Doing your research project. 7th. edn. (Print copy) by 
Research Methods for Sports Studies, 3rd end. (E-book) by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analyzing data to writing the research report, it is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case-studies and examples from around the world. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, the book includes completely new chapters on using social media and conducting on-line research, as well as expanded coverage of key topics such as conducting a literature review, making the most of statistics, research ethics and presenting research. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, revision questions and practical research exercises. An expanded companion website offers additional material for students and instructors, including web links, multiple choice revision questions, an interactive glossary, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields.
Successful Scientific Writing: a step by step guide for the biological and medica sciences. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
The detailed, practical, step-by-step advice in this user-friendly guide will help students and researchers to communicate their work more effectively through the written word. Covering all aspects of the writing process, this concise, accessible resource is critically acclaimed, well-structured, comprehensive, and entertaining. Self-help exercises and abundant examples from actual typescripts draw on the authors' extensive experience working both as researchers and with them. Whilst retaining the user-friendly and pragmatic style of earlier editions, this third edition has been updated and broadened to incorporate such timely topics as guidelines for successful international publication, ethical and legal issues including plagiarism and falsified data, electronic publication, and text-based talks and poster presentations. With advice applicable to many writing contexts in the majority of scientific disciplines, this book is a powerful tool for improving individual skills and an eminently suitable text for classroom courses or seminars.
Cite Them Right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. (Print copy) by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
The Literature Review: a step by step guide for students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. This second edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. Visit the Companion Website for The Literature Review This book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
How to Research. 4th edn. (E-book) by
How to Research is a clear and accessible guide to the business of doing a research project. It systematically takes the reader through from the planning to the writing up and finishing off.
How to Research.4th edn. (Print copy). by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Social Research Methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Introducing Research Methodology : thinking your way through your research project. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Offering an encyclopedic introduction to research, this book shows students how to think about every stage of their project and equips them with the tools they need to understand different research processes. Packed with examples showing the diversity of research, this third edition provides hands-on guidance to help students: Develop key academic skills like critical thinking, effective writing and building an argument Confidently interpret findings, assess arguments and understand the wider impact of their research Understand the challenges and opportunities involved in working with new types of data like social media and online data Supported by a dynamic new website with downloadable templates, case studies, dos and don'ts videos and more, this practical book prepares students for not just getting to grips with methodological concepts, but being ready to apply them.
Research Design: qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: choosing among five approaches. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
In this Third Edition of his bestselling text John W. Creswell explores the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. In his signature accessible writing style, the author relates research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry. He compares theoretical frameworks, ways to employ standards of quality, and strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative, and verifying results.
Doing a Successful Research Project: using qualitative and quatitative methods. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Carrying out a research project is a daunting task, presenting you with deadline anxieties, unfamiliar language and practical dilemmas. This book is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully - akin to having a tutor at your side. Doing a Successful Research Project: * offers an accessible introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods * takes you through the entire research process from planning to write-up * includes extensive real-life examples of good and bad research practice The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook, containing further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more, provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies.
Researching and Writing a Dissertation: an essential guide for business students. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Researching and Writing your Dissertation is an essential guide for students undertaking research projects as part of a postgraduate qualification in business or management. Seven accessible chapters guide the reader through the process from choosing a topic, to gathering and analysing data, and finally writing and presenting the results. This book is ideal for students who may not be taking a taught and assessed module in research methods, but are undertaking management research for the first time and will benefit from guidance on the process, from start to finish.
Qualitative Research in Sport and Physical Activity. (Print copy) by
Designed especially for students in sport and physical activity, this book provides a detailed guide to planning, undertaking, and writing up qualitative research. Opening with a discussion of the main traits of qualitative inquiry and its use in sport and physical activity, the authors provide a coherent and accessible overview of qualitative research using numerous examples to bring the text alive. The book is divided into five parts informed by stages in the research process, with chapters on: * early steps in the research process * ethics * choosing your an approach * methods of data collection * analysing the data * writing up and disseminating your findings. This is essential reading for undergraduate and Masters students carrying out a qualitative research project in sport and physical activity and for PhD students looking to refresh their knowledge.
Qualitative Research: issues of theory, method and practice. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Building on the global success of the first edition of Qualitative Research: Theory, Method and Practice, the new edition has been thoroughly updated and revised. It succeeds in providing a comprehensive yet accessible guide to a variety of methodological approaches to qualitative research. Edited by David Silverman, the book brings together a team of internationally renowned researchers to discuss the theory and practice of qualitative research. In each chapter, the contributors broaden our conception of qualitative research by drawing upon particular examples of data-analysis to advance their analytical arguments. The contributors successfully combine a discussion of more traditional methods, with more recent developments in the field; including the use of internet data and researching visual culture. Illustrated by case studies and practical examples, this student-friendly and engaging text will be an invaluable resource for all students involved in qualitative research across the social sciences.
Research Methods in Physical Activity. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
This key text offers an engaging overview of the research process and methods for students within all subdisciplines of sport and exercise sciences. New chapters have been specifically created to future models of research that employ both quantitative and qualitative methods .
Case Study Research, design and methods. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Providing a complete portal to the world of case study research, the Fifth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text offers comprehensive coverage of the design and use of the case study method as a valid research tool. The book offers a clear definition of the case study method as well as discussion of design and analysis techniques. The Fifth Edition has been updated with nine new case studies, three new appendices, seven tutorials presented at the end of relevant chapters, increased coverage of values and ethics, expanded discussion on logic models, a brief glossary, and completely updated citations. This book includes exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic fields.
