Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding JCT Standard Building Contracts (Print copy) by This tenth edition of David Chappell's bestselling guide has been revised to take into account changes made in 2016 to payment provisions, and elsewhere. This remains the most concise guide available to the most commonly used JCT building contracts: Standard Building Contract with quantities, 2016 (SBC16), Intermediate Building Contract 2016 (IC16), Intermediate Building Contract with contractor's design 2016 (ICD16), Minor Works Building Contract 2016 (MW11), Minor Works Building Contract with contractor's design 2016 (MWD16) and Design and Build Contract 2016 (DB16). Chappell avoids legal jargon but writes with authority and precision. Architects, quantity surveyors, contractors and students of these professions will find this a practical and affordable reference tool arranged by topic.
Publication Date: 2017
Architect's Legal Handbook (Print copy) by Architect's Legal Handbookis the most widely used reference on the law for architects in practice, and the established leading textbook on law for architectural students. The ninth edition includes all the latest development in the law that affect an architect's work, and comprehensive coverage of relevant UK law topics. Most significantly, the chapter on the JCT contracts has been completely revised to cover the 2005 update. Key features of this edition are: contributions by the foremost legal and architectural experts in the UK full coverage of the JCT 2005 update new chapter on procurement selected bibliography provides useful references to further reading tables of cases, statutes and statutory instruments provide full referencing for cited cases. Architect's Legal Handbookis the essential legal reference work for all architects and students of architecture.
Call Number: 343.07872 SPE
Publication Date: 2010
Architect's Legal Handbook (E-book) by Architect's Legal Handbook is the most widely used reference on the law for architects in practice, and the established leading textbook on law for architectural students. The ninth edition includes all the latest development in the law that affect an architect's work, and comprehensive coverage of relevant UK law topics. Most significantly, the chapter on the JCT contracts has been completely revised to cover the 2005 update. Contributions by the foremost legal and architectural experts in the UK Full coverage of the JCT 2005 update New chapter on procurement Selected bibliography provides useful references to further reading Tables of Cases, Statutes and Statutory Instruments provide full referencing for cited cases Architect's Legal Handbook is the essential legal reference work for all architects and students of architecture.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010
Koffman and Macdonald's Law of Contract. by Koffman and Macdonald's Law of Contract provides a clear and comprehensive account of the principles of contract law, with the authors breaking down difficult concepts whilst maintaining academic rigour.Case summaries, extracts and analyses show students how the law works in practice, giving them essential knowledge of the key cases in the area, whilst helping to refine important case-reading skills.Online resourcesThis book is accompanied by online resources, including: a selection of web links to help you in your study; guidance on answering problem questions; additional chapters covering capacity and the law of restitution; and an updates section, which covers the key developments in the law.
Call Number: 346.022 MAC
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
JCT 2005: clause by clause. (Print copy) by * Uses a novel clause-by-clause approach to explain the important JCT 2005 contract * Written by an experienced author, explaining in simple English the meaning and relevance of each clause to avoid common misunderstandings * Includes up-to-date legal cases that explain the development and interpretation of the contract The Joint Contracts Tribunal#65533;s suite of contracts (commonly known as JCT 2005) are the most commonly used in the UK to procure major building work. Understanding the contracts, and which to use, is vital knowledge for all students on construction-related HND or degree courses, but these clauses can contain convoluted language, leading to confusion. This easy-to-follow guide takes the reader through the JCT 2005 building contracts clause by clause, in an easy-to-follow format, in simple but effective language that eliminates misinterpretation. Spilt into 3 sections, this book provides a summary of the current JCT Contracts, identifying which to use for what type of work, along with an analysis of their risk, liability, documentation, design responsibility and financial procedures, ensuring that JCT 2005 Building Contract: clause by clause is the vital, definitive reference for the aspiring construction professional. Phil Griffiths is a lecturer at Nottingham Trent University with interests in contract administration, finance and project management. He graduated from Nottingham Trent Polytechnic in 1971 and worked as a quantity surveyor in local authority and a medium sized construction company. He also spent some time as a director of a small construction company and is a freelance estimator.
Call Number: 692.8 GRI
Publication Date: 2009
Understanding the NEC4 ECC Contract : a practical handbook. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by As usage of the NEC family of contracts continues to grow worldwide, so does the importance of understanding its clauses and nuances to everyone working in the built environment. Understanding the NEC4 ECC Contract uses plain English to lead the reader through the NEC4 Engineering and Construction Contract's key features. Chapters cover: The Contractor's main responsibilities the use of early warnings Contractor's design Tendering Quality management Payment Liabilities and insurance Termination Avoiding and resolving disputes and much more. Common problems experienced when using the Engineering and Construction Contract are signaled to the reader throughout, and the correct way of reading each clause explained. The way the contract effects procurement processes, dispute resolution, project management, and risk management are all addressed in order to direct the user to best practice. Written for construction professionals, by a practicing international construction contract consultant, this handbook is the most straightforward, balanced and practical guide to the NEC4 ECC available. An ideal companion for employers, contractors, project managers, supervisors, engineers, architects, quantity surveyors, subcontractors, and anyone else interested in working successfully with the NEC4 ECC.
Call Number: 692.8 HUG
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Business Law. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Business Law offers comprehensive coverage of the key aspects of business law that is easy to understand for both law and non-law students. Established legal topics such as the English Legal System, Contract, Consumer, Company and Employment Law, as well as emerging areas such as Health and Safety and Environmental Law, are considered as they apply to business. This edition also includes coverage of the now essential field of Intellectual Property, written by Janice Denoncourt. The work has been thoroughly updated to include all the recent major developments in the law, such as the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and the Small Business, Enterprise and Employment Act 2015 together with important cases that have been decided in the period since the last edition. Mention, of course is made of Brexit, although as yet its outcome and consequences remain uncertain. Key learning features include: Law in context boxes that contextualise each chapter#65533;s topic within the Business environment; diagrams and tables to illustrate key principles; updated key case boxes that highlight landmark cases for easy reference; revision summaries at the end of each chapter to help clarify the key points for each topic; an attractive two-colour text design that aids easy understanding and quick referencing; an up-to-date and easy-to-use companion website with additional features to further your learning and track your progress. Business Law offers a topical overview of this subject in an accessible style suited to both law and business studies undergraduates.
Publication Date: 2017
Galbraith's Construction and Land Management Law for Students. 7th edn. (Print copy) by Ideal for students taking law modules on construction, surveying, real estate, planning and civil engineering courses, Galbraith's Construction and Land Management Law for Students is an excellent overview of the key legal issues in the built environment. Clearly written and with wide ranging coverage of key legal principles, this textbook highlights the need for students on built environment related courses to access information on how the law relates to their profession, without getting into the heavy detail of the full-scale legal texts. Chapters provide the background to the English legal system before covering key topics such as contract law, tort, health and safety, land law, planning, landlord and tenant, dispute resolution and employment law. All chapters in this seventh edition have been updated with new case law along with statutory and regulatory changes. The improvements include: A new chapter on environmental law An explanation of the new UK/EU relationship following Brexit Details of current JCT 2016 and NEC4 construction contracts Changes to landlords' requirements on letting property The Consumer Rights Act 2015 The Localism Act 2011 The Construction (Design and Management) Regulations 2015
Call Number: 343.07869 SIL
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
This link will take you to your module guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library