Business Student's Handbook by
‭'It is very clear and easy to understand and well laid out. A good key text.' ‭Alison Bragg, Faculty Lead for Employability, Business and Law, De Montfort University‭ 'Even though I've been in the field for 25 years, I found new and engaging ‭information in The Business Student's Handbook. So no matter how many times ‭a student has been down this road, I'm confident that they will always find ‭something new here.' ‭Jayne Mothersdale, Governor and Principal Lecturer Learning & Teaching, Leeds ‭Beckett University ‭New edition of the definitive text for business students.‭The Business Student's Handbook brings together personal skills, study skills and employability ‭skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional lives. This handbook is all about ‭applying theory to practice; so you will find it filled with exercises, practical suggestions ‭and tips. ‭ This new edition covers: ‭Expanded sections on employability and transferable skills to help you become a highly ‭desirable graduate. A strong focus on written and oral communication skills and presentation skills.‭ Expanded data analysis and numeracy sections.‭ New emphasis on self-management, team work and planning makes this an essential resource ‭for any business student.‭ The new TECHSkills boxes focus on your digital skills to ensure you're making the most of the ‭best tools you can find online.‭ Additional resources, templates and activities are also available at www.pearsoned.co.uk/cameron ‭Sheila Cameron has worked for the Open University Business ‭School since its inception, now in a part-time role. She is also the ‭author of The MBA Handbook, focusing on postgraduate study ‭and executive education.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Critical Thinking Skills. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
The Exam Skills Handbook by
Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies. This fully updated, two-colour edition includes two brand new chapters.
The Exam Skills Handbook. (E-book) by
Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies. This fully updated, two-colour edition includes two brand new chapters.
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th end. (Print copy) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
How to Write Better Essays, 4th edn. (Print copy) by
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own. Chapters are short and succinct and cover topics such as reading purposefully, note-taking, essay writing in exams and avoiding plagiarism. Packed with practical activities and handy hints which students can apply to their own writing, this is an ideal resource for students looking to improve the quality and clarity of their academic writing. This book will be a source of guidance and inspiration for students of all disciplines and levels who need to write essays as part of their course.
How to Write Better Essays (E-book) by
This book takes the reader carefully through each stage of essay writing from interpretation of the question, to the research, planning, writing and revision. Readers are shown how to improve not just study skills like note taking, reading, organization and writing, but their thinking skills too. The reader will learn how to analyze difficult concepts, criticize and evaluate arguments, use evidence, and develop more of their own ideas. This book gives clear practical advice, with a troubleshooting section that deals with a range of common problems.
Success in Groupwork by
Using examples of real students' successful group projects, this succinct and supportive guide will help students tackle group assignments with confidence. Bite-sized chapters take students from forming a group and establishing roles through to dealing with conflict and delivering a group assessment. The book contains practical advice on making decisions and active listening, alongside opportunities to reflect on progress and identify opportunities for improvement. This is an essential resource for all students who are expected to produce a group project as part of their course, regardless of their level or discipline.
Developing Work and Study Skills by
Developing Study and Work Skills is the first text to unite the fragmented study skills/work skills/personal development skills market by focusing on the key basic skills that students need in order to make them practically as well as academically prepared for the world of work. Chapters take students through the core personal, interpersonal, written, verbal, technical and numerical skills that HE courses and employers are looking for. This book is the first text to integrate study and management skills in such a way as to encourage a continuous pattern of self-analysis in the student, more thoroughly preparing the student for the transition from study to the world of work than any other text in the market.Students on modules such as Personal Development and Effectiveness, Study Skills, Management Skills, Business Skills, Business Communication, Business Awareness, Managing Oneself and Others at - for example - BABS/BABA, HND/HNC, DMS, MBA levels will all find this a hugely valuable text through study and working life.
Study Skills for Speakers of English As a Second Language by
Starting at any university is a major step in life. Students who speak English as a second language, studying in a new country, are taking an even bigger step. Based on interviews with international students and their teachers, this book offers straightforward advice on academic topics such as language use, as well as social topics and the culture of Western universities. It also contains a helpful mini-dictionary of university words, and so will be an ideal guide for any international student studying in an English-speaking university.
Study Skills Essentials by
Knowing how to play the game at school and university allows you to achieve exam success while having more fun than you might have imagined possible. Drawing on the experience of twenty Oxford graduates, Study Skills Essentials gives an extremely useful insight into the study and exam techniques that work in the real world. With the right tactics it is very possible to get excellent results while still actually having a life. This book will be amazingly useful for students at university and in the later years of school. Introduction: How to do really well at exams 1: Finding out what they want to see 2: How to never waste a moment's work 3: Organising your success 4: Taking notes and what to do with them 5: Perfect essays made easy 6: Coursework and presentations 7: Science: your formula for success 8: Languages: say bonjour to better grades 9: The vital importance of having fun 10: Understanding 11: How to learn stuff 12: Exam technique (preparing for success) 13: Exam technique (giving them what they want) 14: After the exam (you've done it )
