Getting started with university level work based learning. . (Print copy) by 
The Reflective Practice Guide: an interdisciiplinary approach to critical reflection. by
The Reflective Practice Guide supports all students for whom the process of reflecting on developing knowledge and skills is crucial to successful professional practice.¿It offers an accessible introduction to a wide range of theories and models that can help you engage more effectively in critical reflection.¿Illustrated throughout with examples and case studies drawn from a range of interdisciplinary professional contexts, The Reflective Practice Guide offers models of practice that can be applied in a variety of settings. Reflective questions in each chapter help you apply ideas to your own professional context. Drawing on literature from a range of disciplines, key aspects of reflection explored include: Becoming more self-aware The role of writing in reflection Learning from experience Learning from positives and negatives Emotions and processing feelings Bringing assumptions to the surface Learning from feedback Reflecting in groups Managing change. The Reflective Practice Guide is an essential source of support, guidance and inspiration for all students on education, nursing, social work and counselling courses, who want to think about practice at a deeper level, question approaches, challenge assumptions and gain greater self-awareness.
The Work-Based Learning Student Handbook. 2nd edn. (E-book) by
This is the original full-length handbook which caters to the specific needs of work-based learners. Compiled by work-based learning experts from institutions across the world, this hands-on guide helps new learners to successfully navigate academia and get the most out of their university experience. It provides clear guidance on the processes involved in getting recognition for prior learning, setting up learning contracts and completing work-based projects. Real-life case studies, useful tips and reflective activities are embedded throughout to enrich students' learning experience. This is the essential companion for all undergraduates on work-based learning degrees across a range of disciplines, including Business and Management, Health and Social Care, Law, Sport and Exercise Science and Tourism. It will also be an invaluable resource for work-based learning tutors, workplace supervisors and organisations with an interest in work-based learning.
Work-Based Learning: briding knowledge and action in the workplace. (E-book) by
Work-based learning is Joe Raelin?s unique way of incorporating a number of action strategies?such as action learning, action science, and communities of practice?into a comprehensive framework to help people learn collectively with others. In this thoroughly updated and revised edition, he demonstrates how to engage our reflective powers to challenge those taken-for-granted assumptions that unwittingly hold us back from questioning standard ways of operating. A well-known popular author, Joe is an avid student of the many traditions that support work-based learning, so he presents an inclusive model that has wide appeal across disciplines and occupations. He provides readers with the most recent updates in the field, such as his coverage of virtual team learning, portfolios, multisource feedback, critical and global action learning, and changes in educational policy. Whether you're an organizational or college educator, this book will help you make learning accessible to everyone?and even contagious within your organization!
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Concise Time Management and Personal Development (Print copy) by
There are many books on time management and personal development. However, John Adair's wide experience of management development in the business, military and academic spheres adds a rare degree of insight, depth and context to practical advice. John Adair's books have sold hundreds of thousands of copies. This book encapsulates his writing on how to establish clear long-term goals and link your daily action planning to their achievement. It provides you with the tools, techniques and framework for continuing personal development.
Reflective Practice: writing and professional development. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Teaching and Learning Through Reflective Practice (Print copy) by
Now in its second edition, Teaching and Learning through Reflective Practiceis a practical guide to enable all those involved in educational activities to learn through the practices of reflection. The book highlights the power that those responsible for teaching and learning have to appraise, understand and positively transform their teaching. Seeing the teacher as a reflective learner, the book emphasises a strengths-based approach in which positivity, resilience, optimism and high performance can help invigorate teaching, enhance learning and allow the teacher to reach their full potential. This approach busts the myth that reflection on problems and deficits is the only way to better performance. The approach of this new edition is an 'appreciative' one. At its heart is the exploration and illustration of four reflective questions: What's working well? What needs changing? What are we learning? Where do we go from here? With examples drawn from UK primary teacher education, the book reveals how appreciative reflective conversations can be initiated and sustained. It also sets out a range of practical processes for amplifying success. This book will be a must have for undergraduate and PGCE students on initial teacher training programmes. It will also interest practising teachers, teacher educators and those on continuing professional development courses.
A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning ONLINE by
This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using reflective and experiential learning - whether it be for personal or professional development, or as a tool for learning. It takes a fresh look at experiential and reflective learning, locating them within an overall theoretical framework for learning and exploring the relationships between different approaches. As well as the theory, the book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice. This book is essential reading to guide any teacher, lecturer or trainer wanting to improve teaching and learning.
