Cryptography. (Print copy) by Fred Piper; Sean MurphyThis Very Short Introduction provides a clear and informative introduction to the science of codebreaking, and its explosive impact on modern society. Taking the reader through the actual processes of developing codes and deciphering them, the book explains what algorithms do, how they are used, the risks associated with using them, and why governments should be concerned. Written in a fluid and lively style to appeal to the non-mathematical reader, this makes for fascinating reading.
Call Number: 005.82 PIP
Publication Date: 2002
Principles of Information Security. 6th edn (Print copy) by Michael Whitman; Herbert MattordMaster the latest technology and developments from the field with the book specifically oriented to the needs of information systems students like you -- PRINCIPLES OF INFORMATION SECURITY, 6E. Taking a managerial approach, this bestseller emphasizes all aspects of information security, rather than just a technical control perspective. You receive a broad overview of the entire field of information security and related elements with the detail to ensure understanding. You review terms used in the field and a history of the discipline as you learn how to manage an information security program. Current and relevant, this edition highlights the latest practices with fresh examples that explore the impact of emerging technologies, such as the Internet of Things, Cloud Computing, and DevOps. Updates address technical security controls, emerging legislative issues, digital forensics, and ethical issues in IS security, making this the ideal IS resource for business decision makers.
Call Number: 005.8 WHI
Publication Date: 2017
Counter Hack Reloaded by Ed Skoudis; Tom Liston“I finally get it! I used to hear words like rootkit, buffer overflow, and idle scanning, and they just didn’t make any sense. I asked other people and they didn’t seem to know how these things work, or at least they couldn’t explain them in a way that I could understand. Counter Hack Reloaded is the clearest explanation of these tools I have ever seen. Thank you!” —Stephen Northcutt, CEO, SANS Institute “Ed Skoudis does it again! With this new edition, Ed takes a phenomenal work to the next level! This book is a ‘must-have’ and a ‘must-read’ for anyone remotely associated with computers and computer security.” —Harlan Carvey, CISSP, author of Windows Forensics and Incident Recovery “Ed Skoudis is a rare individual. He knows the innards of all the various systems, knows all the latest exploits and defenses, and yet is able to explain everything at just the right level. The first edition of Counter Hack was a fascinating read. It’s technically intriguing and very clear. . . . A book on vulnerabilities, though, will get out of date, and so we definitely needed this updated and significantly rewritten second edition. This book is a wonderful overview of the field.” —From the Foreword by Radia Perlman, series editor, The Radia Perlman Series in Computer Networking and Security; author of Interconnections; and coauthor of Network Security: Private Communications in a Public World “What a great partnership! Ed Skoudis and Tom Liston share an uncanny talent for explaining even the most challenging security concepts in a clear and enjoyable manner. Counter Hack Reloaded is an indispensable resource for those who want to improve their defenses and understand the mechanics of computer attacks.” —Lenny Zeltser, coauthor of Malware: Fighting Malicious Code “Ed Skoudis does it again! With this new edition, Ed takes a phenomenal work to the next level! This book is a ‘must-have’ and a ‘must-read’ for anyone remotely associated with computers and computer security.” —Harlan Carvey, CISSP, author of Windows Forensics and Incident Recovery“In addition to having breadth of knowledge about and probing insights into network security, Ed Skoudis’s real strength is in his ability to show complex topics in an understandable form. By the time he’s done, what started off as a hopeless conglomeration of acronyms starts to sound comfortable and familiar. This book is your best source for understanding attack strategies, attack tools, and the defenses against both.” —William Stearns, network security expert, www.stearns.org “This book is a must-have for anyone in the Internet security game. It covers everything from the basic principles to the fine details of online attack methods and counter-strategies and is very engagingly written.” —Warwick Ford, coauthor of Secure Electronic Commerce For years, Counter Hack has been the primary resource for every network/system administrator and security professional who needs a deep, hands-on understanding of hacker attacks and countermeasures. Now, leading network security expert Ed Skoudis, with Tom Liston, has thoroughly updated this best-selling guide, showing how to defeat today’s newest, most sophisticated, and most destructive attacks. For this second edition, more than half the content is new and updated, including coverage of the latest hacker techniques for scanning networks, gaining and maintaining access, and preventing detection. The authors walk you through each attack and demystify every tool and tactic. You’ll learn exactly how to establish effective defenses, recognize attacks in progress, and respond quickly and effectively in both UNIX/Linux and Windows environments. Important features of this new edition include All-new “anatomy-of-an-attack” scenarios and tools An all-new section on wireless hacking: war driving, wireless sniffing attacks, and more Fully updated coverage of reconnaissance tools, including Nmap port scanning and “Google hacking” New coverage of tools for gaining access, including uncovering Windows and Linux vulnerabilities with Metasploit New information on dangerous, hard-to-detect, kernel-mode rootkits
Call Number: 005.8 SKO
Publication Date: 2005
Elementary Information Security. by Richard E. SmithEach new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Elementary Information Security is certified to comply fully with the NSTISSI 4011: the federal training standard for information security professionals. See a detailed topic matching spreadsheet under the Additional Resources tab below. An ideal text for introductory information security courses, the second edition of Elementary Information Security provides a comprehensive yet easy-to-understand introduction to the complex world of cybersecurity and technology. Thoroughly updated with recently reported cybersecurity incidents, this essential text enables students to gain direct experience by analyzing security problems and practicing simulated security activities. Emphasizing learning through experience, Elementary Information Security, Second Edition addresses technologies and cryptographic topics progressing from individual computers to more complex Internet-based systems. Key Features of the Updated Second Edition Include: * Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more * Use of the nationally recognized NIST Risk Management Framework to illustrate the cybersecurity process * Comprehensive coverage and full compliance of all topics required for U.S. government courseware certification NSTISSI 4011 * Presents security issues through simple business-oriented case studies to make cybersecurity technology and problem-solving interesting and relevant * Provides tutorial material on the computing technologies that underlie the security problems and solutions * Available in our customizable PUBLISH platform