Processing : a programming handbook for visual designers and artists. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Casey Reas and Ben FryThe visual arts are rapidly changing as media moves into the web, mobile devices, and architecture. When designers and artists learn the basics of writing software, they develop a new form of literacy that enables them to create new media for the present, and to imagine future media that are beyond the capacities of current software tools. This book introduces this new literacy by teaching computer programming within the context of the visual arts. It offers a comprehensive reference and text for Processing (www.processing.org), an open-source programming language that can be used by students, artists, designers, architects, researchers, and anyone who wants to program images, animation, and interactivity. Written by Processing's cofounders, the book offers a definitive reference for students and professionals. Tutorial chapters make up the bulk of the book; advanced professional projects from such domains as animation, performance, and installation are discussed in interviews with their creators. This second edition has been thoroughly updated. It is the first book to offer in-depth coverage of Processing 2.0 and 3.0, and all examples have been updated for the new syntax. Every chapter has been revised, and new chapters introduce new ways to work with data and geometry. New "synthesis" chapters offer discussion and worked examples of such topics as sketching with code, modularity, and algorithms. New interviews have been added that cover a wider range of projects. "Extension" chapters are now offered online so they can be updated to keep pace with technological developments in such fields as computer vision and electronics. InterviewsSUE.C, Larry Cuba, Mark Hansen, Lynn Hershman Leeson, J#65533;rg Lehni, LettError, Golan Levin and Zachary Lieberman, Benjamin Maus, Manfred Mohr, Ash Nehru, Josh On, Bob Sabiston, Jennifer Steinkamp, Jared Tarbell, Steph Thirion, Robert Winter
Call Number: 006.6 REA
Publication Date: 2014
Essential C# 6. 0 (Print copy) by Mark Michaelis and Eric Lippert" Welcome to one of the greatest collaborations you could dream of in the world of C# books--and probably far beyond!" --From the Foreword by Mads Torgersen, C# Program Manager, Microsoft Essential C# 6.0 is a well-organized, no-fluff guide to the latest versions of C# for programmers at all levels of experience. Fully updated to reflect new C# 6.0 and .NET 4.6 features and patterns, it will help you write C# code that's simple, powerful, robust, secure, and maintainable. This book's authors are world-class C# experts: long-time Microsoft MVP and Regional Director Mark Michaelis and Eric Lippert, formerly principal developer on Microsoft's C# compiler team. Together, they cover the entire language, illustrating key constructs with succinct examples and offering a complete foundation for successful C# development. Essential C# 6.0 makes it easy to program with any version of C#, whether you're creating new code or maintaining existing systems. Separate indexes for C# versions 4, 5, and 6 help you quickly find version-specific answers with accompanying visual indicators that help you identify which language innovations will work when. This edition also includes a set of best-practice C# Coding Guidelines updated to leverage C# 6.0 constructs. Coverage includes Mastering C# data types, operators, control flow, methods, and parameters Using C# object-oriented constructs, including classes, inheritance, interfaces, and more--all with the significantly simplified syntax of C# 6.0 Working with well-formed value and reference types Implementing reliable, effective exception handling Reducing code complexity with generics, delegates, lambda expressions, and events (including a simplified C# 6.0 syntax for triggering events) Learning dynamic programming with reflection and attributes Querying diverse data collections using LINQ with query expressions Creating custom collections that operate against business objects Using collection interfaces and standard query operators to access .NET collections Understanding the Common Language Infrastructure and C# in the context of .NET 4.6 Taking advantage of declarative programming, embedded metadata, reflection, and attributes Mastering multithreading and synchronization, including the new async/await paradigm Using P/Invoke, pointers, and direct memory manipulation to interoperate with other languages Understanding how C# programs relate to the underlying runtime For Qualified Instructors An instructor's guide, exercises, and a slide deck are available to support your courses.
Call Number: 005.133 C#
Publication Date: 2016
Learning processing : a beginner's guide to programming images, animation, and interaction. 2nd edn.(Print Copy) by Daniel ShiffmanLearning Processing, Second Edition, is a friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages. Requiring no previous experience, this book is for the true programming beginner. It teaches the basic building blocks of programming needed to create cutting-edge graphics applications including interactive art, live video processing, and data visualization. Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code, supports your learning curve. A unique lab-style manual, the book gives graphic and web designers, artists, and illustrators of all stripes a jumpstart on working with the Processing programming environment by providing instruction on the basic principles of the language, followed by careful explanations of select advanced techniques. The book has been developed with a supportive learning experience at its core. From algorithms and data mining to rendering and debugging, it teaches object-oriented programming from the ground up within the fascinating context of interactive visual media. This book is ideal for graphic designers and visual artists without programming background who want to learn programming. It will also appeal to students taking college and graduate courses in interactive media or visual computing, and for self-study. A friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages No previous experience required-this book is for the true programming beginner! Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code supports your learning curve