviewing and evaluating, as well as guidance on group dynamics for team coaching and group supervision. Advice is also included on sensitive areas such as the boundary between mentoring or coaching and therapy, and the desirability of supervision.
Reflective Learning in Practice (E-book) by
This book gathers together details of seventeen case studies of learning in practice, after having set the issue of reflective learning in a theoretical context. The cases are drawn from a wide range of situations and discuss both apparent successes and failures. The cases are used as a basis to develop general findings. These general findings are expressed as themes and questions so that, as readers come across new circumstances, they are not limited by prescriptive recipes. Instead they are empowered by having both an open and focused approach: open because the starting point is questions rather than answers, and focused because the questions direct attention to factors that have been found to be influential for effective, reflective learning. The crucial factor is the ability of managers and others to extract quality learning from experience. Reflective Learning in Practice develops an approach that will help this to happen.
The Coaching Process by
The coaching process in sport - what is it? Who is involved? How does it work in practice? The 'coaching process' is both eclectic and multi-disciplinary. It is the coach's role to manage the various parts of the process to form an effective strategy for improving sports performance in the athlete or team. For this unique book, the editors have brought together a team of expert contributors to answer these questions and to share their experiences in coaching, some at Olympic level.
Skill Acquisition in Sport by
Success in sport depends upon the athlete's ability to develop and perfect a specific set of perceptual, cognitive and motor skills. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, Skill Acquisition in Sportexamines how we learn such skills and, in particular, considers the crucial role of practice and instruction in the skill acquisition process. Containing thirteen completely new chapters, and engaging with the significant advances in neurophysiological techniques that have profoundly shaped our understanding of motor control and development, the book provides a comprehensive review of current research and theory on skill acquisition. Leading international experts explore key topics such as: attentional focus augmented Feedback observational practice and learning implicit motor learning mental imagery training physical guidance motivation and motor learning neurophysiology development of skill joint action. Throughout, the book addresses the implications of current research for instruction and practice in sport, making explicit connections between core science and sporting performance. No other book covers this fundamental topic in such breadth or depth, making this book important reading for any student, scholar or practitioner working in sport science, cognitive science, kinesiology, clinical and rehabilitation sciences, neurophysiology, psychology, ergonomics or robotics.
Expert Performance in Sports by
Expert Performance in Sports: Advances in Research on Sport Expertisepresents an overview of the critical issues facing researchers who study how athletes reach--and stay at--the pinnacle of their sports. The text will allow you to update your knowledge of sport expertise with the most current research and practical applications for the development of sport expertise in athletes, referees, and judges. This comprehensive reference reflects both theoretical underpinnings and future directions in the understanding of sport expertise research and is the first book to look specifically at how elite athletes are developed. Editors Janet L. Starkes and K. Anders Ericsson identify the questions typically asked in the study of sport expertise; they provide a stimulating, scientific debate that addresses the question of whether a general theory of expert performance is achievable; and they conclude with a glimpse of future directions for research on sport expertise. This new reference answers controversial questions that arise with regard to the training of high-level performers: -How can you potentially speed up the acquisition process? -How easy or difficult is it for experts to retain high performance levels as they age? -How can coaches structure practices to maximize active time and preparation for the next competition? -What is the role of coaches and mentors who work with elite performers? -What aspects of performance best reflect expert behaviors in a particular sport--anticipation, perceptual accuracy, decision speed, attention focus, response selection, response consistency, strategy, or others? With Expert Performance in Sports,you not only can read about sport expertise research but also find out how athletes and coaches benefit the most. "Experts' Comments" at the end of each chapter present the opinions of two world-class experts, Therese Brisson and Nick Cipriano. These experts' opinions bridge the gap between the research presented and its practical applications. Dr. Therese Brisson's academic training is in motor behavior; she also is an Olympic gold medalist, silver medalist, and six-time world champion in ice hockey. Professor Nick Cipriano is both an academic and an international-level wrestling coach. He is a former international-level wrestler and world-renowned coach in freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling, and he has coached both male and female athletes from the high school level to the Olympic team. This is a must-have reference that will challenge researchers to identify both their theoretical underpinnings and future directions in their study of how the best excel at sports.
Learning at Work by
Coaching, training, mentoring and development are all about helping staff to learn, whether it is new knowledge, skills or adapting to the cultural attitudes of the organization. This book critically analyzes the methods and instruments available for those who want to learn and those who want to encourage their employees to learn. It avoids jargon and aims to make the theory and practice of learning more easily understood and therefore accomplished.
Coaching for Performance 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Coaching delivers high performance in you, your team, and your organization. "Coaching for Performance is the proven resource for all coaches and pioneers of the future of coaching." - Magdalena N. Mook, CEO, International Coach Federation (ICF) "Shines a light on what it takes to create high performance." - John McFarlane, Chairman, Barclays, Chairman, TheCityUK Coaching for Performance is the definitive book for coaches, leaders, talent managers and professionals around the world. An international bestseller, featuring the influential GROW model, this book is the founding text of the coaching profession. It explains why enabling people to bring the best out of themselves is the key to driving productivity, growth, and engagement. A meaningful coaching culture has the potential to transform the relationship between organizations and employees and to put both on the path to long-term success. Written by Sir John Whitmore, the pioneer of coaching, and Performance Consultants, the global market leaders in performance coaching, this extensively revised and extended edition will revolutionize the traditional approach to organizational culture. Brand-new practical exercises, corporate examples, coaching dialogues, and a glossary strengthen the learning process, whilst a critical new chapter demonstrates how to measure the benefits of coaching as a return on investment, ensuring this landmark new edition will remain at the forefront of professional coaching and leadership development.
