Database principles : fundamentals of design, implementation, and management. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Carlos Coronel and Steven MorrisGive students a solid foundation in database design and implementation with the practical and easy-to-understand approach in DATABASE SYSTEMS: DESIGN, IMPLEMENTATION, AND MANAGEMENT, 12E. Filled with diagrams, illustrations, and tables, this market-leading text provides in-depth coverage of database design. Students learn the key to successful database implementation is the proper design of databases to fit within a larger strategic view of the data environment. This book combines a clear, straightforward writing style with an outstanding balance of theory and practice. Students gain the hands-on skills to make them attractive to employers. Updates include the latest coverage of cloud data services and a new chapter on Big Data Analytics and NoSQL, including related Hadoop technologies. In addition, new review questions, problem sets, and cases offer multiple opportunities for students to test their understanding and develop useful design skills.
Call Number: 005.74 COR
Publication Date: 2013
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Microsoft SQL Server 2012 T-SQL Fundamentals. (Print copy) by Itzik Ben-GanGain a solid understanding of T-SQL--and write better queries Master the fundamentals of Transact-SQL--and develop your own code for querying and modifying data in Microsoft SQL Server 2012. Led by a SQL Server expert, you'll learn the concepts behind T-SQL querying and programming, and then apply your knowledge with exercises in each chapter. Once you understand the logic behind T-SQL, you'll quickly learn how to write effective code--whether you're a programmer or database administrator. Discover how to: Work with programming practices unique to T-SQL Create database tables and define data integrity Query multiple tables using joins and subqueries Simplify code and improve maintainability with table expressions Implement insert, update, delete, and merge data modification strategies Tackle advanced techniques such as window functions, pivoting and grouping sets Control data consistency using isolation levels, and mitigate deadlocks and blocking Take T-SQL to the next level with programmable objects
Call Number: 005.7585 ITZ
Publication Date: 2012
Microsoft SQL Server 2014 unleashed. (Print copy) by Ray Rankins; Chris Gallelli and Alex T. Silverstein; Paul BertucciThe industry's most complete, useful, and up-to-date guide to SQL Server 2014. You'll find start-to-finish coverage of SQL Server's core database server and management capabilities: all the real-world information, tips, guidelines, and examples you'll need to install, monitor, maintain, and optimize the most complex database environments. The provided examples and sample code provide plenty of hands-on opportunities to learn more about SQL Server and create your own viable solutions. Four leading SQL Server experts present deep practical insights for administering SQL Server, analyzing and optimizing queries, implementing data warehouses, ensuring high availability, tuning performance, and much more. You will benefit from their behind-the-scenes look into SQL Server, showing what goes on behind the various wizards and GUI-based tools. You'll learn how to use the underlying SQL commands to fully unlock the power and capabilities of SQL Server. Writing for all intermediate-to-advanced-level SQL Server professionals, the authors draw on immense production experience with SQL Server. Throughout, they focus on successfully applying SQL Server 2014's most powerful capabilities and its newest tools and features. Detailed information on how to... Understand SQL Server 2014's new features and each edition's capabilities and licensing Install, upgrade to, and configure SQL Server 2014 for better performance and easier management Streamline and automate key administration tasks with Smart Admin Leverage powerful new backup/restore options: flexible backup to URL, Managed Backup to Windows Azure, and encrypted backups Strengthen security with new features for enforcing "least privilege" Improve performance with updateable columnstore indexes, Delayed Durability, and other enhancements Execute queries and business logic more efficiently with memoryoptimized tables, buffer pool extension, and natively-compiled stored procedures Control workloads and Disk I/O with the Resource Governor Deploy AlwaysOn Availability Groups and Failover Cluster Instances to achieve enterprise-class availability and disaster recovery Apply new Business Intelligence improvements in Master Data Services, data quality, and Parallel Data Warehouse