Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Building Construction Illustrated by The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction,now with a 3D digital building model for interactive learning For over three decades, Building Construction Illustratedhas offered an outstanding introduction to the principles ofbuilding construction. This new edition of the revered classicremains as relevant as ever, providing the latest information inFrancis D.K. Ching's signature style. Its rich and comprehensiveapproach clearly presents all of the basic concepts underlyingbuilding construction. New to this edition are digital enhancements delivered as anonline companion to the print edition and also embedded in e-bookeditions. Features include a 3D model showing how buildingcomponents come together in a final project. llustrated throughout with clear and accurate drawings thatpresent the state of the art in construction processes andmaterials Updated and revised to include the latest knowledge onsustainability, incorporation of building systems, and use of newmaterials Contains archetypal drawings that offer clear inspiration fordesigners and drafters Reflects the 2012 International Building Codes and 2012 LEEDsystem This new edition of Building Construction Illustratedremains as relevant as ever, with the most current knowledgepresented in a rich and comprehensive manner that does notdisappoint.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
Chudley and Greeno's Building Construction Handbook. 12th edn. (Print copy) by The 12th edition of Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookremains THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on modern methods of construction, greater emphasis on sustainability and a new look interior. Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookis the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Call Number: 690 CHU
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
The CSI Sustainable Design and Construction Practice Guide by The CSI Sustainable Design and Construction Practice Guide is a compilation of information and recommended best practices for those who participate in the design and construction of commercial-level sustainable facilities. It offers guidelines and standards for applying sustainable design and construction principles in practical terms. This Practice Guide includes an overview of sustainable design standards and rating systems; an overview of green products and systems, and how to evaluate them; the lifecycle of a building; and the roles and responsibilities of members of the design and construction team.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Understanding Construction Drawings. (Print copy) by Updated to the 2006 International Building and Residential Codes, the fifth edition of UNDERSTANDING CONSTRUCTION DRAWINGS continues to highlight a range of real construction projects - from residential dwellings to commercial structures. This enhanced edition combines information and a hands-on approach to learning. The text provides thorough coverage that builds the foundation for a broad understanding of the entire construction process. The book begins with a simple duplex home that focuses readers on the fundamentals of views, lines, basic dimensioning, and symbols. Next, coverage of a multi-level single family home goes into more depth in orienting and cross-referencing drawings. The third section explores multifamily construction and is accompanied by more complex drawings for practice and more advanced interpretations. The final portion of the book introduces students to elements of commercial construction, including structural steel, masonry, and reinforced concrete. An extensive set of drawings packaged with the book illustrates each building so that students can apply important skills and gain a "real-world" understanding of construction drawings in an engaging way.
Call Number: 692.5 HUH
Publication Date: 2009-05-07
Blueprint Reading by Improve Your Ability to Read and Interpret All Types of Construction Drawings Blueprint Reading is a step-by-step guide to reading and interpreting all types of construction drawings. Filled with hundreds of illustrations and study questions, this easy-to-use resource offers a complete overview of construction drawing basics for every aspect of the construction process- from site work, foundations, and structural systems to interior work and finishes. Covering all the latest technological advances, noted architect Sam Kubba offers detailed information on: Blueprint standards-ANSI, ISO, AWS, and ASME Computer-aided design (CAD) and computer-aided design and drafting (CADD) Lines, views, elevations, and dimensions Layouts of all construction drawing types-architectural, structural, mechanical, and electrical Specifications-MasterFormat and UniFormat Symbols-materials, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, and others How to avoid costly pitfalls on construction projects You'll also find a glossary of terms for quick reference, convenient tables and charts for identifying symbols and abbreviations, and much more. Inside This Skills-Building Guide to Construction Drawing Basics * Blueprint Standards * Blueprints and Construction Drawings: A Universal Language * Understanding Lines * Types of Views * Understanding Dimensions * Layout of Construction Drawings * Understanding Industrial Blueprints * The Meaning of Symbols * Understanding Schedules * Specifications * ISO Issues, Codes, and Building Regulations * Construction Business Environment
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2008-10-21