Game Coding Complete. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Welcome to Game Coding Complete, Fourth Edition, the newest edition of the essential, hands-on guide to developing commercial-quality games. Written by two veteran game programmers, the book examines the entire game development process and all the unique challenges associated with creating a game. In this excellent introduction to game architecture, you'll explore all the major subsystems of modern game engines and learn professional techniques used in actual games, as well as Teapot Wars, a game created specifically for this book. This updated fourth edition uses the latest versions of DirectX and Visual Studio, and it includes expanded chapter coverage of game actors, AI, shader programming, LUA scripting, the C# editor, and other important updates to every chapter. All the code and examples presented have been tested and used in commercial video games, and the book is full of invaluable best practices, professional tips and tricks, and cautionary advice.
This link will take you to your subject guide
Games As a Service : how free2play design can make better games (Print copy) by
The games industry is serious business and the role of a games designer has dramatically changed over just the last few years. Developers now have to rethink everything they know about the creative, technical and business challenges to adapt to the transition to games as a service. Games as a Service: How Free to Play Design Can Make Better Gameshas been written to help designers overcome many of the fears and misconceptions surrounding freemium and social games. It provides a framework to deliver better games rather than the 'evil' or 'manipulative' experiences some designers fear with the move away from wasteful Products to sustainable, trustworthy Services. Oscar Clarkis a consultant and Evangelist for Everyplay from Applifier. 　He has been a pioneer in online, mobile and console social games services　since 1998 including Wireplay (British Telecom), Hutchison Whampoa (3UK) and PlayStation#65533;Home. He is a regular　columnist on PocketGamer.Biz and is　an　outspoken speaker and moderator at countless games conferences on Games Design, Discovery,　and Monetisation. 　He is also a notorious hat wearer.
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques : a platform-agnostic approach (Print copy) by
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques is a detailed overview of many of the important algorithms and techniques used in video game programming today. Designed for programmers who are familiar with object-oriented programming and basic data structures, this book focuses on practical concepts that see actual use in the game industry. Sanjay Madhav takes a unique platform- and framework-agnostic approach that will help develop virtually any game, in any genre, with any language or framework. He presents the fundamental techniques for working with 2D and 3D graphics, physics, artificial intelligence, cameras, and much more. Each concept is illuminated with pseudocode that will be intuitive to any C#, Java, or C++ programmer, and has been refined and proven in Madhav's game programming courses at the University of Southern California. Review questions after each chapter help solidify the most important concepts before moving on. Madhav concludes with a detailed analysis of two complete games: a 2D iOS side-scroller (written in Objective-Cusing cocos2d) and a 3D PC/Mac/Linux tower defense game (written in C# using XNA/ MonoGame). These games illustrate many of the algorithms and techniques covered in the earlier chapters, and the full source code is available at gamealgorithms.net. Coverage includes Game time management, speed control, and ensuring consistency on diverse hardware Essential 2D graphics techniques for modern mobile gaming Vectors, matrices, and linear algebra for 3D games 3D graphics including coordinate spaces, lighting and shading, z-buffering, and quaternions Handling today's wide array of digital and analog inputs Sound systems including sound events, 3D audio, and digital signal processing Fundamentals of game physics, including collision detection and numeric integration Cameras: first-person, follow, spline, and more Artificial intelligence: pathfinding, state-based behaviors, and strategy/planning User interfaces including menu systems and heads-up displays Scripting and text-based data files: when, how, and where to use them Basics of networked games including protocols and network topology
Game Engine Architecture. 2nd edn (Print copy) by
Hailed as a "must-have textbook" (CHOICE, January 2010), the first edition of Game Engine Architectureprovided readers with a complete guide to the theory and practice of game engine software development. Updating the content to match today's landscape of game engine architecture, this second edition continues to thoroughly cover the major components that make up a typical commercial game engine. New to the Second Edition Information on new topics, including the latest variant of the C++ programming language, C++11, and the architecture of the eighth generation of gaming consoles, the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 New chapter on audio technology covering the fundamentals of the physics, mathematics, and technology that go into creating an AAA game audio engine Updated sections on multicore programming, pipelined CPU architecture and optimization, localization, pseudovectors and Grassman algebra, dual quaternions, SIMD vector math, memory alignment, and anti-aliasing Insight into the making of Naughty Dog's latest hit, The Last of Us The book presents the theory underlying various subsystems that comprise a commercial game engine as well as the data structures, algorithms, and software interfaces that are typically used to implement them. It primarily focuses on the engine itself, including a host of low-level foundation systems, the rendering engine, the collision system, the physics simulation, character animation, and audio. An in-depth discussion on the "gameplay foundation layer" delves into the game's object model, world editor, event system, and scripting system. The text also touches on some aspects of gameplay programming, including player mechanics, cameras, and AI. An awareness-building tool and a jumping-off point for further learning, Game Engine Architecture, Second Editiongives readers a solid understanding of both the theory and common practices employed within each of the engineering disciplines covered. The book will help readers on their journey through this fascinating and multifaceted field.
Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 12 (Print copy) by
This updated bestseller provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12. The book is divided into three main parts: basic mathematical tools, fundamental tasks in Direct3D, and techniques and special effects. It shows how to use new Direct12 features such as command lists, pipeline state objects, descriptor heaps and tables, and explicit resource management to reduce CPU overhead and increase scalability across multiple CPU cores. The book covers modern special effects and techniques such as hardware tessellation, writing compute shaders, ambient occlusion, reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, and character animation. Includes a companion DVD with code and figures. eBook Customers: Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com. FEATURES: * Provides an introduction to programming interactive computer graphics, with an emphasis on game development using DirectX 12 * Uses new Direct3D 12 features to reduce CPU overhead and take advantage of multiple CPU cores * Contains detailed explanations of popular real-time game effects * Includes a DVD with source code and all the images (including 4-color) from the book * Learn advance rendering techniques such as ambient occlusion, real-time reflections, normal and displacement mapping, shadow rendering, programming the geometry shader, and character animation * Covers a mathematics review and 3D rendering fundamentals such as lighting, texturing, blending and stenciling * Use the end-of-chapter exercises to test understanding and provide experience with DirectX 12
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques : a platform-agnostic approach (Print copy) by
Game Programming Algorithms and Techniques is a detailed overview of many of the important algorithms and techniques used in video game programming today. Designed for programmers who are familiar with object-oriented programming and basic data structures, this book focuses on practical concepts that see actual use in the game industry. Sanjay Madhav takes a unique platform- and framework-agnostic approach that will help develop virtually any game, in any genre, with any language or framework. He presents the fundamental techniques for working with 2D and 3D graphics, physics, artificial intelligence, cameras, and much more. Each concept is illuminated with pseudocode that will be intuitive to any C#, Java, or C++ programmer, and has been refined and proven in Madhav's game programming courses at the University of Southern California. Review questions after each chapter help solidify the most important concepts before moving on. Madhav concludes with a detailed analysis of two complete games: a 2D iOS side-scroller (written in Objective-Cusing cocos2d) and a 3D PC/Mac/Linux tower defense game (written in C# using XNA/ MonoGame). These games illustrate many of the algorithms and techniques covered in the earlier chapters, and the full source code is available at gamealgorithms.net. Coverage includes Game time management, speed control, and ensuring consistency on diverse hardware Essential 2D graphics techniques for modern mobile gaming Vectors, matrices, and linear algebra for 3D games 3D graphics including coordinate spaces, lighting and shading, z-buffering, and quaternions Handling today's wide array of digital and analog inputs Sound systems including sound events, 3D audio, and digital signal processing Fundamentals of game physics, including collision detection and numeric integration Cameras: first-person, follow, spline, and more Artificial intelligence: pathfinding, state-based behaviors, and strategy/planning User interfaces including menu systems and heads-up displays Scripting and text-based data files: when, how, and where to use them Basics of networked games including protocols and network topology
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
