Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Building Surveys. 8th edn. (Print copy) by Building Surveyshas been a trusted guide for both students and professionals for over 30 years, evolving throughout its eight editions to address the challenges and responsibilities of the building surveying role. It covers everything needed for initial inspections such as equipment, know-how and procedures to writing an accurate report, making it indispensable to those practicing in or studying this field. This updated eighth edition features new material on modern methods of construction, and the drive for green homes. Essential reading for building construction students, professional surveyors, and others who may be required to inspect and report on buildings. Illustrated throughout with colour photos showing examples of building defects in full detail. All the structural aspects of property surveying are explained, covering foundations, walls and roofs as well as what to look out for, and how to deal with problems. Materials and techniques no longer in use are covered as well as new technologies, so the reader is prepared for anything they might encounter. Legal considerations and recent cases are also used to illustrate good working practice, making this an extremely practical companion to the subject.
Publication Date: 2013
Surveying buildings. 5th edn. (Print copy) by The fifth edition of this classic surveying text has been thoroughly reviewed and revised by its author, Malcolm Hollis to reflect recent legislation and RICS best practice. It is full of practical advice based on Malcolm Hollis' experience of thousands of real-life surveys. This newly updated version, the first in five years, sets the scene for the much-discussed changes to the home-buying process. It also reflects on the impact that recent events - such as glass failures in landmark buildings, SARS and the 9/11 disaster have had on building surveying practices. This updated version now contains: 100 new photographs; New case studies; A brand new chapter on identifying typical UK house types and their common defects.; Rewritten chapters on: Reporting - which reviews current and forthcoming survey requirements; Dampness - which draws together a wealth of good advice and detailed illustrations in one place Decoration and external failures; Added material including: Timber-framed dwellings are covered in more detail with new photographs to illustrate current buildings trends; Asbestos updates including a table assessing risk in buildings; Updated advice on the passage of sound, buildings on brownfield sites, access for people with disabilities, and health in the indoor environment. Written in a lively style and packed with colour photographs, diagrams and charts, Surveying Buildings is an essential companion to any building inspection. It will help practising surveyors and students understand: What to look for - How to interpret what they see - How to write an accurate report The text is full of technical insights and facts and figures, and points are illuminated by numerous photographs. Hollis discusses surveying errors based on real-life examples and guides the experienced surveyors as well as students on best-practice in order to reduce risk.
Call Number: 692 HOL
Publication Date: 2005
Surveying for construction. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Surveying for Construction, 5e" is an essential textbook for students of engineering new to surveying, and will also appeal to students of building and environmental studies and archeology. Offering a strong grounding in land and construction surveying, the authors clearly and comprehensively guide the reader through the principles, methods and equipment used in modern-day surveying. Taking into account recent advances in the field, the material has been fully updated and revised throughout including new and up-to-date coverage of levelling, total stations, detail surveys, and EDM. A new chapter on GPS technology has been added. In keeping with the practical nature of the book, there are chapters on setting out construction works and surveying existing buildings, which guide the reader step-by-step through the fundamental procedures. The clear and methodical nature of the explanations, supported by a wide range of exercises and examples, make "Surveying for Construction, 5e" an invaluable and modern introduction to surveying. Its key features include: fully updated coverage and new material throughout, including a new chapter on GPS; new Learning Objectives and Chapter Summaries which guide the student through the learning process and highlight the key principles and methods for each chapter; numerous diagrams and figures which give students a clear and detailed understanding of equipment and procedures; extensive boxed examples and exercises that guide students through real-world surveying methods and calculations; and Website material - online material for creating your own surveying project allows students to practice the methods and techniques they have learnt.
Call Number: 692 IRV
Publication Date: 2006
Survey your home for structural building defects: for homeowners, property developers, students, professionals and property purchasers. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by This second edition has been updated with new photographs, lots more tips, warnings and general advice to provide the homeowner, student or professional with a quick and easy reference guide to identify some of the more common structural building defects found in traditionally built residential properties. It includes a comprehensive structural inspection checklist which has been referenced to the structural building defects section. The inspection checklist will direct the reader to the key elements of the building structure to inspect whilst the structural building defects section includes general advice on what to look out for, why it has happened and what to do now. Contents:- Introduction, Definitions, Reports by Experts. SECTION 1 - The Structural Inspection Checklist. SECTION 2 - Structural Building Defects, Roof Defects, Roof Structure Examples, Chimneys, Bay Windows, Walls - Crack Measurement Guide, Wall Materials, Walls - Thermal and Moisture Movement, Walls - Cracks above Openings, Walls - Undulating Masonry Walls, Walls - Wall Tie Failure in Cavity Walls, Walls - Timber Built into and Supporting Walls, Retaining and Freestanding Walls, Foundation Movement and Subsidence, Influence of Trees on Clay Soils, Chemical attack, Floors, Notching and Drilling of Timber Members, Ground Bearing Floor Slabs, Concrete Defects, Moisture in buildings, Timber Rot, Modern timber framed housing, Insect attack on timber, Structural Alterations, Fire Damage, Vehicle Impact Damage, Poor Design and Workmanship. SECTION 3 - Routine Building Maintenance. Thanks to everyone who has shown an interest and purchased a copy of the first edition and we hope that you find this pocket book interesting and helpful with your initial building assessment.
Call Number: 624.171 JEN
Publication Date: 2015
Surveying for engineers. 5th edn. (Print copy) by The fifth edition of Surveying for Engineers sets out the essential techniques needed for a solid grounding in the subject. Covering traditional methods and the latest technological advances this popular and trusted textbook is packed with clear illustrations, exercises and worked examples, making it both a comprehensive study aid for students and a reliable reference tool for practitioners. Aimed at students studying surveying as either part of an engineering, building or construction course or as a separate discipline, the new edition includes: * the latest developments in Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) * full details on the introduction of network RTK systems and their applications * recent developments in survey instruments, methods and technologies
Publication Date: 2010
Building Surveys and Reports. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by This book deals with structural surveys for all types of building - domestic industrial and commercial - and includes diagnosis of a wide range of defects. It considers both modern and older construction methods, and deals with the particular problems of alterations and restoration work. Guidance is given on how to carry out measured surveys and on report writing. The third edition covers the latest definitions of types of property surveys, more information on report writing and a range of detail updates. * Covers all types of building - commercial, industrial and historical - not just domestic * Deals with particular problems of conversion and renovation work - increasingly important today * New edition features latest definitions of survey types, more on report writing and a range of other updates * 'a valuable reference book' - ASI Journal
Call Number: 9781405121477
Publication Date: 2005
Building Surveys and Reports. 3rd edn. (E-book) NB enter WSC login by This book deals with structural surveys for all types of building - domestic industrial and commercial - and includes diagnosis of a wide range of defects. It considers both modern and older construction methods, and deals with the particular problems of alterations and restoration work. Guidance is given on how to carry out measured surveys and on report writing. The third edition covers the latest definitions of types of property surveys, more information on report writing and a range of detail updates. * Covers all types of building - commercial, industrial and historical - not just domestic * Deals with particular problems of conversion and renovation work - increasingly important today * New edition features latest definitions of survey types, more on report writing and a range of other updates * 'a valuable reference book' - ASI Journal
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2005
Survey and repair of traditional buildings: a sustainable approach (Print copy) by Understanding the unique requirements of traditional buildings is crucial to providing appropriate guidance on their care and repair. This book will help practitioners identify the particular issues relating to older buildings and the problems they may encounter when surveying and repairing them. With the use of examples, the author provides invaluable information on how traditional buildings perform, emphasizing the need for a sensitive and sustainable approach which also takes account of the specific needs of the building. The book examines all aspects to be included in any assessment for survey and repair, and points out in detail the potential pitfalls. It also explores the controversial issues surrounding the treatment of damp and timber decay, advocating solutions that are appropriate to older buildings rather than using standard, often damaging, methods of treatment. The extensive case studies not only illustrate good conservation in practice but also how projects can go badly wrong, and how mistakes could have been avoided. This title explores the causes of movement and the actions required. It advises on alternatives to chemical treatment for damp and timber decay. It provides fully illustrated case studies with numerous photographs. It emphasizes a sustainable approach to conservation. It outlines the key legislation issues. It includes the Historic Buildings Prosecution Fines Database and other useful appendices.
Call Number: 690.24 OXL
Publication Date: 2003
Engineering surveying. 6th edn. (E-book) by Engineering surveying involves determining the position of natural and man-made features on or beneath the Earth's surface and utilizing these features in the planning, design and construction of works. It is a critical part of any engineering project. Without an accurate understanding of the size, shape and nature of the site the project risks expensive and time-consuming errors or even catastrophic failure. Engineering Surveying 6th edition covers all the basic principles and practice of this complex subject and the authors bring expertise and clarity. Previous editions of this classic text have given readers a clear understanding of fundamentals such as vertical control, distance, angles and position right through to the most modern technologies, and this fully updated edition continues that tradition. This sixth edition includes: * An introduction to geodesy to facilitate greater understanding of satellite systems * A fully updated chapter on GPS, GLONASS and GALILEO for satellite positioning in surveying * All new chapter on the important subject of rigorous estimation of control coordinates * Detailed material on mass data methods of photogrammetry and laser scanning and the role of inertial technology in them With many worked examples and illustrations of tools and techniques, Engineering Surveying is essential reading for students and professionals alike involved in surveying, civil, structural and mining engineering, and related areas such as geography and mapping. Wilf Schofield was formerly Principal Lecturer in Civil Engineering at Kingston University; Mark Breach is the Principal Lecturer in Engineering Surveying at Nottingham Trent University and serves on technical committees of the RICS and ICES.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2007
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library