Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Building Services Engineering. 6th edn. (Print copy) by Engineering services within buildings account for ongoing energy use, greenhouse gas contribution and life safety provisions. This fully updated sixth edition of David Chadderton's leading textbook is the perfect preparation for those intending to enter this increasingly important field. Chapters addressing heating, climate change, air conditioning, transportation systems, water, gas, electricity, drainage and room acoustics cover all the key responsibilities of the building services engineer. As well as introductory material and the underpinning theory, practical guidance is provided in the form of sample calculations and spreadsheets. New material includes: trends and recent applications in lowering the energy use by mechanical and electrical services systems, heating, cooling and lighting of buildings case studies modelled from post-occupancy reports to provide realistic discussion topics examples of the use of photovoltaic solar panels, chilled beams, under floor air distribution, labyrinths, ground-sourced heat pumps, district heating and cooling, energy performance certificates, energy auditing and wind turbines outlines of the concepts of global warming, carbon trading and zero carbon buildings. exercises in each chapter and online self-study questions. A significantly expanded companion site offers over 1,000 self-test questions, powerpoint slides for lecturers, and an instructors' manual, enabling the rapid generation of lectures, assignments, and tests. This is the ideal textbook for students of building services engineering, as well as a comprehensive guide for those about to start work.
Call Number: 696 CHA
Publication Date: 2013
Heat transfer. 10th edn. (Print copy) by As one of the most popular heat transfer texts, Jack Holman's "Heat Transfer" is noted for its clarity, accessible approach, and inclusion of many examples and problem sets. The new tenth edition retains the straight-forward, to-the-point writing style while covering both analytical and empirical approaches to the subject. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on physical understanding while, at the same time, relying on meaningful experimental data in those situations that do not permit a simple analytical solution. New examples and templates provide students with updated resources for computer-numerical solutions.
Publication Date: 2009
Sound Insulation. (Print copy) by Sound insulation is an important aspect of building performance. This book is a comprehensive guide to sound and vibration theory and its application to the measurement and prediction of sound insulation in buildings. It enables the reader to tackle a wide range of issues relating to sound insulation during the design and construction stages of a building, and to solve problems in existing buildings. The book has been written for engineers, consultants, building designers, students in acoustics, researchers and those involved in the manufacture and design of building products. Key aspects are that it: * Explains the fundamental theory using examples that show its direct application to buildings * Guides the reader through the links between measurement and theory * Explains concepts that are important for the application, interpretation and understanding of guidance documents, test reports, product data sheets, published papers, regulations and Standards * Makes direct reference to ISO and EN Standards on sound insulation * Contains a large number of illustrations showing measurements, predictions and example calculations for quick reference Carl Hopkins previously worked on building acoustics and environmental noise at the Building Research Establishment. During this time he was involved with sound insulation in research, consultancy, standardization, and building regulations as well as being an advisor on acoustics to government departments. He is currently a Senior Lecturer at the University of Liverpool within the Acoustics Research Unit of the School of Architecture.
Call Number: 693.834 HOP
Publication Date: 2007
Building Services design for energy efficient buildings. (Print copy) by The role and influence of building services engineers is undergoing rapid change and is pivotal to achieving low-carbon buildings. However, textbooks in the field have largely focused on the detailed technicalities of HVAC systems, often with little wider context. This book addresses that need by embracing a contemporary understanding of energy efficiency imperatives, together with a strategic approach to the key design issues impacting upon carbon performance, in a concise manner. The key conceptual design issues for planning the principal systems that influence energy efficiency are examined in detail. In addition, the following issues are addressed in turn: Background issues for sustainability and the design process Developing a strategic approach to energy-efficient design How to undertake load assessments System comparison and selection Space planning for services Post-occupancy evaluation of completed building services In order to deliver sustainable buildings, a new perspective is needed amongst building and services engineering designers, from the outset of the conceptual design stage and throughout the whole design process. In this book, students and practitioners alike will find the ideal introduction to this new approach.
Publication Date: 2013
Fluid mechanics. 8th edn. (Print copy) by The eighth edition of Fluid Mechanics offers students a clear and comprehensive presentation of the material that demonstrates the progression from physical concepts to engineering applications. The book helps students to see the practical importance of fluid mechanics fundamentals. The wide variety of topics gives instructors many options for their course and is a useful resource to students long after graduation. The problem-solving approach is presented at the start of the book and carefully integrated in all examples. Students can progress from general examples to those involving design, multiple steps, and computerusage
Call Number: 620.106 WHI
Publication Date: 2016
Environmental Science in Buildings. 8th edn. (Print copy) by Environmental Science in Building covers the science, technology and services that relate to the comfort of humans and the environmental performance of buildings. The new edition of this well-established text continues with and improves the environmental narrative based on appropriate principles and technologies such as carbon, lifetime performance and ratings schemes. It also expands the building services content with new coverage of equipment options, specifications and performance implications.
Publication Date: 2017
Building Services Handbook: incorporating current building and construction regulations. 9th edn. (Print copy) by The ninth edition of Hall and Greeno's leading textbook has been reviewed and updated in relation to the latest building and water regulations, new technology, and new legislation. For this edition, new updates includes: the reappraisal of CO2 emissions targets, updates to sections on ventilation, fuel, A/C, refrigeration, water supply, electricity and power supply, sprinkler systems, and much more. Building Services Handbook summarises the application of all common elements of building services practice, technique and procedure, to provide an essential information resource for students as well as practitioners working in building services, building management and the facilities administration and maintenance sectors of the construction industry. Information is presented in the highly illustrated and accessible style of the best-selling companion title Building Construction Handbook. THE comprehensive reference for all construction and building services students, Building Services Handbook is ideal for a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National through Higher National Certificate and Diploma to Foundation and three-year Degree level. The clear illustrations and complementary references to industry Standards combine essential guidance with a resource base for further reading and development of specific topics.
Publication Date: 2017
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library