Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health (E-book) by
The second edition of Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to sport and exercise nutrition, integrating key nutritional facts, concepts and dietary guidelines with a thorough discussion of the fundamental biological science underpinning physiological and metabolic processes. Informed by the latest research in this fast-moving discipline, the book includes brand-new sections on, amongst others: * Cellular structure for metabolism * Alcohol and metabolism * Uncoupling protein and thermogenesis * Dietary guidelines from around the world * Nutrient timing * Protein synthesis and muscle hypertrophy * Protein supplementation * Ergogenic effects of selected stimulants * Nutritional considerations for special populations * Dehydration and exercise performance Each chapter includes updated pedagogical features, including definitions of key terms, chapter summaries, case studies, review questions and suggested readings. A revised and expanded companion website offers additional teaching and learning features, such as PowerPoint slides, multiple-choice question banks and web links. No book goes further in explaining how nutrients function within our biological system, helping students to develop a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms and offering the best grounding in applying knowledge to practice in both improving athletic performance and preventing disease. As such, Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health is essential reading for all students of sport and exercise science, kinesiology, physical therapy, strength and conditioning, nutrition or health sciences.
Sports Nutrition. (E-book) by
It is well understood that proper nutrition has a significant impact on sports performance. All of the essential nutrients must be supplied in the right amounts and at the right times for an athlete to achieve optimal health and performance. In addition, when devising eating strategies that will help athletes meet their goals, sports nutritionists must take account of personal preferences, social and cultural issues, and a whole range of other factors. This latest volume in the Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine series, published by Wiley in partnership with the Medical Commission of the International Olympic Committee, Sports Nutrition covers this dynamic field in unparalleled depth and breadth, from the scientific underpinnings of nutritional science to the development of practical nutritional programs for athletes in a range of sports. Written and edited by the world's leading authorities on nutrition in sports, this timely new reference: Provides comprehensive coverage of nutrition for both individual and team sports Presents current knowledge of macronutrients, micronutrients, and dietary supplements for the athlete, outlining both benefits and risks Offers clear guidance on the unique nutritional needs of special populations of athletes, such as vegetarian athletes, young athletes and aging athletes Includes chapters on the clinical nutritional needs of diabetic athletes and athletes with weight management issues Carries the full endorsement of the IOC Medical Commission
Sports Nutrition Strategies for Success (E-book) by
This text provides science-based nutrition recommendations that support the optimal performance and well being of young athletes. The authors give an overview of sports nutrition fundamentals, including a breakdown of the macronutrient, micronutrient, and hydration recommendations, as well as optimal quantity and timing of nutrient intake. They also discuss weight management and how to support athletes in achieving healthy weight gain or weight loss; disordered eating and eating disorders signs, symptoms, and treatment; and risks and benefits of dietary supplements. This text concludes with delicious and nutritious meal and snack recipes and a list of reputable resources. Ultimately, this text is a practical, meaningful, and applied sport nutrition resource for exercise professionals across a wide range of disciplines.
Sports Nutrition (E-book) by
This book explores the relevance of sports nutrition for athletes and active individuals in a way that allows nutrition professionals to provide appropriate and consequential recommendations to this population. Concepts of energy metabolism and energy balance are addressed and the book offers applicable macronutrient recommendations that incorporate the timing of their intake relative to sport. There is a thorough explanation of the athlete assessment allowing the nutrition professional in gathering all relevant information to support proper meal planning and nutrient recommendations. Given the high usage of dietary supplements, this book identifies dietary supplements most commonly employed by athletes and then breaks down the quality of science behind these supplements. Finally, this book addresses special issues of concerns of athletes, including weight management, potential nutrient deficiencies, and specific dietary approaches. The ultimate aim of this book is that a nutrition professional working with population is armed with the information necessary to provide practical and meaningful recommendations.
Fuel for Sport (e-book) by
Fuel for Sport: The Basics is a nutrition text designed to help readers understand and apply basic sports nutrition information. It emphasizes the unique needs and challenges of meeting those needs in adolescent athletes. Readers can expect to learn and understand theories related to nutrition and human performance, such as energy content of food and how this energy is transferred to the body; how ATP relates to energy and force production; the concepts of energy balance and fuel storage within the body and their effects on power output and endurance; the important roles of each of the macronutrients and micronutrients; and how fluids before, during, and after exercise facilitate thermoregulation, nutrient transport, and maintenance of stroke volume. In addition to important information related to exercise physiology and nutrient metabolism, readers are presented with real-world applications of these principles. The author often relates theories and principles to dietary recommendations and athletic scenarios. Understanding of each topic is also enhanced through liberal use of summaries, lists, and tables. Fuel for Sport presents up-to-date, sport-specific dietary and fluid recommendations and adopts a foods-first approach to meeting macro- and micronutrient needs; included are ample examples of convenient sources of the discussed nutrients as well as dietary strategies and ideas to implement recommendations.
Sport Nutrition by
Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, presents the principles and rationale for current nutrition guidelines for athletes. Using a physiological basis, this text provides an in-depth look at the science behind sport nutrition. Students will come away with an understanding of nutrition as it relates to sport and the influence of nutrition on performance, training, and recovery. This text is organized with the student in mind, with content sequenced in a logical order that puts building blocks in place to facilitate greater comprehension as more advanced topics are introduced. The book moves from general principles of nutrition and nutrient requirements to estimating and fulfilling energy needs with the appropriate combinations of macronutrients and micronutrients. Supplements are addressed from a scientific standpoint, followed by the influence of nutrition on training adaptations, immune function, body composition, weight management, and eating disorders. The new chapter on personalized nutrition covers periodized nutrition, gender differences, and special populations (young athletes, older athletes, and diabetic athletes) and offers practical examples from specific sports. This third edition contains revised and expanded information to keep students current on the latest findings in sport nutrition: * Updated nutrition guidelines * A new chapter on personalized nutrition that helps readers move from theory into practice as they better understand how to customize nutrition based on an individual's unique background and needs * Addition of practical carbohydrate intake guidelines for athletes in a wide variety of sports * Updated information on protein metabolism and recommendations on the type, amount, and timing of protein intake to maximize training adaptation * Developments from the field of molecular biology that explain how adaptations to exercise training are influenced by nutrition * Expanded coverage of the rapidly developing field of immunonutrition Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, includes a number of tools to facilitate student learning. More than 300 figures, tables, and photos offer visual illustration of important concepts, methods, and research findings. Updated and new sidebars provide in-depth coverage of selected topics, making it easier to grasp the scientific concepts presented. Each chapter also includes learning objectives and key points to help students retain the information. In addition to being mindful of students, the authors remained conscious of the needs of instructors. With years of experience in teaching sport nutrition, the authors constructed chapters in a natural progression, making class lectures easier to prepare and deliver. Instructors will also find an ancillary package consisting of an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package plus image bank to further support their efforts. More than a simple prescription of recommendations, Sport Nutrition, Third Edition, offers a systematic presentation of the science supporting nutrition guidelines. It is an ideal book to provide a comprehensive understanding of nutrition as it relates to sport, exercise performance, training, and recovery.
Complete Guide to Sports Nutrition. 7th edn. (E-book) by
Covers maximising endurance, strength and performance; how to calculate your optimal calorie, carbohydrate and protein requirements; advice on improving body composition; specific advice for women, children and vegetarians; eating plans to cut body fat, gain muscle and prepare for competition; and sport-specific nutritional advice.
The complete guide to sports nutrition. 7th edn. (Print copy) by 
Clinical Sports Nutrition. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Clinical Sports Nutrition 5th Edition is a cornerstone of the Sports Medicine series offered by McGraw-Hill. This complete practical and clinical reference provides the latest sports nutrition information, drawing on scientific research from around the globe. All chapters have been substantially revised and updated with contributions from leading academics, physicians and sports dietitians in Australia, Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. In addition there are seven new commentaries: · A molecular view of exercise · Female athlete triad and energy availability · Measuring energy availability · Treating low energy availability · Vegetarian eating · Antioxidant supplementation and exercise · Fluid guidelines This respected reference work is an invaluable asset for students and instructors in the discipline of sports nutrition, and is also essential reading for elite athletes, sports professionals and trainers who need to keep their knowledge current.
Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, will help students and practitioners understand the function of the nutrients in the body and how these nutrients affect health and athletic performance. The authors present clear, comprehensive, and accurate nutrition information that may be applied to a variety of careers. The text provides students with practical knowledge in exercise and nutrition science, and it keeps practitioners on the cutting edge of current research and practices in the field. Using the authors' extensive backgrounds in nutrition, exercise physiology, and fitness, the text combines micronutrients into functional groupings to provide an easy framework for understanding how these nutrients can influence exercise performance and good health for both athletes and active individuals. This unique presentation allows readers to fully understand why proper nutrition helps athletes prevent injury, enhance recovery, improve daily workouts, and maintain optimal health and body weight. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the latest issues, guidelines, and recommendations for active individuals. Chapters dealing with macronutrients and micronutrients have been entirely rewritten, and all chapters have been revised to reflect the latest Dietary Reference Intakes, USDA Food Guide Pyramid, Food Pyramid for Athletes, Dietary Guidelines for Americans, and physical activity recommendations from various organizations, including the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines by DHHS. Following are some of the current topics discussed in the text: -Carbohydrate recommendations for athletes before, during, and after exercise -Protein requirements of athletes based on the latest research -Updated evaluation of the fat needs of athletes and the role of fat loading -An evidence-based reexamination of various diets and techniques used for weight loss -New research on body composition assessments and standards -The latest on controversial nutrition issues such as the role of protein, vitamin D, and energy in bone health and new criteria for assessing bone health in young adults -New nutrition and fitness assessments, questionnaires, and methods for measuring energy expenditure -Updated information on various topics such as the issues of the active female, ergogenic aids, energy balance, and fluid balance Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, has also been improved with an attractive two-color format, new artwork, and a slimmer design that allows the text to maintain the content while reducing "backpack bulge." The text also includes an online image bank that instructors may use to create customized PowerPoint presentations using artwork, tables, and figures from each chapter. In addition, a variety of features help readers comprehend the material presented, including chapter objectives, key concepts and key terms, additional information to learn more about a topic, and references. Chapter highlights provide in-depth information on topics and critically evaluate issues regarding myths and controversies in sport nutrition. This book provides readers with clear, authoritative content that will help them understand the scientific basis of nutrition and make sound recommendations in their careers. With up-to-date content based on current guidelines, Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, is an outstanding text for both students and practitioners concerned with achieving good health and maximizing performance.
Nutrition for health, fitness and sport, 12th edn. (Print copy) by 