Doing your research project. 6th edn. (Print copy) by 
Thesis Projects: a guide for students in computer science and information systems. (Print copy) by
You're a computing or information student with a huge mountain to climb - that final-year research project. Don't worry, because with this book guardian angels are at hand, in the form of four brilliant academics who will guide you through the process. The book provides you with all the tools necessary to successfully complete a final year research project. Based on an approach that has been tried and tested on over 500 projects, it offers a simple step-by-step guide to the key processes involved. Not only that, but the book also contains lots of useful information for supervisors and examiners including guidelines on how to review a final year project.
Planning and Implementing Your Final Year Project - With Success! by
Based on an approach which has been tried and tested on over 500 projects, this text provides computing and information students with the tools they need to successfully complete a final year research project. It offers a simple step-by-step guide to the key processes involved: developing your project proposal; developing the problem description; following objectives; presenting and analysing your data; drawing conclusions; presenting and defending your work; and preparing the final version of your report. The work is intended for students but also contains information for supervisors and examiners, including guidelines on how to review a final year project.
How to Research.4th edn. (Print copy). by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Research Methods in Education. 8th edn (Print copy) by
This thoroughly updated eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references. #65533; The eighth edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using qualitative comparative analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education, eighth edition, is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice datasets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen
Project Research in Information Systems: a students guide> 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Aimed at final year undergraduates and Masters students undertaking research projects in information systems, this text offers a blend of practical guidelines and conceptual insight that will help students to complete high quality projects. Covering the whole range of processes in project work, from choosing a project, through project management, the collecting and analyzing of research data and on to writing the project report, the book provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the subject.
Doing a Successful Research Project: using qualitative and quatitative methods. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Carrying out a research project is a daunting task, presenting you with deadline anxieties, unfamiliar language and practical dilemmas. This book is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully - akin to having a tutor at your side. Doing a Successful Research Project: * offers an accessible introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods * takes you through the entire research process from planning to write-up * includes extensive real-life examples of good and bad research practice The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook, containing further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more, provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies.
Introduction to Research Methods: a practical guide for anyone undertaking a research project. 4th edn. (E-book) by 
Introduction to Research Methods: a practical guide for anyone undertaking a research project. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: - choose your research methods - choose your participants - prepare a research proposal - construct questionnaires - conduct interviews and focus groups - analyse your data - report your findings - be an ethical researcher. Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
Statistical Methods for Organizational Research: theory and practice. (E-book) by
This clearly written textbook clarifies the concepts underpinning descriptive and inferential statistics in organizational research. Acting as much more than a theoretical reference tool, step-by-step it guides readers through the various key stages of successful data analysis. Covering everything from introductory descriptive statistics to advanced inferential techniques such as ANOVA, multiple and logistic regression and factor analysis, this is one of the most comprehensive textbooks available. Using examples directly relevant to organizational research it includes practical advice on such topics as the size of samples required in research studies, using and interpreting SPSS, and writing up results. In helping readers to develop a sound understanding of statistical methods, rather than focusing on complex formulas and computations, this outstanding textbook is as appropriate for those who wish to refresh their knowledge as those new to the subject area.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Project Research in Information Systems: a students guide> 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Aimed at final year undergraduates and Masters students undertaking research projects in information systems, this text offers a blend of practical guidelines and conceptual insight that will help students to complete high quality projects. Covering the whole range of processes in project work, from choosing a project, through project management, the collecting and analyzing of research data and on to writing the project report, the book provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the subject.
Ethical and Social Issues in the Information Age. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
The frequency of new editions of this book is indicative of the rapid and trem- dous changes in the fields of computer and information sciences. First published in 1995, the book has rapidly gone through three editions already and now we are in the fourth. Over this period, we have become more dependent on computer and telecommunication technology than ever before and computer technology has become ubiquitous. Since I started writing on social computing, I have been ad- cating a time when we, as individuals and as nations, will become totally dependent on computing technology. That time is almost on us. Evidence of this is embodied in the rapid convergence of telecommunication, broadcasting, and computing devices; the miniaturization of these devices; and the ever increasing storage capacity , speed of computation, and ease of use. These qualities have been a big pulling force sucking in millions of new users every day, sometimes even those unwilling. Other appealing features of these devices are the increasing number of applications, apps, as they are increasingly becoming known, and being wireless and easily portable. Whether small or big, these new gizmos have become the c- terpiece of an individual's social and economic activities and the main access point for all information. Individuals aside, computing technology has also become the engine that drives the nations' strategic and security infrastructures that control power grids, gas and oil storage facilities, transportation, and all forms of national communication, including emergency services.
Writing Your Dissertation (3rd edn. Print copy) by
Gives you the tools to produce a first class dissertation This book gives you the confidence, tools and techniques to produce a first-class dissertation. It offers practical guidelines to planning realistic timetables and structuring every aspect of your work. Find out how to avoid common mistakes and the best way to present your work, and even how to assess your dissertation in the same way as a university or college tutor does.
Software engineering. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
For courses in computer science and software engineering The Fundamental Practice of Software EngineeringSoftware Engineering introduces students to the overwhelmingly important subject of software programming and development. In the past few years, computer systems have come to dominate not just our technological growth, but the foundations of our world's major industries. This text seeks to lay out the fundamental concepts of this huge and continually growing subject area in a clear and comprehensive manner.The Tenth Edition contains new information that highlights various technological updates of recent years, providing students with highly relevant and current information. Sommerville's experience in system dependability and systems engineering guides the text through a traditional plan-based approach that incorporates some novel agile methods. The text strives to teach the innovators of tomorrow how to create software that will make our world a better, safer, and more advanced place to live.
Software engineering: a practitioners approach 8th edn. (THIS BOOK IS CURRENTLY ON ORDER) by 
Researching Higher Education. (Print copy) by
"The first edition of Researching Higher Education has been a very helpful resource for those trying to make sense of the field of higher education. Malcolm Tight has accomplished a tour de force by updating and expanding that edition. This volume includes up-to-date analyses of recent higher education publications and thoughtful reflections on methodology and theory in higher education research. Requisite reading for novices to the field, but also for the experienced researchers trying to keep abreast of the developments in the field." Professor Jeroen Huisman, Director International Centre for Higher Education Management, School of Management, University of Bath, UK "The most comprehensive overview of research on higher education available, Researching Higher Education provides a multidisciplinary perspective of the field. This book will be valuable for students thinking about research as well as anyone wanting a perspective on research directions on higher education." Philip G. Altbach, Monan Professor of Higher Education, Director, Center for International Higher Education, Boston College, USA This authoritative book couples an overview of the principal current areas of research into higher education with a guide to the processes involved in undertaking such research. Comprehensively updated throughout, this new edition examines the current state of higher education research with brand new case studies and has been expanded to include North American work. The book also includes: Analysis of published research by topic, method, theory and level Detailed discussion of selected examples of published research Suggestions on under-researched topics Guidance on publication outlets Consideration is given to research design and questions, funding, progressing research projects, publication and dissemination. Researching Higher Education will be of value to students and academics researching the higher education experience as well as appealing to experienced researchers seeking an overview or insights into new areas and alternative methods.
Dissertation skills for business and management students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by 