Construction Project Management. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Construction Project Management: An Integrated Approach is a management approach to leading projects and the effective choice and use of project management tools and techniques. It seeks to push the boundaries of project management to take on board future needs and user issues. Integration of the construction project, meaning closer relations between the project team, the supply chain and the client, is long overdue; however, despite some signs of growth in this area, the industry nonetheless remains fragmented in its approach. The role of the project manager is to integrate diverse interests and unify objectives to achieve a common goal. This has now broadened to include a responsibility, on the parts of both client and team, to ensure that construction addresses current and future societal needs. From an economic perspective, a great deal of waste is connected with conflict, thus a holistic approach that increases the efficiency and effectiveness of the task at hand will inject energy into project management. This third edition now takes on board the impact of technology in building information modelling and other digitised technologies such as artificial intelligence. Together, they open up avenues for more direct and incisive action to test creative design, manufacture directly and communicate spontaneously and intuitively. In time, such technologies will change the role of project managers but will never take away their responsibility to be passionate about construction and to integrate the team. A new chapter has been added that considers future societal needs. This edition is also reordered to make the project life cycle and process chapters clearer. This book combines best practice in construction with the theories underpinning project management and presents a wealth of practical case studies - many new. It focuses on all construction disciplines that may manage projects. The book is of unique value to students in the later years of undergraduate courses and those on specialist postgraduate courses in project management and also for practitioners in all disciplines and clients who have experienced the frustration caused by the fragmentation of construction projects.
BIM in principle and in practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Covering the principles behind building information modelling (BIM), its current use in practice and how it may develop in the future, BIM in Principle and in Practice provides construction professionals with an overview of this emerging field to enable informed discussions with clients and colleagues. BIM is a managed approach to the creation, collation and exchange of shared intelligent and structured data and information across a project. As its use grows there is an increasing need for construction practitioners to understand the principles behind it and how work practices must change to accommodate it. Full collaboration across the entire project team and standardised, well-structured information are at the heart of BIM and will enable enormous efficiencies in the construction industry. BIM in Principle and in Practice is intended to assist in understanding BIM and how it can be used and to provide answers to many of the common questions. Benefits of BIM in Principle and Practice, Second Edition: Completely up-to-date information on the emerging practice of BIM to inform construction professionals Applicable to the UK and international market for companies working internationally Practical guide to contemporary BIM principles and use, with illustrative case studies Relevant to all companies and all projects, whatever their size Provides a vision for the future of BIM development and new forms of contract that may be required Updated to include UK Government Strategy for 2016 2025, updates to PAS 1192 and BS 1192 documents, Digital Scanning of existing buildings, Digital Plan of Works, Other BIM Model types for specific purposes (services, IT, electrics etc.), Development of BIM Protocols and contracts and/or contract terms, Insurances being used, the development of BIM in the EU and internationally, and to include case studies Providing insight for all construction professionals consultants, contractors, sub-contractors, designers, architects, project managers, surveyors, site managers, facilities managers, lawyers and their clients, and relevant to all companies and projects, whatever their size and geographical market, the advice and illustrative case studies within this book form the ultimate practical guide to current practice and a valuable vision for the future.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Modern construction management. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of a core undergraduate textbook for construction managers reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students. While the construction process still requires traditional skills, changes over recent decades today demand improved understanding of modern business, production and contractual practices. The authors have responded accordingly and the book has undergone a thorough re-write, eliminating some of the older material and adding new processes now considered essential to achieving lean construction. Particular emphasis is given, for example, to supply chains and networks, value and risk management, BIM, ICT, project arrangements, corporate social responsibility, training, health and welfare and environmental sustainability. Modern Construction Management presents construction as a socially responsible, innovative, carbon-reducing, manager-involved, people-orientated, crisis-free industry that is efficient and cost effective. The overall themes for the Seventh Edition are: Drivers for efficiency: lean construction underpinning production management and off-site production methods. Sustainability: reflecting the transition to a low carbon economy. Corporate Social Responsibility: embracing health & safety, modernistic contracts, effective procurement, and employment issues. Building Information Management: directed towards the improvement of construction management systems. The comprehensive selection of worked examples, based on real and practical situations in construction management and methods will help to consolidate learning. A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/MCM7 offers invaluable support material for both tutors and students: Solutions to the self-learning exercises PowerPoint slides with discussion topics Journal and web references Structured to reflect site, business and corporate responsibilities of managers in construction, the book continues to provide strong coverage of the salient elements required for developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas.
Principles of operations management: sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn. (E-book) by
A Broad, Practical Introduction to Operations, Reinforced with an Extensive Collection of Practice Problems.
Principles of Operations Management: Sustainability and Supply Chain Management presents a broad introduction to the field of operations in a realistic and practical manner, while offering the largest and most diverse collection of issues on the market. Problems found in the Tenth Edition contain ample support–found in the book’s solved-problems and worked examples–to help readers better understand concepts important to today’s operations management professionals.
Principles of operations management; sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn (Print copy) by
A Broad, Practical Introduction to Operations, Reinforced with an Extensive Collection of Practice Problems.
Principles of Operations Management: Sustainability and Supply Chain Management presents a broad introduction to the field of operations in a realistic and practical manner, while offering the largest and most diverse collection of issues on the market. Problems found in the Tenth Edition contain ample support–found in the book’s solved-problems and worked examples–to help readers better understand concepts important to today’s operations management professionals.
Construction Management: new directions. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
The construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of Construction Management: New Directionsbrings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability. It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike ?Construction Manager
Construction Management: new directions. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of Construction Management: New Directionsbrings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability. It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike ?Construction Manager
Pre-Contract studies: development economics, tendering and estimating. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Pre-contract Studies: Development Economics, Tendering and Estimating provides a comprehensive introduction to the property development process, with an emphasis on the financial analysis of projects in the context of development values and construction costs. The book covers capital investment, funding sources, the economics of development, evaluation of financial data, whole life costing and tendering, estimating and cash flow considerations. The process of getting a project from inception to completion is examined in detail, while the different methods of development appraisal, and the way developers' budgets are calculated, are explored with worked examples. The third edition has been extensively revised to reinforce aspects of valuations and more information has been added on the major property companies and who owns the land in Britain, as well as on conservation, PFI and value management. A large number of charts and graphs are new. The book is used on a wide range of undergraduate programmes in building, surveying and associated disciplines.
Rethinking construction - 2002 (E-document on CIS) by
Rethinking Construction was initiated by the report of the Construction Task Force chaired by Sir John Egan in 1998. The principles are simple: Client leadership, Integrated teams throughout the delivery chain, and Respect for people. Since the publication of the report, the Rethinking Construction agenda has been taken forward through a partnership between government, clients and industry. At the heart of the Rethinking Construction initiative is the Demonstration Projects Programme. This provides the opportunity for leading edge organisations to promote projects that demonstrate innovation and change, which can be measured and evaluated. These are either site-based projects or organisational change projects. This new report looks at: How you can get involved, Working together, How widespread the initiative is across the UK, How good it is for business, The 12 KPIs demonstrated, Who’s who in Rethinking Construction, and Making contact with the initiative.
Procurement Strategies. (E-book) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
Procurement Strategies. (Print copy) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
