Measurement using the new rules of measurement (Print copy) by
The RICS New Rules of Measurement mean that the construction industry now has a way of allowing a more consistent approach to the measurement and estimating of buildings from the start of a project, right through until the end, and beyond. Measurement using the New Rules of Measurement offers comprehensive guidance on all the technical competencies concerned with measurement throughout the precontract stages and provides a full commentary to the NRM, with detailed and comprehensive examples of how to measure in accordance with this new prescriptive approach. For both students and practitioners, the acquisition of technical competencies is by practice so this book offers step-by-step worked examples to follow as well as an exercise on each topic. helps dispel anxieties about using a new method in an important area of fee generation based on the author s successful Roadshows, organised by the RICS to promote the NRM companion websites provide support for learning: http://ostrowskiquantities.com and www.wiley.com/go/ostrowski/measurement
RICS new rules of measurement. NRM 1: Order of cost estimating and cost planning for capital building works. (Print copy) by RICS new rules of measurement: NRM 2. Detailed measurement for building works. (Print copy) by 
Pre-Contract studies: development economics, tendering and estimating. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Pre-contract Studies: Development Economics, Tendering and Estimating provides a comprehensive introduction to the property development process, with an emphasis on the financial analysis of projects in the context of development values and construction costs. The book covers capital investment, funding sources, the economics of development, evaluation of financial data, whole life costing and tendering, estimating and cash flow considerations. The process of getting a project from inception to completion is examined in detail, while the different methods of development appraisal, and the way developers' budgets are calculated, are explored with worked examples. The third edition has been extensively revised to reinforce aspects of valuations and more information has been added on the major property companies and who owns the land in Britain, as well as on conservation, PFI and value management. A large number of charts and graphs are new. The book is used on a wide range of undergraduate programmes in building, surveying and associated disciplines.
New Code of Estimating Practice. (Print copy) by
The essential, authoritative guide to providing accurate, systematic, and reliable estimating for construction projects--newly revised Pricing and bidding for construction work is at the heart of every construction business, and in the minds of construction consultants' poor bids lead to poor performance and nobody wins. New Code of Estimating Practice examines the processes of estimating and pricing, providing best practice guidelines for those involved in procuring and pricing construction works, both in the public and private sectors. It embodies principles that are applicable to any project regardless of size or complexity. This authoritative guide has been completely rewritten to include much more contextual and educational material as well as the code of practice. It covers changes in estimating practice; the bidding process; the fundamentals in formulating a bid; the pre-qualification process; procurement options; contractual arrangements and legal issues; preliminaries; temporary works; cost estimating techniques; risk management; logistics; resource and production planning; computer-aided estimating; information and time planning; resource planning and pricing; preparation of an estimator's report; bid assembly and adjudication; pre-production planning and processes; and site production. Established standard for the construction industry, providing the only code of practice on construction estimating Prepared under the auspices of the Chartered Institute of Building and endorsed by a range of other professional bodies Completely rewritten since the 7th edition, to include much more contextual and educational material, as well as the core code of practice New Code of Estimating Practice is an important book for construction contractors, specialist contractors, quantity surveyors/cost consultants, and for students of construction and quantity surveying.
Willis's elements of quantity surveying. 12th edn. (Print copy) by
The measurement of building elements is a core subject for quantity surveying students. Responding to the recently published second volume of the New Rules of Measurement (NRM2) by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, the 12th edition of Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying explains, from first principles and to NRM2 standards, the measurement process for all the key building elements. This edition begins with an overview of the need for measurement and the differing rules governing measurement at different stages of the design or project cycle. As in previous editions the focus remains the detailed measurement of building elements, but the text has been fully revised in line with the NRM2 rules. A range of new and revised examples illustrating the use of NRM2 rules are a key feature of the book, which concludes with guidance on how to use the data collected during the measurement process to create the tender documents. In the 12th edition the hallmarks of previous editions - clarity and practicality - have been maintained while ensuring the book is fully up to date, providing the student of quantity surveying with a first class introduction to the measurement of building elements.
CESMM4: civil engineering standard method of measurement. 4th edn (Print copy) by 
Building Quantities Explained. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
A long established text that aims to meet the needs of students studying building measurement in the early years of quantity surveying and building degree courses. It contains a careful selection of 28 worked examples embracing all the principal building elements and including alternative constructional methods to illustrate a range of approaches.
Construction Contracts : law and management. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
The fifth edition of this bestselling textbook has been thoroughly revised to provide the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the legislation, administration and management of construction contracts. It now includes comparisons of working with JCT, NEC3, and FIDIC contracts throughout. Introducing this topic at the core of construction law and management, this book provides students with a one-stop reference on construction contracts. Significant new material covers: procurement tendering developments in dispute settlement commentary on all key legislation, case law and contract amendments In line with new thinking in construction management research, this authoritative guide is essential reading for every construction undergraduate and an extremely useful source of reference for practitioners.
Estimating for building and civil engineering work. 9th edn (Print copy) by
It deals in a practical and reasonable way with many of the estimating problems which can arise where building and civil engineering works are carried out and to include comprehensive estimating data within the guidelines of good practice. The early part of the book has been completely rewritten to contain chapters useful to students and practitioners alike for the development of the estimating process resulting in the presentation of a tender for construction works. The second and major part of the book contains estimating data fully updated for the major elements in building and civil engineering work, including a new chapter on piling, and a wealth of constants for practical use in estimating. The estimating examples are based on the current edition of the Standard Method of Measurement for Building Works (SMM7). The comprehensive information on basic principles of estimating found in 'Spence Geddes' are still as valid today as the first edition. In this edition the prevailing rates of labour and costs of materials are taken whenever possible as a round figure. Readers will appreciate in the construction industry that prices are continually changing, rise and fall, and that worked examples should therefore be used as a guide to method of calculation substituting in any specific case the current rates applicable to it. In the case of plant output dramatic increases have been experienced in productivity over recent years and again estimators with their own records should substitute values appropriate to their work.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
