Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings by
The updated edition of the authoritative and comprehensive guide to construction practice The revised fourth edition of Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings expands on the resource that has become a standard text on the construction of buildings. The fourth edition covers the construction of larger-scale buildings (primarily residential, commercial and industrial) constructed with load bearing frames in timber, concrete and steel; supported by chapters on offsite construction, piling, envelopes to framed buildings, fit-out and second fix, lifts and escalators, building pathology, upgrading and demolition. The author covers the functional and performance requirements of the main building elements as well as building efficiency and information on meeting the challenges of limiting the environmental impact of buildings. Each chapter includes new "at a glance" summaries that introduce the basic material giving a good understanding of the main points quickly and easily. The text is fully up to date with the latest building regulations and construction technology. This important resource: Covers design, technology, offsite construction, site assembly and environmental issues of larger-scale buildings including primarily residential, commercial and industrial buildings constructed with load bearing frames Highlights the concept of building efficiency, with better integration of the topics throughout the text Offers new "at a glance" summaries at the beginning of each chapter Is a companion to Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings, fourth edition Written for undergraduate students and those working towards similar NQF level 5 and 6 qualifications in building and construction, Barry's Advanced Construction of Buildings is a practical and highly illustrated guide to construction practice. It covers the materials and technologies involved in constructing larger scale buildings.
Construction Technology by
The second edition of Construction Technology: Analysis and Choice has been expanded to include commercial buildings. This now covers, in a single textbook, all the basic forms of construction studied on professional courses. The book takes as its theme the process of choice: what the expert has to know and how he/she might think through the decisions to be made about the design, production, maintenance and disposal of buildings. It is written with the conviction that by focusing on the process of choice, the range of theory and knowledge that is useful to practice becomes explicit, making the link between knowledge and practice, and between understanding and experience. The new edition has been updated throughout with extensive additions to Chapter13: Manufacture and Assembly and to Chapter 15: Sustainability. An entire new section has been added, covering all the main elements of commercial construction. Students will find here explanations of how environments, structural behaviour, production know-how, cost and social concerns such as sustainability can be taken into account in the choice of construction. They will also gain a clear understanding of the construction details and specifications adopted for both housing and commercial buildings in the UK at the beginning of the 21st century. Provides a framework to think through proposed solutions Sets the choice of solution in both time and place, and in the context of sustainability Focuses on key questions: will the proposal fail; and can it be built? Considers a building's response to loading, environmental conditions and time Looks at the production process as manufacture and assembly Book website at www.wiley.com/go/bryanconstructiontech2e Contains nearly 200 fully referenced, clear line drawings to download for free, as well as suggested learning activities for lecturers to incorporate into their teaching programmes.
Fundamental Building Technology by
Fundamental Building Technologyintroduces the technology, methods, and processes fundamental to construction by focussing on what is involved in building a typical low-rise house. Written with the novice in mind, this textbook is the ideal starting point for any construction student, as it fully supports the reader all the way to understanding the functional requirements of each element of the building, and how to take these into account through the building process itself. This second edition is expanded to cover even more relevant topics, and is supported by more resources for use by the student and lecturer. Now included are: An introduction to the planning process and the building regulations How to incorporate a sustainable approach, in the selection of materials and elsewhere A companion site with lecturer's answers manual and illustrated lecture notes 150 labelled diagrams throughout the book, and multiple self-study questions in every chapter A students' section of the companion site with multiple choice quizzes and 250 full-colour photos linked to chapters of the book Concise, focussed and the most student-friendly guide to this topic available, Fundamental Building Technologyis the perfect textbook for those taking construction technology modules at undergraduate or HNC/HND level.
Advanced Construction Technology by
The authors provide a comprehensive and practical presentation to many aspects of construction practice, as applied to buildings for industrial and commercial purposes. The book covers site works, plant and equipment, substructure, demolition and temporary work, and much more.
Chudley and Greeno's Building Construction Handbook. 12th edn. (Print copy) by
The 12th edition of Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookremains THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on modern methods of construction, greater emphasis on sustainability and a new look interior. Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookis the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Construction technology; an illustrated introduction, (E-book) by Fundamental Building Technology. (E-book) by
Fundamental Building Technology introduces the technology, methods, and processes fundamental to construction by focussing on what is involved in building a typical low-rise house. Written with the novice in mind, this textbook is the ideal starting point for any construction student, as it fully supports the reader all the way to understanding the functional requirements of each element of the building, and how to take these into account through the building process itself. This second edition is expanded to cover even more relevant topics, and is supported by more resources for use by the student and lecturer. Now included are: An introduction to the planning process and the building regulations How to incorporate a sustainable approach, in the selection of materials and elsewhere A companion site with lecturer's answers manual and illustrated lecture notes 150 labelled diagrams throughout the book, and multiple self-study questions in every chapter A students' section of the companion site with multiple choice quizzes and 250 full-colour photos linked to chapters of the book Concise, focussed and the most student-friendly guide to this topic available, Fundamental Building Technology is the perfect textbook for those taking construction technology modules at undergraduatenbsp;or HNC/HND level.
