Game Coding Complete. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Welcome to Game Coding Complete, Fourth Edition, the newest edition of the essential, hands-on guide to developing commercial-quality games. Written by two veteran game programmers, the book examines the entire game development process and all the unique challenges associated with creating a game. In this excellent introduction to game architecture, you'll explore all the major subsystems of modern game engines and learn professional techniques used in actual games, as well as Teapot Wars, a game created specifically for this book. This updated fourth edition uses the latest versions of DirectX and Visual Studio, and it includes expanded chapter coverage of game actors, AI, shader programming, LUA scripting, the C# editor, and other important updates to every chapter. All the code and examples presented have been tested and used in commercial video games, and the book is full of invaluable best practices, professional tips and tricks, and cautionary advice.
Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 12 (Print copy) by
This updated bestseller provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12. The book is divided into three main parts: basic mathematical tools, fundamental tasks in Direct3D, and techniques and special effects. It shows how to use new Direct12 features such as command lists, pipeline state objects, descriptor heaps and tables, and explicit resource management to reduce CPU overhead and increase scalability across multiple CPU cores. The book covers modern special effects and techniques such as hardware tessellation, writing compute shaders, ambient occlusion, reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, and character animation. Includes a companion DVD with code and figures. eBook Customers: Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com. FEATURES: * Provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12 * Uses new Direct3D 12 features to reduce CPU overhead and take advantage of multiple CPU cores * Contains detailed explanations of popular real-time game effects * Includes a DVD with source code and all the images (including 4-color) from the book * Learn advance rendering techniques such as ambient occlusion, real-time reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, programming the geometry shader, and character animation * Covers a mathematics review and 3D rendering fundamentals such as lighting, texturing, blending and stenciling * Use the end-of-chapter exercises to test understanding and provide experience with DirectX 12
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques :a platform-agnostic approach (Print copy) by
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques is a detailed overview of many of the important algorithms and techniques used in video game programming today. Designed for programmers who are familiar with object-oriented programming and basic data structures, this book focuses on practical concepts that see actual use in the game industry. Sanjay Madhav takes a unique platform- and framework-agnostic approach that will help develop virtually any game, in any genre, with any language or framework. He presents the fundamental techniques for working with 2D and 3D graphics, physics, artificial intelligence, cameras, and much more. Each concept is illuminated with pseudocode that will be intuitive to any C#, Java, or C++ programmer, and has been refined and proven in Madhav's game programming courses at the University of Southern California. Review questions after each chapter help solidify the most important concepts before moving on. Madhav concludes with a detailed analysis of two complete games: a 2D iOS side-scroller (written in Objective-Cusing cocos2d) and a 3D PC/Mac/Linux tower defense game (written in C# using XNA/ MonoGame). These games illustrate many of the algorithms and techniques covered in the earlier chapters, and the full source code is available at gamealgorithms.net. Coverage includes Game time management, speed control, and ensuring consistency on diverse hardware Essential 2D graphics techniques for modern mobile gaming Vectors, matrices, and linear algebra for 3D games 3D graphics including coordinate spaces, lighting and shading, z-buffering, and quaternions Handling today's wide array of digital and analog inputs Sound systems including sound events, 3D audio, and digital signal processing Fundamentals of game physics, including collision detection and numeric integration Cameras: first-person, follow, spline, and more Artificial intelligence: pathfinding, state-based behaviors, and strategy/planning User interfaces including menu systems and heads-up displays Scripting and text-based data files: when, how, and where to use them Basics of networked games including protocols and network topology
Game Programming Patterns. (Print copy) by
The biggest challenge facing many game programmers is completing their game. Most game projects fizzle out, overwhelmed by the complexity of their own code. Game Programming Patterns tackles that exact problem. Based on years of experience in shipped AAA titles, this book collects proven patterns to untangle and optimize your game, organized as independent recipes so you can pick just the patterns you need. You will learn how to write a robust game loop, how to organize your entities using components, and take advantage of the CPUs cache to improve your performance. You'll dive deep into how scripting engines encode behavior, how quadtrees and other spatial partitions optimize your engine, and how other classic design patterns can be used in games.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
