Inclusive Physical Activity-2nd edn by
The second edition of Inclusive Physical Activity is an excellent resource for physical activity practitioners or students preparing to work with diverse populations in schools, fitness facilities, community recreation sites, and sport programs. This text shows how to provide optimal programming for all individuals--regardless of capability--so they can be healthy and active throughout the life span. Inclusive Physical Activity, Second Edition, can help you * provide well-designed and appropriate physical activity for individuals of all abilities, * increase opportunities for meaningful participation in lifelong physical activity, and * facilitate physical activity to increase health and and wellness for individuals with disabilities. The book covers programming considerations and strategies for infants and toddlers, school-age children, and adults; examples of inclusive practices for commonly offered physical activities; and suggestions for more effectively individualizing programming. Inclusive Physical Activity also provides information on adapting instruction and providing activity alternatives across the life span in five content areas: 1. Movement skills 2. Games and sports 3. Health-related fitness 4. Outdoor recreation and adventure 5. Aquatics Inclusive Physical Activity outlines a systematic approach to planning and implementing appropriate programs for individuals of varying abilities. Using the unique Functional Approach to Modifying Movement Experiences (FAMME) model, practitioners can learn--step by step--how to connect modifications directly to participants' capability differences to provide optimal challenge and success. Updated and expanded, the second edition offers three new chapters plus special learning features: * Including All Individuals chapter-opening scenarios * Think Back questions that encourage readers to apply chapter content to each scenario * What Do You Think? questions and What Would You Do? case examples that promote reflective thinking and problem solving Instructors who adopt the text get online access to an instructor guide, test package, and presentation package. New to the second edition, the presentation package offers approximately 200 slides highlighting the most important concepts from the book plus essential figures, tables, and photos. With Inclusive Physical Activity, both students and professionals will find the knowledge and support to make meaningful and inclusive physical activity a reality and promote better health for everyone.
Disability, Sport and Society. (Print copy) by
Disability sport is a relatively recent phenomenon, yet it is also one that, particularly in the context of social inclusion, is attracting increasing political and academic interest. The purpose of this important new text ¿ the first of its kind ¿ is to introduce the reader to key concepts in disability and disability sport and to examine the complex relationships between modern sport, disability and other aspects of wider society. Drawing upon original data from interviews, surveys and policy documents, the book examines how disability sport has developed and is currently organised, and explores key themes, issues and concepts including: disability theory and policy the emergence and development of disability sport disability sport development in local authorities mainstreaming disability sport disability, physical education and school sport elite disability sport and the Paralympic Games disability sport and the media. Including chapter summaries, seminar questions and lists of key websites and further reading throughout, Sport, Disability and Society provides both an easy to follow introduction and a critical exploration of the key issues surrounding disability sport in the twenty-first century. This book is an invaluable resource for all students, researchers and professionals working in sport studies, disability studies, physical education, sociology and social policy. Nigel Thomas is Head of Sport and Exercise at Staffordshire University, UK, where his research focuses on the history, mainstreaming, and media coverage of disability sport. He previously worked for ten years with young disabled people as a sports development officer in local authorities and national governing bodies. Andy Smith is Lecturer in the Sociology of Sport and Exercise at the University of Chester, UK. He is a co-editor of the International Journal of Sport Policy, and a co-author of Sport Policy and Development: A Sociological Introduction, and An Introduction to Drugs in Sport: Addicted to Winning? Both books are published by Routledge (2009).
Adapted Physical Education and Sport. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition is updated to keep you current with today’s trends in adapted physical education and sport and new chapters, major chapters, revisions and an increased emphasis on best practise
Equity and Inclusion in Physical Education and Sport (Print copy) by
An essential component of good practice in physical education is ensuring inclusivity for all pupils, regardless of need, ability or background. Now in a fully revised and updated new edition, Equity and Inclusion in Physical Education fully explores the theoretical and practical issues faced by physical education teachers today. The book amalgamates areas of critical debate within the world of physical education and is structured around the key topics of ability, special educational needs, gender, sexuality, social class, race and ethnicity. These issues are discussed in relation to principles of equity, equality of opportunity, pedagogy, differentiation, curriculum planning and cultural awareness. Other chapters explore contemporary themes such as healthism and obesity and values in physical education and policy, whilst a chapter new to this edition demonstrates the importance of reflexivity and critical self-reflection in good inclusive practice. As well as being a perfect introductory text for any course on inclusion or inclusive practice in physical education, the book offers invaluable, practical advice for established professionals, newly qualified teachers and trainees about how to meet equity and inclusion requirements. Examples of good practice are included throughout, as well as guidance on how to implement an inclusive PE curriculum within the school.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Paralympic Games Explained by
The Paralympic Games is the second largest multi-sport festival on earth and an event which poses profound and challenging questions about the nature of sport, disability and society. The Paralympic Games Explained is the first complete introduction to the Paralympic phenomenon, exploring every key aspect and issue, from the history and development of the Paralympic movement to the economic and social impact of the contemporary Games. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, it includes new material on hosting and legacy, Vancouver 2010 to Rio 2016, sport for development, and case studies of an additional ten Paralympic nations. Drawing on a range of international examples, it discusses key issues such as: ¿ how societal attitudes influence disability sport ¿ the governance of Paralympic and elite disability sport ¿ the relationship between the Paralympics and the Olympics ¿ drugs and technology in disability sport ¿ classification in disability sport. Containing useful features including review questions, study activities, web links and guides to further reading throughout, The Paralympic Games Explained is the most accessible and comprehensive guide to the Paralympics currently available. It is essential reading for all students with an interest in disability sport, sporting mega-events, the politics of sport, or disability in society.
Understanding Sports Coaching. (Print copy) by
Successful sports coaching is as dependent on utilising good teaching and social practices as it is about expertise in sport skills and tactics. Understanding Sports Coachingoffers an innovative introduction to the theory and practice of sports coaching, highlighting the social, cultural and pedagogical concepts underpinning good coaching practice. Now in a fully revised and updated second edition, the book explores the complex interplay between coach, athlete, coaching programme and social context, and encourages coaches to develop an open and reflective approach to their own coaching practice. It addresses key issues such as: power and the coach-athlete relationship viewing the athlete as a learner instructional methods and reflection how our view of ability informs assessment coaching philosophy and ethics. Understanding Sports Coachingalso includes a full range of practical exercises and case studies designed to encourage coaches to reflect critically upon their own coaching strategies, their interpersonal skills and upon important issues in contemporary sports coaching. This book is essential reading for all students of sports coaching and for any professional coach looking to develop their coaching expertise.
Teaching Disability Sport. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of Teaching Disability Sport: A Guide for Physical Educators is loaded with five new chapters, more than 200 games and skills, and everything that future and current teachers need to plan and implement sport skill-related lessons in an inclusive physical education program. Published in its first edition as Inclusion Through Sports, this rendition places greater emphasis on preparing future physical education teachers to use disability sport in their programs. It offers instruction on the various aspects of disability sport, how to teach it, and how to improve programming for students, regardless of ability or disability. This new edition includes the following features: * A DVD that contains video clips of activities as well as assessment forms and other reproducible forms * Templates for and guidance in creating individualized education programs (IEPs), lesson plans, assessments, and unit plans * One new sport chapter (on boccia) * Four new chapters discussing how to use the achievement-based curriculum (ABC) model to integrate disability sport into physical education classes This book and DVD package is the ideal resource for physical education teachers who want to incorporate inclusive sport skill instruction through sports traditionally identified with disability sport programs. The sports featured in this book are wheelchair basketball, wheelchair indoor soccer, sitting volleyball, wheelchair tennis, goalball, slalom, and boccia. The games are organized by skill, so teachers can select games based on the skills they want to teach. The skills for each sport are task analyzed to help teachers address the needs of students with disabilities. Teachers will learn how to make psychomotor modifications to games to include students with and without disabilities; teachers will also learn how to involve all students in making decisions about the modifications. The book's ABC model guides readers through the stages of program planning, implementation planning, teaching, assessment, and evaluating. Readers are also shown how to use IEPs and develop goals and objectives for lesson plans. In addition, Teaching Disability Sport provides instruction on wheelchair selection and fitting, equipment concerns, and Web addresses for adapted sports and activities. And an inclusion index makes selecting the right sports and games easy. The 200+ games and activities are cross-referenced to functional profiles (low, medium, high) of students with disabilities. Teachers have the choice of which disability sports to implement and to what level. With Teaching DisabilitySport, kids both with and without disabilities win!
Inclusion, Disability and Culture. (E-book) by
This book examines some theoretical and empirical aspects about complexities of inclusion, disability and culture. It challenges the globalized technical and reductionist approach of inclusion and argues that concepts of disability and inclusion are culturally constructed. Disability and inclusion are concepts which do not define a global agenda, in the sense that one size fits all. Rather they should be seen as being completely context dependent and that they should be deconstructed with respect to specific cultural contexts, with respects to society, ethics, religion and history. The main argument of the book is that many cultural backgrounds, including Egyptians, have their own long-standing beliefs and practices which do not define or address disability in the same way as western culture. Such cultural differences in understanding disability may lead to different understandings, conceptualizations and practices of inclusion. The book articulates disability and inclusion within a socio-ethical-religious discourse based on the Islamic underpinnings of equality and differences. This discourse enhances and supports the calls for considering inclusion and disability within a cultural model that takes into account the common values about disability in any given context which consequently will affect the way educational provision is provided in that context. Finally, the book challenges the "psychological" concept of "attitude" that has been represented in the literature simply as a matter of acceptance or rejection. Inclusion, Disability and Culture shows that "attitude" is a complex and context-dependent issue that can't be understood in isolation from the wider context within which such responses were created. Specifically, the role of the social views about disability, religious values, school cultures, educational system and structural and organizational constraints can't be underestimated in understanding teachers' attitudes towards a complex issue like inclusion.
The Cultural Politics of the Paralympic Movement. (Print copy) by
Do the Paralympic Games empower the disability sport community? Like many other contemporary sporting institutions, the Paralympic Games have made the transition from pastime to spectacle, and the profile of athletes with disabilities has been increased as a result. This book reviews the current status of the Paralympics and challenges the mainstream assumption that the Games are a vehicle for empowerment of the disabled community. Using ethnographic methods unique in this area of study, P. David Howe has undertaken an innovative and critical examination of the social, political and economic processes shaping the Paralympic Movement. In The Cultural Politics of the Paralympic Movement he presents his findings and offers a new insight into the relationship between sport, the body and the culture of disability. In doing so he has produced the most comprehensive and radical text about high performance sport for the disabled yet published. P. David Howe is Lecturer in the Sociology of Sport at Loughborough University. He is also a four-time Paralympian and former Athlete¿s Representative to the International Paralympic Committee.
Disability, Culture and Identity. (E-book) by
First published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
High Performance Disability Sport Coaching (Print copy) by
As the profile of disability sport has risen, so has the emphasis grown beyond participation to include the development of a high performance environment. This book is the first to take an in-depth look at the role of coaches and coaching in facilitating the professionalisation of disability sport, in raising performance standards, and as an important vector for the implementation of significant political, socio-cultural and technological change. Using in-depth case studies of elite disability sport coaches from around the world, the book offers a framework for critical reflection on coaching practice as well as the reader¿s own experiences of disability sport. The book also evaluates the vital role of the coach in raising the bar of performance in a variety of elite level disability sports, including athletics, basketball, boccia, equestrian sport, rowing, soccer, skiing, swimming and volleyball. Providing a valuable evidence-based learning resource to support coaches and students in developing their own practice, High Performance Disability Sport Coaching is essential reading for all those interested in disability sport, coaching practice, elite sport development and the Paralympic Games.
ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons with Chronic Diseases and Disabilities. 4th edn.. (Print copy) by
The fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities reveals common ground between medical and exercise professionals, creating a more collaborative approach to patient care. Developed by the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) with contributions from a specialized team of experts, this text presents a framework for optimizing patients' and clients' functionality by keeping them physically active. Featuring new content on common comorbid conditions, this edition is streamlined and updated to better suit chronic populations. This fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities outlines why exercise is significant in the treatment and prevention of disease, advises medical and exercise professionals in considering proper exercise prescription protocols, and provides evidence-informed guidance on devising individualized exercise programs. Major advancements and features of the fourth edition include the following: * Current evidence on exercise management for persons with multiple conditions, providing guidance on working with these common yet complex populations * A refocused goal of using physical activity to optimize patients' and clients' functionality and participation in life activities rather than only to treat and prevent disease * Specific content to help physicians prescribe physical activity and exercise to patients for promotion of health, well-being, and longevity * Reorganization of case studies into one streamlined chapter along with commentary from the senior editor to encourage critical thinking and recognize the unique needs of each patient The case studies in the text are real-life scenarios that help professionals and clinicians combine scientific knowledge with experience to find appropriate solutions for each individual. Commentary on the case studies from the senior editor illustrates when improvisation may be appropriate and where further research is needed. Tables are highlighted throughout the text to help readers quickly reference important clinical information. Evidence-informed guidelines, suggested websites, and additional readings further encourage practical use of information and identify further learning opportunities. For instructors, an ancillary PowerPoint presentation package aids in classroom discussion. The critical element that distinguishes the fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities is its unifying mission to incorporate physical activity and exercise in both disease treatment and prevention. Its emphasis on assisting people with multiple conditions, which is ever present in health care today, moves beyond primary and secondary prevention to focus on how patients and clients can be kept physically active and functionally fit.
