Periodization Training for Sports by
Sports conditioning has advanced tremendously since the era when a "no pain, no gain" philosophy guided the training regimens of athletes. Dr. Tudor Bompa pioneered most of these breakthroughs, proving long ago that it's not only how much and how hard an athlete works but also when and what work is done that determines the athlete's conditioning level. In Periodization Training for Sports, Bompa demonstrates how to use periodized workouts in order to peak at optimal times by manipulating six different training phases: anatomical adaptation, hypertrophy, maximum strength, conversion to power, maintenance, and transition. Coaches and athletes in 32 sports have at their fingertips a proven program that is sure to produce the best results. No more guessing about preseason conditioning, in-season workloads, or appropriate rest and recovery periods; now it's simply a matter of identifying and implementing the information in this book. Presented in a useful format with plenty of ready-made training schedules, Periodization Training for Sportsis your best conditioning planner if you want to know what works, why it works, and when it works in the training room and on the practice field. Get in better shape next season, and see the benefits of smarter workouts in competition.
An Introduction to Sports Coaching by
An Introduction to Sports Coachingprovides students with an accessible and engaging guide to the scientific, social scientific, medical and pedagogical theory that underlies the practice of quality sports coaching. Now in a fully updated and revised second edition, it introduces students to the complex, messy, multi-faceted nature of coaching, and explores the full range of 'knowledges' which inform all successful coaching practice. Written by a team of leading international sports coaching academics and practitioners, as well as sport scientists and social scientists, the book provides a concise guide to every key theme in sports coaching, including: Reflective practice Pedagogy Skill acquisition Psychology Biomechanics Physiology Sport medicine and injury Performance analysis Sociology History Philosophy Sport development Each chapter makes a clear link between theory and practice, and includes discussion of real-life coaching scenarios and insights from practising international and club coaches. The book includes clear definitions of important themes and concepts, as well as seminar and review questions in each chapter designed to confirm understanding and encourage further enquiry. No other introductory textbook explains the importance of an holistic approach to sports coaching practice. This is an essential companion to any sports coaching course.
NASM Essentials of Corrective Exercise Training by
This text is a recommended resource for the NASM Corrective Exercise Specialist (CES) course.NASM Essentials of Corrective Exercise Training introduces the health and fitness professional to NASM's proprietary Corrective Exercise Continuum, a system of training that uses corrective exercise strategies to help improve muscle imbalances and movement efficiency to decrease the risk of injury.This textbook includes several new chapters that were not included in NASM's previous corrective exercise materials, including the rationale for corrective exercise training, assessments of health risk, static postural assessments, range of motion assessments, and strength assessments (manual muscle testing) as well as corrective exercise strategies for the cervical spine, elbow, and wrist.There are more than 100 corrective exercise techniques in the categories of self-myofascial release, static stretching, neuromuscular stretching, isolated strength training, positional isometrics, and integrated dynamic movements included in the text. These, along with corrective exercise strategies for common movement impairments seen in each segment of the body, make this text the premier resource for learning and applying NASM's systematic approach to corrective exercise training.
Introduction to the Human Body. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
Introduction to the Human Body 10th Edition offers a balanced introduction to the human body, especially developed to meet the needs of the one-semester A&P course. It provides an effective blend of stunning art and clearly written text to illuminate the complexities of the human body. Class-tested pedagogy is woven into the narrative and illustrations to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of the material.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual is an innovative new reference that brings clinical subjects to life using a vivid, graphic presentation. Like the Incredibly Easy series, the Incredibly Visual series takes difficult clinical topics and presents them in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner. The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application. For each body system, the book logically first presents anatomic fundamentals necessary to understand the complex physiology of the body. Then physiologic processes are presented more visually than ever before. This new approach to clinical content maximizes the power of visual thinking by getting readers as close to the clinical content as they can get without actually being in the room with a patient. Complex ideas are broken down into their component parts, with each component made unmistakably simple in appealingly colorful and graphic ways. Readers will read less, understand more, and see things more clearly than ever before. A companion website is available with fully-searchable text.
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness. 13th edn. (Print copy) by
The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology. 15th edn. (Print copy) by
The phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the discipline standard with the 15th edition. Designed for the 2-semester anatomy and physiology course, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology combines exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive classroom experience. Enhanced for a digital delivery, the 15th edition, gives students the ability to learn and explore anatomy and physiology both inside and outside of the classroom.
Athletic Ability and the Anatomy of Motion by
This book serves as a bridge between biomechanics and the practice of sport. By providing a detailed analysis of movement, it helps readers understand the important factors for maximizing performance. Valuable coverage is provided on the general characteristics of bones, joints, and muscles, as well as guidelines for flexibility and strength training that provide a firm theoretical framework for effective training. From this basis, the book explores the anatomy function of different parts of the body and examines the types of movement important in sports activities. The book's unique approach features a rigorous application of biomechanics to sport training. Mechanics are related to the use of muscles in specific sports. Coverage is both theoretical and practical, making the book useful both for academic study and as a training aid. Highly illustrated format helps readers understand key concepts and important details. Fully updated content provides the latest knowledge on the subject. New illustrations and new, engaging text layout draw the reader in and bring important concepts to life. Additional coverage has been added on several topics, including strength training.
High-Performance Training for Sports by
High-Performance Training for Sports changes the landscape of athletic conditioning and sports performance. This groundbreaking work presents the latest and most effective philosophies, protocols and programmes for developing today's athletes. High-Performance Training for Sports features contributions from global leaders in athletic performance training, coaching and rehabilitation. Experts share the cutting-edge knowledge and techniques they've used with Olympians as well as top athletes and teams from the NBA, NFL, MLB, English Premier League, Tour de France and International Rugby. Combining the latest science and research with proven training protocols, High-Performance Training for Sports will guide you in these areas: - Optimise the effectiveness of cross-training. - Translate strength into speed. - Increase aerobic capacity and generate anaerobic power. - Maintain peak conditioning throughout the season. - Minimise the interference effect. - Design energy-specific performance programmes. Whether you are working with high-performance athletes of all ages or with those recovering from injury, High-Performance Training for Sports is the definitive guide for developing all aspects of athletic performance. It is a must-own guide for any serious strength and conditioning coach, trainer, rehabilitator or athlete.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription-7th Edn (Print copy) by
Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription, Seventh Edition With Online Video, provides a comprehensive approach to physical fitness appraisal and exercise prescription. The text bridges the gap between research and practice and synthesizes concepts and theories from exercise physiology, kinesiology, measurement, psychology, and nutrition to provide a clearly defined approach to physical fitness testing and the design of individualized exercise programs. The accompanying online videos enhance the learning experience and teach the techniques necessary for conducting fitness testing and program design. More than 40 clips featuring common exercise assessments will help users learn essentials of fitness testing, such as calibration of blood pressure cuffs, functional movement assessment, and push-up and pull-up testing. Unlike introductory texts, which typically focus on field testing for evaluating physical fitness, this text includes both field and laboratory assessment techniques. Readers will find the latest information on maximal and submaximal graded exercise testing in healthy populations, muscular fitness testing protocols and norms for children and adults, and field tests and norms for evaluating cardiorespiratory fitness, muscular fitness, body composition, flexibility, and balance. The seventh edition of Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription reflects current guidelines and recommendations, including new physical activity recommendations from the U.S. government, American Heart Association, and American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), as well as the latest ACSM guidelines for medical exam and exercise testing requirements before beginning exercise programs. Additional updates to the seventh edition include the following: - New research substantiating the link between physical activity and disease risk - Expanded information on prediabetes, metabolic syndrome, osteoporosis, and overweight and obesity, including updated statistics on the global prevalence of obesity - New dietary guidelines for Americans, including information on MyPlate - Inclusion of SCORE system to estimate 10-year risk of fatal cardiac event due to atherosclerosis - Expanded information on the use of technology to monitor physical activity - Updated information on the use of exergaming and social networking to promote physical activity and exercise - Additional OMNI pictorial scales for ratings of perceived exertion during exercise - Latest ACSM FITT-VP principle for designing aerobic exercise programs - Whole-body vibration as an adjunct to resistance training and flexibility training Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription, Seventh Edition, is organized around physical fitness components, providing information on assessment followed by guidelines for designing exercise programs to improve each fitness component. The text begins with an overview of physical activity, health, and chronic disease, followed by discussion of preliminary health screening and risk classification, including the principles of fitness assessment, exercise prescription, and exercise program design. The remainder of the text provides in-depth coverage of assessment and exercise prescription for each of five physical fitness components: cardiorespiratory endurance, muscular fitness (strength, endurance, and power), body composition, flexibility, and balance. In each chapter, key questions help readers focus on essential information. Key points, review questions, and key terms reinforce concepts and summarize chapter content. An instructor guide, test package, chapter quizzes, and presentation package plus image bank provide tools for lecture preparation, creative content delivery, and class assessment. New to the seventh edition are online video clips for both students and instructors to further a
Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is the flagship title from the American College of Sports Medicine, the prestigious organization that sets the standards for the exercise profession. This critical handbook delivers scientifically based standards on exercise testing and prescription to the certification candidate, the professional, and the student. This manual gives succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients The tenth edition reflects some crucial and exciting changes, making the content necessary for effective study and practice. New pre-exercise health screening recommendations are critical to helping more of the population begin a safe, healthy physical activity program without consulting a physician. New and expanded information on the risks of sedentary behavior, clinical exercise testing and interpretation, high intensity interval training, musculoskeletal injury risk, fitness testing protocols and norms, and an expansion of the principles of health behavior change are included. Additionally, significant reorganization of content will help you reach the information you need quickly. This manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may council patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician's assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators.
Kinanthropometry and Exercise Physiology. (E-book) by
Kinanthropometry is the study of human body size, shape and form and how those characteristics relate to human movement and sporting performance. In this fully updated and revised edition of the classic guide to kinanthropometric theory and practice, leading international sport and exercise scientists offer a clear and comprehensive introduction to essential principles and techniques. Each chapter guides the reader through the planning and conduct of practical and laboratory sessions and includes a survey of current theory and contemporary literature relating to that topic. The book is fully illustrated and includes worked examples, exercises, research data, chapter summaries and guides to further reading throughout. Volume Two:Exercise Physiologycovers key topics such as: neuromuscular aspects of movement skeletal muscle function oxygen transport, including haemotology, pulmonary and cardiovascular functions metabolism and thermoregulation VO2 kinetics physiological economy, efficiency and 'fitness' physiological limitations to performance assessment of energy expenditure, perceived exertion and maximal intensity. The Kinanthropometry and Exercise Physiology Laboratory Manualis essential reading for all serious students and researchers of sport and exercise science, kinesiology and human movement. Roger Estonis Professor of Human Physiology and Head of the School of Sport and Health Sciences at the University of Exeter. Thomas Reillyis Professor of Sports Science and Director of the Research Institute for Sport and Exercise Sciences at Liverpool John Moores University.
Strength and Conditioning for Team Sports by
Drawing on the very latest scientific research, Strength and Conditioning for Team Sportsis designed to help students, coaches, researchers and sports medicine professionals devise more effective high-performance training programs for team sports. The only evidence-based study of sport-specific practice for team sports, this book introduces the core science underpinning any strength and conditioning regime, combining the best of applied physiology, biomechanics, sports medicine and coaching science. The book addresses all aspects of training prescription and the key components of any degree course related to strength and conditioning, including physiological and performance testing strength training metabolic conditioning power training agility and speed training training for core stability periodization training for injury prevention. Each chapter features guidelines for evidence-based training prescription as well as recommendations for novel ways in which to approach physical preparation for team sports players, bridging the traditional gap between sport science research and sport performance. Fully illustrated throughout, this book is essential reading for any serious student of strength and conditioning, and for any coach looking to extend their professional practice.
Exercise physiology : nutrition, energy and human performance. 8th edn. (Print copy) by 
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
Karin Knisely's indispensible handbook provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology, covering everything from reading technical literature and writing scientific papers, to preparing lab reports and making oral presentations of scientific findings. Since scientific communication requires unique competencies on the computer (for example, producing Greek letters and mathematical symbols), almost half of the handbook is devoted familiarizing students with helpful features in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint--features that are essential to professional quality scientific communication.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject. Key features: Clinical considerations and scenarios throughout showing how the material can be applied to daily practice Featuring over 300 superb full colour illustrations Now includes a boxed feature throughout on medicines management; providing information concerning a variety of medicines used in the care and management of people that are related to the body system of the chapter The 'Conditions' feature within each chapter provides you with a list of disorders that are associated with the topics discussed, helping relate theory to practice Each chapter includes learning outcomes, test your knowledge, scenarios, activities and summaries. Includes a list of prefixes and suffixes, as well as normal values, and a glossary of terms Supported by enhanced online resources with fantastic extras for both lecturers and students, including an image bank, online glossary, flashcards, interactive multiple choice questions, examples of patient notes, and more This edition is now supported by an accompanying study guide to facilitate the learning and revision of the content within this book: 'Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook: A Study Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Students'
Exercise physiology: theory and application to fitness and performance by 
Physiology of Sport and Exercise by
The leading textbook for undergraduate exercise physiology courses, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, is back in an updated fourth edition that is better than ever after extensive external reviews of the previous edition by nine content experts. Renowned authors Jack Wilmore and David Costill add the expertise of W. Larry Kenney to bring a fresh perspective to the organization and content of the fourth edition. Building on the positive feedback of previous editions, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Fourth Edition, presents the complex relationship between human physiology and exercise in a format that is more comprehensive for students than other comparable texts. Ease of reading and understanding is the cornerstone for this popular text, and students will experience a depth and breadth of content balanced with unique and effective learning features: -Online learning. The text is automatically packaged with an access code for the online student guide. With the inclusion of the access code in the text, students will be reminded to access the Web site more readily. The convenient Web site format of the student guide allows students to practice, review, and develop knowledge and skills about the physiology of sport and exercise. -Accessible layout. The book is divided into seven parts, each with opening text that briefly describes the contents of the chapters in that part. Chapter outlines with page numbers help students locate material, including the related online study guide activities. -Keys to comprehension. In each chapter, key points and key terms are highlighted. The key terms are listed at the end of the chapter and defined in the glossary, thus increasing students'' opportunities for recall, transfer of information, and self-testing. -Review and reflection. Review boxesscattered throughout each chapter remind students of the major points presented. Study questions allow students to test their knowledge of the chapter''s contents. Reminders of available study guide activities encourage students to explore additional learning opportunities. -Reference and extended study. A comprehensive glossary and a thorough index help students navigate both the text and subject matter. Plus, a listing of references and selected readings provide additional information about topics of special interest. -Abbreviations and conversions. A list of common abbreviations on the inside front cover and a list of conversions on the inside back cover of the text provide a quick and easy reference for students while they complete labs and assignments. In an effort to reduce "backpack bulge," the fourth edition has been carefully streamlined to offset the addition of new chapters or pages. Updated research, modernized artwork, and a reorganization of material provide a focused and effective presentation of concepts within a slightly smaller--and lighter--textbook. Chapters regarding nutrition and body composition are now combined to reduce information overlap, and references and selected readings from each chapter are grouped at the end of the text. The authors, all distinguished researchers and past presidents of the American College of Sports Medicine, combine their expertise to deliver a level of technical content superior to that in previous editions with the inclusion of new and updated topics: -New information regarding exercise training principles and the adaptations in muscle, hormonal control, neural control, metabolism, and cardiorespiratory function with both resistance training and aerobic and anaerobic training -A more in-depth presentation of the body''s adaptations in hot and cold environments and at altitude -Updated content on how general principles of exercise and sport physiology are specifically applied to children and adolescents, older individuals, and women -The latest research in exercise prescription for health and fitness, including the unique role of physical activity for rehabilitation and the prevention and control of cardiovascular disease, obesity, and diabetes To facilitate a more integrated learning experience, both students and instructors can take advantage of the online ancillaries included in the fourth edition of Physiology of Sport and Exercise. The free online student study guide offers an improved interface and new learning activities that complement each chapter in the book. Additionally, helpful study guide reminders and the inclusion of an access code within the book prompt students to access the online guide to practice, review, and develop their understanding of chapter concepts. Students can also use the guide''s dynamic and interactive learning activities to conduct experiments outside the lab. Key concepts are reinforced as students conduct self-made experiments and record their own physiological responses to exercise. In addition, the study guide offers access links to scientific and professional journals as well as organization and career information. Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Fourth Edition, stands alone as the best, most comprehensive resource framing the latest research findings in a reader-friendly format. This winning combination makes it easier--and more engaging--than ever for students to develop their understanding of the body''s marvelous abilities to perform various types and intensities of exercise and sport, to adapt to stressful situations, and to improve its physiological capacities. Includes an online student study guide! To assist students using the text, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Fourth Edition,has a companion online student study guide. Completely integrated with the text, the study guide allows students to experience content through multiple dimensions. Students will receive free access to the study guide with the purchase of a new text, or it may be purchased as a separate component. The site offers self-rating checkliststhat allow students to target concepts they need extra help with and unique "My Notes" study aidsthat are customizable and can be saved to a student''s computer. Activity feedbackpresents specific text page references to review for incorrect responses. Additional resources in the online study guide include glossary termsthat are emphasized on their first appearance and include a pop-up definition, quizzesthat test students'' knowledge of the material, and linksto professional journals as well as organization and career information to extend students'' knowledge beyond the school environment.
Sport and Exercise Physiology Testing Guidelines - Sport Testing by
Sport and exercise physiologists are called upon to carry out physiological assessments that have proven validity and reliability, both in sport-specific and health-related contexts. A wide variety of test protocols have been developed and refined. This book is a comprehensive guide to these protocols and to the key issues relating to physiological testing. Volume I covers sport-specific testing, and Volume II covers clinical and exercise specific testing. With contributions from leading specialist sport, exercise and clincial physiologists, and covering a wide range of mainstream sports, special populations, and ethical, practical and methodological issues, these volumes represent an essential resource for sport-specific and clinical exercise testing in both research and applied settings. Visit the companion website at www.routledgesport.com/bases
