Essential C# 6. 0 (Print copy) by
" Welcome to one of the greatest collaborations you could dream of in the world of C# books--and probably far beyond!" --From the Foreword by Mads Torgersen, C# Program Manager, Microsoft Essential C# 6.0 is a well-organized, no-fluff guide to the latest versions of C# for programmers at all levels of experience. Fully updated to reflect new C# 6.0 and .NET 4.6 features and patterns, it will help you write C# code that's simple, powerful, robust, secure, and maintainable. This book's authors are world-class C# experts: long-time Microsoft MVP and Regional Director Mark Michaelis and Eric Lippert, formerly principal developer on Microsoft's C# compiler team. Together, they cover the entire language, illustrating key constructs with succinct examples and offering a complete foundation for successful C# development. Essential C# 6.0 makes it easy to program with any version of C#, whether you're creating new code or maintaining existing systems. Separate indexes for C# versions 4, 5, and 6 help you quickly find version-specific answers with accompanying visual indicators that help you identify which language innovations will work when. This edition also includes a set of best-practice C# Coding Guidelines updated to leverage C# 6.0 constructs. Coverage includes Mastering C# data types, operators, control flow, methods, and parameters Using C# object-oriented constructs, including classes, inheritance, interfaces, and more--all with the significantly simplified syntax of C# 6.0 Working with well-formed value and reference types Implementing reliable, effective exception handling Reducing code complexity with generics, delegates, lambda expressions, and events (including a simplified C# 6.0 syntax for triggering events) Learning dynamic programming with reflection and attributes Querying diverse data collections using LINQ with query expressions Creating custom collections that operate against business objects Using collection interfaces and standard query operators to access .NET collections Understanding the Common Language Infrastructure and C# in the context of .NET 4.6 Taking advantage of declarative programming, embedded metadata, reflection, and attributes Mastering multithreading and synchronization, including the new async/await paradigm Using P/Invoke, pointers, and direct memory manipulation to interoperate with other languages Understanding how C# programs relate to the underlying runtime For Qualified Instructors An instructor's guide, exercises, and a slide deck are available to support your courses.
WPF 4. 5 Unleashed (Print copy) by
The #1 WPF Book--Now Updated for WPF 4.5! Thorough, authoritative coverage, practical examples, clear writing, and full-color presentation make this one of the most widely acclaimed programming books of the last decade. Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) is the recommended technology for creating modern Windows desktop apps. Whether you want to develop traditional user interfaces or integrate 3D graphics, audio/video, animation, dynamic skinning, touch, rich document support, speech recognition, or more, WPF enables you to do so in a seamless, resolution-independent manner that scales from small tablets to large TVs. WPF 4.5 Unleashed is the authoritative book that covers it all, in a practical and approachable fashion, authored by WPF guru and Microsoft architect Adam Nathan. Covers everything you need to know about Extensible Application Markup Language (XAML) Examines the WPF feature areas in incredible depth: controls, layout, resources, data binding, styling, graphics, animation, and more Delves into topics that aren't covered by most books: 3D, speech, audio/video, documents, effects Shows how to create popular UI elements and leverage built-in controls such as the new Office-style Ribbon Demonstrates how to create sophisticated UI mechanisms, such as Visual Studio-like collapsible/dockable panes Explains how to create first-class custom controls for WPF Demonstrates how to create hybrid WPF software that leverages Windows Forms, DirectX, ActiveX, or other non-WPF technologies Explains how to exploit desktop features, such as Jump Lists and taskbar customizations, and the same toast notifications used by Windows Store apps
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Unified modeling language user guide. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
For nearly ten years, the Unified Modeling Language (UML) has been the industry standard for visualizing, specifying, constructing, and documenting the artifacts of a software-intensive system. As the de facto standard modeling language, the UML facilitates communication and reduces confusion among project stakeholders. The recent standardization of UML 2.0 has further extended the language's scope and viability. Its inherent expressiveness allows users to model everything from enterprise information systems and distributed Web-based applications to real-time embedded systems. In this eagerly anticipated revision of the best-selling and definitive guide to the use of the UML, the creators of the language provide a tutorial to its core aspects in a two-color format designed to facilitate learning. Starting with an overview of the UML, the book explains the language gradually by introducing a few concepts and notations in each chapter. It also illustrates the application of the UML to complex modeling problems across a variety of application domains. The in-depth coverage and example-driven approach that made the first edition of The Unified Modeling Language User Guide an indispensable resource remain unchanged. However, content has been thoroughly updated to reflect changes to notation and usage required by UML 2.0. Highlights include: A new chapter on components and internal structure, including significant new capabilities for building encapsulated designs New details and updated coverage of provided and required interfaces, collaborations, and UML profiles Additions and changes to discussions of sequence diagrams, activity diagrams, and more Coverage of many other changes introduced by the UML 2.0 specification With this essential guide, you will quickly get up to speed on the latest features of the industry standard modeling language and be able to apply them to your next software project.
Code Complete by
Widely considered one of the best practical guides to programming, Steve McConnell's original CODE COMPLETE has been helping developers write better software for more than a decade. Now this classic book has been fully updated and revised with leading-edge practices--and hundreds of new code samples--illustrating the art and science of software construction. Capturing the body of knowledge available from research, academia, and everyday commercial practice, McConnell synthesizes the most effective techniques and must-know principles into clear, pragmatic guidance. No matter what your experience level, development environment, or project size, this book will inform and stimulate your thinking--and help you build the highest quality code. Discover the timeless techniques and strategies that help you: Design for minimum complexity and maximum creativity Reap the benefits of collaborative development Apply defensive programming techniques to reduce and flush out errors Exploit opportunities to refactor--or evolve--code, and do it safely Use construction practices that are right-weight for your project Debug problems quickly and effectively Resolve critical construction issues early and correctly Build quality into the beginning, middle, and end of your project
Framework Design Guidelines : conventions, idioms, and patterns for reusable .NET libraries. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Framework Design Guidelines, Second Edition, teaches developers the best practices for designing reusable libraries for the Microsoft .NET Framework. Expanded and updated for .NET 3.5, this new edition focuses on the design issues that directly affect the programmability of a class library, specifically its publicly accessible APIs. nbsp; This book can improve the work of any .NET developer producing code that other developers will use. It includes copious annotations to the guidelines by thirty-five prominent architects and practitioners of the .NET Framework, providing a lively discussion of the reasons for the guidelines as well as examples of when to break those guidelines. nbsp; Microsoft architects Krzysztof Cwalina and Brad Abrams teach framework design from the top down. From their significant combined experience and deep insight, you will learn The general philosophy and fundamental principles of framework design Naming guidelines for the various parts of a framework Guidelines for the design and extending of types and members of types Issues affecting-and guidelines for ensuring-extensibility How (and how not) to design exceptions Guidelines for-and examples of-common framework design patterns Guidelines in this book are presented in four major forms: Do, Consider, Avoid, and Do not. These directives help focus attention on practices that should always be used, those that should generally be used, those that should rarely be used, and those that should never be used. Every guideline includes a discussion of its applicability, and most include a code example to help illuminate the dialogue. nbsp; Framework Design Guidelines, Second Edition, is the only definitive source of best practices for managed code API development, direct from the architects themselves. nbsp; A companion DVD includes the Designing .NET Class Libraries video series, instructional presentations by the authors on design guidelines for developing classes and components that extend the .NET Framework. A sample API specification and other useful resources and tools are also included.
Inside the Microsoft Build Engine : using MSBuild and Team Foundation Build (eBook) by
As software complexity increases, proper build practices become ever more important. This essential reference-fully updated for Visual Studio 2010-drills inside MSBuild and shows you how to maximize your control over the build and deployment process. Learn how to customize and extend build processes with MSBuild-and scale them to the team, product, or enterprise level with Team Foundation Build.
Software Estimation (E-book) by
Often referred to as the OC black artOCO because of its complexity and uncertainty, software estimation is not as difficult or puzzling as people think. In fact, generating accurate estimates is straightforwardOCoonce you understand the art of creating them. In his highly anticipated book, acclaimed author Steve McConnell unravels the mystery to successful software estimationOCodistilling academic information and real-world experience into a practical guide for working software professionals. Instead of arcane treatises and rigid modeling techniques, this guide highlights a proven set of procedures, understandable formulas, and heuristics that individuals and development teams can apply to their projects to help achieve estimation proficiency. Discover how to: Estimate schedule and costOCoor estimate the functionality that can be delivered within a given time frameAvoid common software estimation mistakesLearn estimation techniques for you, your team, and your organization * Estimate specific project activitiesOCoincluding development, management, and defect correctionApply estimation approaches to any type of projectOCosmall or large, agile or traditionalNavigate the shark-infested political waters that surround project estimates When many corporate software projects are failing, McConnell shows you what works for successful software estimation."
CLR Via C#. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
Dig deep and master the intricacies of the common language runtime (CLR) and the .NET Framework 4.0. Written by a highly regarded programming expert and consultant to the Microsoft® .NET team, this guide is ideal for developers building any kind of application-including Microsoft® ASP.NET, Windows® Forms, Microsoft® SQL Server®, Web services, and console applications. You'll get hands-on instruction and extensive C# code samples to help you tackle the tough topics and develop high-performance applications.
Practical API design : confessions of a Java framework architect. (Print copy) by
You might think more than enough design books exist in the programming world already. In fact, there are so many that it makes sense to ask why you would read yet another. Is there really a need for yet another design book? In fact, there is a greater need than ever before, and Practical API Design: Confessions of a Java Framework Architect fills that need!
•Teaches you how to write an API that will stand the test of time
•Written by the designer of the NetBeans API at Sun Technologies
•Based on best practices, scalability, and API design patterns
Practical API design : confessions of a Java framework architect. (E-book) by
You might think more than enough design books exist in the programming world already. In fact, there are so many that it makes sense to ask why you would read yet another. Is there really a need for yet another design book? In fact, there is a greater need than ever before, and Practical API Design: Confessions of a Java Framework Architect fills that need!
•Teaches you how to write an API that will stand the test of time
•Written by the designer of the NetBeans API at Sun Technologies
•Based on best practices, scalability, and API design patterns
Software engineering. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
For courses in computer science and software engineering The Fundamental Practice of Software EngineeringSoftware Engineering introduces students to the overwhelmingly important subject of software programming and development. In the past few years, computer systems have come to dominate not just our technological growth, but the foundations of our world's major industries. This text seeks to lay out the fundamental concepts of this huge and continually growing subject area in a clear and comprehensive manner.The Tenth Edition contains new information that highlights various technological updates of recent years, providing students with highly relevant and current information. Sommerville's experience in system dependability and systems engineering guides the text through a traditional plan-based approach that incorporates some novel agile methods. The text strives to teach the innovators of tomorrow how to create software that will make our world a better, safer, and more advanced place to live.
This link will take you to your subject guide
