Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Construction Manager's BIM Handbook by Building Information Modelling (BIM) harnesses digital technologies to unlock more efficient methods of designing, creating and maintaining built environment assets, so the Construction Manager's BIM Handbook ensures the reader understands what BIM is, what the UK strategy is and what it means for key roles in the construction team. ensure that all readers understand what BIM and are fully aware of the implications of BIM for them and their organisations provides concise summaries of key aspects of BIM ensure that all readers can begin to adopt this approach in future projects includes industry case studies illustrating the use of BIM on large and small projects
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Information Exchanges by The RIBA Plan of Work 2013 Guide: Design Management is part of a brand new series providing must-read practical guidance to running efficient and successful projects using the new RIBA Plan of Work 2013. Each guide takes a core project task - in this case managing information exchangesnbsp;- and explains the essential activities and considerations required at each stage of the new Plan of Work. Easy to use and navigate and in a small and handy format these guides will provide the ultimate quick reference support at your desk or on site. The author provides concise and pragmatic advice rooted in real world experience - a 'how to' that will resonate with practitioners. In-text features such as 'hints and tips', 'checklists', 'forms and templates' and 'signposts' to trusted resources will provide user-friendly support. Boxed examples will highlight best practice and illuminate common problems and solutions borne of hard won experience. These guides are designed to be used on all projects - large and small - and across all types of procurement. They are task rather than role-oriented acknowledging that a variety of people take on these responsibilities including the architect, the client, the contractor or a consultant. They will also be useful for architectural students at Part 3 who are getting to grips with the realities of practice and the new Plan of Work. The author and series editor, Dale Sinclair, is a highly successful and experienced practitioner, lecturer and author. He is RIBA Vice President, Practice and Profession, and he led the development of the RIBA Plan of Work 2013.
Call Number: 720.285 FAI
Publication Date: 2015-09-16
The Bim Manager's Handbook by ePart 1 Best Practice BIM: Seeking to get BIM right? This ePart provides a touchstone for good practice by introducing a number of Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), which represent benchmarks for successful BIM implementation. It explains what good BIM looks like and the pitfalls to avoid with 'bad BIM' and 'pseudo BIM'. It highlights the part that the BIM Manager can play in achieving excellence by outlining the various responsibilities the BIM Manager's role encompasses, while also emphasising how these responsibilities have changed over time and how they are set to evolve. By drawing on interviews with the top BIM Managers worldwide, it delivers up-to-date expert insights from the field. Obook ISBN: 9781118987780; ePub ISBN: 9781118987858; ePDF ISBN: 9781118985618; published April 2015
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
The BIM Management Handbook. (Print copy) by An authoritative and practical road map for those implementing and managing BIM workflows. With the 2016 deadline for BIM level 2 fast approaching and the growing realisation of the huge benefits BIM brings these skills are becoming industry essentials. Concentrating on the how rather than the why this will help you to adapt by clearly, and without jargon, explaining standard BIM processes, Government standards and the effective coordination of design, construction and asset information. Spanning both organisational strategy and day-to-day practical tasks it explores bottom line business reasoning as well as potential risks and challenges. Extra features include: * Case studies that demonstrate real world approaches as well as problems and solutions * Checklists for adequately resourcing BIM roles and responsibilities in relation to PAS-1192 * Self-check questions allowing you to evaluate your BIM implementation methodology This is the go-to guide for BIM Coordinators and Managers, architectural principals, design team leaders and architectural technicians ensuring you are 'BIM ready' in 2016. It will also be invaluable for Part 3 students getting to grips with BIM strategy and implementation.
Call Number: 720.285 SHE
Publication Date: 2016-08-08
BIM for Construction Clients. (Print copy) by With the government-mandated 2016 deadline for BIM level 2 upon us there is a need for everyone in the built environment to embrace the advantages of BIM-enabled working. Clients are not often confident to play their allotted role and must understand what is required of them and how best to utilise BIM for their own benefit. This publication provides an authoritative introduction to what BIM means in real terms for clients and will enable: ¿ Understanding of the strategic value of BIM for clients and how it changes their role; ¿ Seeing through case studies how typical clients are experiencing using BIM; ¿ Setting up a project on a BIM-using basis; ¿ Controlling of the design and construction stages with the benefit of data; ¿ Receiving and operating both real and virtual assets; ¿ Learning where BIM is going next. A must-have for public and private clients of all sorts ¿ whether occasional or regular, facility managers, asset managers or developers - as well as client advisors, architects, project managers, contractors and others working on their behalf.
Call Number: 720.285 SAX
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
Building Information Modeling for Dummies by Everything you need to make the most of building informationmodeling If you're looking to get involved in the world of BIM, but don'tquite know where to start, Building Information Modeling ForDummies is your one-stop guide to collaborative building usingone coherent system of computer models rather than as separate setsof drawings. Inside, you'll find an easy-to-follow introduction toBIM and hands-on guidance for understanding drivers for change, thebenefits of BIM, requirements you need to get started, and whereBIM is headed. The future of BIM is bright--it provides the industry withan increased understanding of predictability, improved efficiency,integration and coordination, less waste, and better value andquality. Additionally, the use of BIM goes beyond the planning anddesign phase of the project, extending throughout the building lifecycle and supporting processes, including cost management,construction management, project management, and facilityoperation. Now heavily adopted in the U.S., Hong Kong, India,Singapore, France, Canada, and countless other countries, BIM isset to become a mandatory practice in building work in the UK, andthis friendly guide gives you everything you need to make sense ofit--fast. Demonstrates how BIM saves time and waste on site Shows you how the information generated from BIM leads to fewererrors on site Explains how BIM is based on data sets that describe objectsvirtually, mimicking the way they'll be handled physically in thereal world Helps you grasp how the integration of BIM allows every stageof the life cycle to work together without data or processconflict Written by a team of well-known experts, this friendly, hands-onguide gets you up and running with BIM fast.
Call Number: 720.285 MOR
Publication Date: 2015-12-21