An Introduction to Sports Coaching by
An Introduction to Sports Coachingprovides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of 'knowledges' which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching. (E-book) by
An Introduction to Sports Coaching provides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of 'knowledges' which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
New Perspectives on Sport and 'Deviance' by
The everyday makeup of contemporary sport is increasingly characterised by a perceived explosion of 'deviance' - violence, drug taking, racism, homophobia, misogyny, corruption and excess. Whereas once these behaviours may have been subject to the moral judgments of authority, in the face of dramatic socio-cultural change they become more a matter of populist consumer gaze. In addressing these developments this book provides a new and insightful approach toward the study of 'deviance' in the realm of sport. New Perspectives in Sport and 'Deviance'awakens the sociology of sport to the possibilities of re-imagining 'deviance' and offers an evocative approach which will appeal both to academics and students in the field of sociology of sport and sociology of deviance.
New Perspectives on Sport And 'Deviance' (E-book) by
The everyday makeup of contemporary sport is increasingly characterised by a perceived explosion of 'deviance' - violence, drug taking, racism, homophobia, misogyny, corruption and excess. Whereas once these behaviours may have been subject to the moral judgments of authority, in the face of dramatic socio-cultural change they become more a matter of populist consumer gaze. In addressing these developments this book provides a new and insightful approach toward the study of 'deviance' in the realm of sport. New Perspectives in Sport and 'Deviance' awakens the sociology of sport to the possibilities of re-imagining 'deviance' and offers an evocative approach which will appeal both to academics and students in the field of sociology of sport and sociology of deviance.
Sport Policy and Development by
Who makes sport policy and why do we need it? What is the purpose of sport development programmes? Sport Policy and Developmentanswers these questions and more by closely examining the complex relationships between modern sport, sport policy and development and other aspects of the wider society. These important issues are explored via detailed case studies of key aspects of sport policy and sport development activity, including: school sport and physical education social inclusion health elite sport sporting mega-events. Each case study demonstrates the ways in which the sport policy and development fields have changed, and are continually changing in response to the increasing political, social and cultural significance of sport. The book helps the reader to understand the complexities of the sport policy-making process, the increasing intervention of government in the sport policy and development fields, and how the short-term, ever-changing and frequently contradictory political priorities of government come to impact on the practice of sport policy and development. Accessible and engaging, this textbook is an invaluable introduction to sport policy and sport development for students, practitioners and policy-makers alike.
Sport Policy and Development (E-book) by
Who makes sport policy and why do we need it? What is the purpose of sport development programmes? Sport Policy and Development answers these questions and more by closely examining the complex relationships between modern sport, sport policy and development and other aspects of the wider society. These important issues are explored via detailed case studies of key aspects of sport policy and sport development activity, including: school sport and physical education social inclusion health elite sport sporting mega-events. Each case study demonstrates the ways in which the sport policy and development fields have changed, and are continually changing in response to the increasing political, social and cultural significance of sport. The book helps the reader to understand the complexities of the sport policy-making process, the increasing intervention of government in the sport policy and development fields, and how the short-term, ever-changing and frequently contradictory political priorities of government come to impact on the practice of sport policy and development. Accessible and engaging, this textbook is an invaluable introduction to sport policy and sport development for students, practitioners and policy-makers alike.
Making Sense of Sports by
Updated, revised and enhanced with new features, the fifth edition of Making Sense of Sportsis the biggest and strongest yet. Ellis Cashmore's unique multidisciplinary approach to the study of sports remains the only introduction to combine anthropology, biology, economics, history, philosophy, psychology and sociology with cultural and media studies to produce a distinct unbroken vision of the origins, development and current state of sports. New chapters on exercise culture and the moral climate of sports support a thoroughly overhauled text that includes fresh material on Islam, sports commerce and corruption. Now packed with teaching supplements, including access to a dedicated online resource headquarters with video podcasts of twenty-one chapter outlines from the author (http://tinyurl.com/373oyvr), online quizzes, and an additional twenty-first chapter on depression and mental health in sports and exercise, the new edition contains a cornucopia of thought boxes, as well as guides to further reading, capsule explanations and model essays. In short, Making Sense of Sportsis an all-purpose introduction to the study of sports.
Making Sense of Sports (E-book) by
Updated, revised and enhanced with new features, the fifth edition of Making Sense of Sports is the biggest and strongest yet. Ellis Cashmore's unique multidisciplinary approach to the study of sports remains the only introduction to combine anthropology, biology, economics, history, philosophy, psychology and sociology with cultural and media studies to produce a distinct unbroken vision of the origins, development and current state of sports. New chapters on exercise culture and the moral climate of sports support a thoroughly overhauled text that includes fresh material on Islam, sports commerce and corruption. Now packed with teaching supplements, including access to a dedicated online resource headquarters with video podcasts of twenty-one chapter outlines from the author (http://tinyurl.com/373oyvr), online quizzes, and an additional twenty-first chapter on depression and mental health in sports and exercise, the new edition contains a cornucopia of thought boxes, as well as guides to further reading, capsule explanations and model essays. In short, Making Sense of Sports is an all-purpose introduction to the study of sports.
Sports in society: issues and controversies by 
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by
The Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality brings together important new work from 68 leading international scholars that, collectively, demonstrates the intrinsic interconnectedness of sport, gender and sexuality. It introduces what is, in essence, a sophisticated sub-area of sport sociology, covering the field comprehensively, as well as signalling ideas for future research and analysis. Wide-ranging across different historical periods, different sports, and different local and global contexts, the book incorporates personal, ideological and political narratives; varied conceptual, methodological and theoretical approaches; and examples of complexities and nuanced ways of understanding the gendered and sexualized dynamics of sport. It examines structural and cultural forms of gender segregation, homophobia, heteronormativity and transphobia, as well as the ideological struggles and changes that have led to nuanced ways of thinking about the sport, gender and sexuality nexus. This is a landmark work of reference that will be a key resource for students and researchers working in sport studies, gender studies, sexuality studies or sociology.
Understanding Sport by
In the decade or more since publication of the first edition of Understanding Sport, both sport and wider global society have undergone profound change. In this fully updated, revised and expanded edition of their classic textbook, John Horne, Alan Tomlinson, Garry Whannel and Kath Woodward offer a critical and reflective introduction to the relationship between sport and contemporary society and explain how sport remains an important agent and symptom of socio-cultural change. Fully integrating historical, sociological, political and cultural analysis, the book covers every key topic in the study of sport and society, including: debate, interpretation and theory sport and the media sport and the body sport and politics commercialization globalization. Retaining the accessibility and scholarly rigour for which Understanding Sporthas always been renowned, this new edition includes entirely new chapters on global transformations, sports mega-events and sites, sporting bodies and governance, as well as a succinct guide to researching sport. With review and seminar questions included in every chapter, plus concise, helpful guides to further reading, Understanding Sport remains an essential textbook for all courses on sport and society, the sociology of sport, sport and social theory, or social issues in sport.
Understanding Sport. (E-book) by
In the decade or more since publication of the first edition of Understanding Sport, both sport and wider global society have undergone profound change. In this fully updated, revised and expanded edition of their classic textbook, John Horne, Alan Tomlinson, Garry Whannel and Kath Woodward offer a critical and reflective introduction to the relationship between sport and contemporary society and explain how sport remains an important agent and symptom of socio-cultural change. Fully integrating historical, sociological, political and cultural analysis, the book covers every key topic in the study of sport and society, including: debate, interpretation and theory sport and the media sport and the body sport and politics commercialization globalization. Retaining the accessibility and scholarly rigour for which Understanding Sport has always been renowned, this new edition includes entirely new chapters on global transformations, sports mega-events and sites, sporting bodies and governance, as well as a succinct guide to researching sport. With review and seminar questions included in every chapter, plus concise, helpful guides to further reading, Understanding Sport remains an essential textbook for all courses on sport and society, the sociology of sport, sport and social theory, or social issues in sport.
Sport and Society. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
′This third edition of Sport and Society, with contributions from some of the field's most highly respected scholars, covers the myriad of complex, pervasive and global issues confronting sport in the 21st century. It continues to be a foundation text for students across most sport disciplines′ - Russel Hoye, La Trobe University, Australia 'The third edition of Sport and Society reinforces its place as one of the most valuable texts for students and others engaging in social scientific study of sport. Overall, the book continues to achieve an unrivalled balance between different social science disciplines that have been applied to sport; between local, national and international issues; and between broad overviews and specific detail on every topic. The end result is a book that is "a must" on many academic reading lists!′ - Iain Lindsey, Durham University, UK Fully updated and revised, the Third Edition of Barrie Houlihan and Dominic Malcolm′s ground-breaking Sport and Society provides students and instructors with a one-stop text that is comprehensive, accessible, international, and engaging. This popular book: Approaches the study of sport from a multi-disciplinary perspective Presents the importance of social structure, power, and inequality in analysing the nature and significance of sport in society Addresses the rapid commercialization and regulation of sport Engages in comparative analysis to understand problems clearly and produce sound solutions Expands students′ knowledge through chapter summaries, guides to further reading, and extensive bibliographies Offers five new chapters addressing the key contemporary issues of: lifestyle sport; sport for development and peace; the governance of international sport organisations; sports fandom; and sport in East Asia. A superb teaching text, this new edition will be relished by instructors seeking an authoritative introduction to sport and society and students who want a relevant, enriching text for their learning and research needs.
Health Promotion: planning and strategies. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Globally recognized as the definitive text on health promotion, this fourth edition becomes ever more useful for public health and health promotion courses around the world. It offers a firm foundation in health promotion before helping you to understand the process of planning, implementing and assessing programmes in the real world.New to the 4thEdition: A chapter on "Evidence-Based Health Promotion" addressing the development of an evidence base for health promotion. Expanded coverage of health inequalities, equity and social exclusion Further discussion of mental health promotion and well-being Key concepts are now highlighted and explained throughout the book ′Critical reflection' boxes have been added to help the reader think critically about an issue or approach. The book is supported by online resources,with up to 20 original case studies from around the world, access to full SAGE journal articles, and seminar questions for lecturers.
Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs by
Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides you with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The Sixth Edition features updated information throughout, significantly re-worked Chapters 2 (Starting the Planning Process) and 3 (Models for Program Planning in Health Promotion) for a more streamlined presentation, a more robust supplements package, and more information on program management and administration. It has been thoroughly reviewed by both practitioners and professors to reflect the latest trends in the field. "[Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer] provides a very clear and concise explanation on how to develop a Health Promotion Program. The book provides excellent examples and activities for application of Program Planning as well as ties in each step so the final process makes sense. I also like that the book prepares and encourages students to take the CHES exam as well as gives them the tools they need to be successful." -- Aimee Richardson, Adjunct Faculty, American University, Washington, DC
Health Psychology by
This new edition is a comprehensive and accessible guide, examining health behaviours through reviewing the key research in this growing field.
Health Psychology. 6th edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by
Thoroughly revised to reflect recent research, theory and practice in health psychology, this market bestseller includes new coverage of topical issues such as behaviour change strategies, health inequalities, exercise dependence, caffeine use and men's health. Now organized into five sections, the book follows a health-illness continuum model, covering theory and research related to the context of health, health beliefs and behaviours, becoming ill and being ill, with the final section describing how students can learn to think more critically about all aspects of health psychology. The new edition also includes five new chapters: * Health inequalities - depicts health variation by gender, social class and geography and describes possible explanations for this * Health promotion - describes a wide range of theories and strategies used to change behaviour including CBT, motivational interviewing, relapse prevention, fear appeals and the use of technology * Health access - examines patient contact with health professionals, with a focus on help seeking behaviour (and delay), screening, communication and adherence * Men's health - explores gender differences in life expectancy and causes of mortality, men's health related behaviours, their health beliefs, social norms of masculinity and emotional expression * Being critical - offers a detailed analysis of how to be more critical, with a focus on thinking about theory, constructs, methodology and measurement Many brand new examples are introduced, covering: post traumatic stress symptoms, exercise and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, post traumatic growth and benefit finding, measurement issues for adherence, eating, exercise, social support and coping, visualization and illness cognitions and the response shift. Health Psychology, 5th edition is essential reading for all students and researchers of health psychology. It will also be invaluable to students of medicine, nursing and allied health. "Jane Ogden writes in an uncomplicated manner but without doing injustice to the complexities of the theories and research being described." Roger Ingham, Professor of Health and Community Psychology, University of Southampton, UK "Students are provided with clear, up-to-date and accessible information on the major theoretical and empirical issues in health psychology. There are five new chapters and the one on health promotion is particularly impressive." Ad A. Kaptein, Professor of Medical Psychology, Leiden University Medical Centre, The Netherlands
Contemporary issues in the sociology of sport by 
Management of Sports Development by
Management of Sports Developmentis the first book to offer a holistic approach to a field which has been growing in importance for some years. Although many books exist on various aspects of development, never before has there been a text which addresses the process of development in such a comprehensive manner. This book offers eveything needed to develop an understanding of the process of sports development. The book provides comprehensive coverage of the major themes in the process of sports development with contributions from an internationally renowned author team. These themes include: models of sports development funding of sports development mega sporting events networks and partnerships in sports development sports development and social change It is also supplemented with a dedicated accompanying website featuring updates and extra material. This accessible book is essential reading for students or lecturers in the field of sports development and is set to be a vital contribution to the literature in this area.
Management of Sports Development (E-book) by
Management of Sports Development is the first book to offer a holistic approach to a field which has been growing in importance for some years. Although many books exist on various aspects of development, never before has there been a text which addresses the process of development in such a comprehensive manner. This book offers eveything needed to develop an understanding of the process of sports development.The book provides comprehensive coverage of the major themes in the process of sports development with contributions from an internationally renowned author team. These themes include:models of sports developmentfunding of sports developmentmega sporting eventsnetworks and partnerships in sports developmentsports development and social changeIt is also supplemented with a dedicated accompanying website featuring updates and extra material.This accessible book is essential reading for students or lecturers in the field of sports development and is set to be a vital contribution to the literature in this area.
Sport, Rhetoric, and Gender by
Interested in the nexus between sport, gender, and language, Sport, Rhetoric, and Gender: Historical Perspectives and Media Representations contains 21 wide-ranging chapters examining sport vis-à-vis the language surrounding and incorporated by it in the world arena.
Sport, Rhetoric, and Gender (E-book) by
Interested in the nexus between sport, gender, and language, Sport, Rhetoric, and Gender: Historical Perspectives and Media Representations contains 21 wide-ranging chapters examining sport vis-à-vis the language surrounding and incorporated by it in the world arena.
Heroines of Sport by
Heroines of Sportlooks closely at different groups of women whose stories have been excluded from previous accounts of women's sports and female heroism. It focuses on five specific groups of women from different places in the world: Black women in South Africa; Muslim women from the Middle East; Aboriginal women from Australia and Canada; and lesbian and disabled women from different countries worldwide. It also asks searching questions about colonialism and neo-colonialism in the women's international sport movement. The particular groups of women featured in the book reflect the need to look at specific categories of difference relating to class, culture, disability, ethnicity, race, religion and sexual orientation. In her account, Jennifer Hargreaves reveals how the participation of women in sport across the world is tied to their sense of difference and identity. Based on original research each chapter includes material which relates to significant political and cultural developments. Heroines of Sportwill be invaluable reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of sport sociology, and will also be relevant for students working in women's studies and other specialized fields, such as development studies or the politics of Aboriginality, disability, Islam, race and sexuality.
The Politics of Sports Development by
This text traces the evolution of sports development in the UK in the context of broader shifts in sport and social policy. It explores the emergence of sports development from the early years of public policy for sport in the 1960s to the contemporary era. This analysis is set against a background of policy initiatives, from 'Sport For All', 'Action Sport' and CCT, to the National Lottery and the contemporary emphasis on sport as a factor in the social and cultural well-being of the nation. Incorporating original material from major case studies and the national governing bodies of hockey, rowing, rugby union and tennis, the book examines the reality of "doing sports development" within this changing social and political policy climate.
The Politics of Sports Development (E-book) by
This text traces the evolution of sports development in the UK in the context of broader shifts in sport and social policy. It explores the emergence of sports development from the early years of public policy for sport in the 1960s to the contemporary era. This analysis is set against a background of policy initiatives, from 'Sport For All', 'Action Sport' and CCT, to the National Lottery and the contemporary emphasis on sport as a factor in the social and cultural well-being of the nation. Incorporating original material from major case studies and the national governing bodies of hockey, rowing, rugby union and tennis, the book examines the reality of "doing sports development" within this changing social and political policy climate.
Sports Development by
Sports development is an important emerging field of academic study with a distinctive contribution to make to wider social, cultural, economic and educational policies and practices. Sports Development: Policy, Process and Practiceoffers a detailed, authoritative and dependable guide to all aspects of the subject. Now in its second edition, this popular course text examines the roles of those working in and around sports development and explores how professionals can devise better and more effective ways of promoting interest, participation or performance in sport. The book has been fully updated to include coverage of contemporary debates about mass participation, community sports development, social inclusion, coaching and talent development, PE and school sport, working and volunteering in sports development, elite performance and the Olympic Games, research and policy evaluation. Sports Development represents an invaluable resource for university and further education students, researchers and those working in sports development and is essential reading for all those wanting to prove themselves effective in this area.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
