Construction Management in Practice. 2nd edn. (E-book) by
While most construction management books are project based, this book looks at management principles and techniques applied to the day-to-day problems facing a business in the construction industry. It covers: Business strategy Industrial relations Health and safety Managing people Financial management Quantitative methods The text includes end of chapter review questions and a range of illustrative examples. Since the book was first written in 1982 much has changed. The Second Edition has been thoroughly revised and takes account of the increased globalisation of construction, the move from public to private sector work, the drive for productivity, changing procurement methods, new emphasis on life cycle costing and much more. It will provide a valuable text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in construction management, surveying and civil engineering as well as offering useful insights for practitioners undertaking CPD activities.
Construction Management in Practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
While most construction management books are project based, this book looks at management principles and techniques applied to the day-to-day problems facing a business in the construction industry. It covers: Business strategy Industrial relations Health and safety Managing people Financial management Quantitative methods The text includes end of chapter review questions and a range of illustrative examples. Since the book was first written in 1982 much has changed. The Second Edition has been thoroughly revised and takes account of the increased globalisation of construction, the move from public to private sector work, the drive for productivity, changing procurement methods, new emphasis on life cycle costing and much more. It will provide a valuable text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in construction management, surveying and civil engineering as well as offering useful insights for practitioners undertaking CPD activities.
Construction Project Management. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Construction Project Management: An Integrated Approach is a management approach to leading projects and the effective choice and use of project management tools and techniques. It seeks to push the boundaries of project management to take on board future needs and user issues. Integration of the construction project, meaning closer relations between the project team, the supply chain and the client, is long overdue; however, despite some signs of growth in this area, the industry nonetheless remains fragmented in its approach. The role of the project manager is to integrate diverse interests and unify objectives to achieve a common goal. This has now broadened to include a responsibility, on the parts of both client and team, to ensure that construction addresses current and future societal needs. From an economic perspective, a great deal of waste is connected with conflict, thus a holistic approach that increases the efficiency and effectiveness of the task at hand will inject energy into project management. This third edition now takes on board the impact of technology in building information modelling and other digitised technologies such as artificial intelligence. Together, they open up avenues for more direct and incisive action to test creative design, manufacture directly and communicate spontaneously and intuitively. In time, such technologies will change the role of project managers but will never take away their responsibility to be passionate about construction and to integrate the team. A new chapter has been added that considers future societal needs. This edition is also reordered to make the project life cycle and process chapters clearer. This book combines best practice in construction with the theories underpinning project management and presents a wealth of practical case studies - many new. It focuses on all construction disciplines that may manage projects. The book is of unique value to students in the later years of undergraduate courses and those on specialist postgraduate courses in project management and also for practitioners in all disciplines and clients who have experienced the frustration caused by the fragmentation of construction projects.
Principles of operations management: sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn. (E-book) by
A Broad, Practical Introduction to Operations, Reinforced with an Extensive Collection of Practice Problems.
Principles of Operations Management: Sustainability and Supply Chain Management presents a broad introduction to the field of operations in a realistic and practical manner, while offering the largest and most diverse collection of issues on the market. Problems found in the Tenth Edition contain ample support–found in the book’s solved-problems and worked examples–to help readers better understand concepts important to today’s operations management professionals.
Principles of Operations Management: sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn. (Print Copy) by 
Programme procurement in construction: learning from London 2012 (Print copy) by
This book adds to the impressive legacy of learning which is still emerging from the successful delivery of the London 2012 construction programme. The authors combine the reforming zeal of a champion for change, who was there every step of the way, with academic rigour, and the result is delivered with impressive passion and commitment to the topic All spenders and suppliers need to read this, to understand how conventional understandings of procurement fall so dramatically short when applied to high value-high risk acquisitions, which invariably is what large construction projects represent. Don Ward, Chief Executive, Constructing Excellence, UK Successful construction is often attributed to one or more aspects of the delivery process from good planning, design and clever engineering to efficient project management and quality construction. Before any of these disciplines can begin, they all require some form of procurement to select the team or supply chain to meet a client s or a project s specific requirements. The concept of PSE - Purchase and Supplier Engineering - originated in the procurement of the construction and infrastructure required to stage the 30th Olympiad in London during 2012. At the time of writing PSE has successfully delivered almost £25bn of public procurement meeting client and project requirements and without legal challenge. The construction of the venues and infrastructure needed to stage London 2012 was such a resounding success that it boosted not only the reputation of the UK construction industry but also the confidence of the UK population in the country s ability to organise, build and run a major international event. Its success has been lauded as something from which clients and industry could learn. The ODA has established a comprehensive and informative body of evidence as part of a Learning Legacy. While the ODA is well aware of the many elements of the procurement and supply chain management, the complete end to end concept of how the Olympic supply chain procurements were managed has until now not been captured. For example, how does one buy the stage for an Olympic Games? How does one manage the details of thousands of contracts and the many firms of contractors, subcontractors and material suppliers and ensure that no one organisation adversely affects any other to the detriment of the programme? How are a client s requirements beyond those of the capital asset realised as part of the investment? How does one measure programme exposure, or manage performance? How does one measure capacity and the ability of firms to cope with the work and manage the risks involved? Programme Procurement in Construction: Learning from London 2012 covers the planning and preparation of a programme s procurement processes from understanding and developing the client s requirements, to monitoring performance based on the benchmarks contractors set out in their own tender submissions. The emphasis is on a close attention to detail to avoid surprises, while keeping a focus on the total programme. Purchase and Supplier Engineering provides an overview of managing the interest of firms in participating and the resulting capacity and workloads of all suppliers, including the main contractors and the critical subcontractors and material suppliers. Offering techniques, tips and lessons learnt from the implementation of PSE on London 2012 and Crossrail, this book is aimed at public and private sector clients, developers, senior management and those businesses and professionals involved in undertaking the procurement, supply chain management and delivery of multiple construction projects or complex major construction programmes.
Pre-Contract studies: development economics, tendering and estimating. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Pre-contract Studies: Development Economics, Tendering and Estimating provides a comprehensive introduction to the property development process, with an emphasis on the financial analysis of projects in the context of development values and construction costs. The book covers capital investment, funding sources, the economics of development, evaluation of financial data, whole life costing and tendering, estimating and cash flow considerations. The process of getting a project from inception to completion is examined in detail, while the different methods of development appraisal, and the way developers' budgets are calculated, are explored with worked examples. The third edition has been extensively revised to reinforce aspects of valuations and more information has been added on the major property companies and who owns the land in Britain, as well as on conservation, PFI and value management. A large number of charts and graphs are new. The book is used on a wide range of undergraduate programmes in building, surveying and associated disciplines.
Modern construction management. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of a core undergraduate textbook for construction managers reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students. While the construction process still requires traditional skills, changes over recent decades today demand improved understanding of modern business, production and contractual practices. The authors have responded accordingly and the book has undergone a thorough re-write, eliminating some of the older material and adding new processes now considered essential to achieving lean construction. Particular emphasis is given, for example, to supply chains and networks, value and risk management, BIM, ICT, project arrangements, corporate social responsibility, training, health and welfare and environmental sustainability. Modern Construction Management presents construction as a socially responsible, innovative, carbon-reducing, manager-involved, people-orientated, crisis-free industry that is efficient and cost effective. The overall themes for the Seventh Edition are: Drivers for efficiency: lean construction underpinning production management and off-site production methods. Sustainability: reflecting the transition to a low carbon economy. Corporate Social Responsibility: embracing health & safety, modernistic contracts, effective procurement, and employment issues. Building Information Management: directed towards the improvement of construction management systems. The comprehensive selection of worked examples, based on real and practical situations in construction management and methods will help to consolidate learning. A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/MCM7 offers invaluable support material for both tutors and students: Solutions to the self-learning exercises PowerPoint slides with discussion topics Journal and web references Structured to reflect site, business and corporate responsibilities of managers in construction, the book continues to provide strong coverage of the salient elements required for developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas.
Construction Project Administration in Practice by
Construction Project Administration in Practice provides a practical guide to the administration of construction projects, from inception to completion. It is intended to give an overall view of the construction process, its problems, risk and uncertainties in one volume. Drawing on his experience both as a lecturer and a quantity surveyor the author takes the reader stage by stage through the entire construction process to show how the project should progress to a successful conclusion.
Construction Management: new directions. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of Construction Management: New Directionsbrings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability. It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike ?Construction Manager
Construction Management: new directions. 3rd edn. (E-book) by
The construction industry faces continual challenges and demands, due to market conditions and coercion by governments, for improvements in safety, quality and cost control, and in the avoidance of contractual disputes. To meet these challenges construction enterprises need to constantly seek new directions and business models in construction management. A number of tools, methods and concepts have been developed and advocated as aids to achieving improved performance, but many in the industry find them confusing or are sceptical of their relevance. The third edition of Construction Management: New Directionsbrings together, in a single volume, detailed discussion of a range of contemporary management concepts which are relevant to the construction industry, including strategic management; benchmarking; reengineering; partnering and alliancing; enterprise risk management; total safety management; total quality management; value management and constructability. It provides a straightforward, accessible and objective account of these concepts, showing how they interrelate and can be used to improve the performance of the construction firm. This research based text will be essential reading for industry leaders and practitioners, as well as researchers, postgraduate and senior undergraduate students. From a review of previous editions I am in no doubt that this book will quickly become a favourite among students and practitioners alike ?Construction Manager
Construction planning, programming and control. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This book offers a clear explanation of the principles and practice of construction planning, programming and control during the preparation and construction stages of a project. The book is written in the context of current procurement and contractual arrangements and JCT2005, NEC3 and ICE7 contracts are covered. The statutory framework within which construction projects must be managed is explained and the topic of construction hazard and risk is covered in detail. A variety of programming techniques are explained and the development of safe construction sequences and methods is particularly emphasised. The control of time, money and resources are considered in a risk management context and a complete chapter is devoted to cash flow. The third edition has been extensively updated and extended to include new materials on: Hazard identification Risk assessment Health and safety management CDM 2007 Construction sequences and method statements Delay analysis Waste management and Site Waste Management Plans The final three chapters are devoted to individual case studies which have been selected to illustrate the practical application of the principles explained in the book and to provide examples of current procedures adopted by major contractors. The content is designed to provide a clear and comprehensive text for undergraduates on construction management, surveying and civil engineering degree courses.
Managing the Building Design Process. 3rd edn (Print copy) by
Managing the Building Design Process explains the designer's role in the creation of new buildings from the development of the plan through to completion. One key case study is used throughout the book so that the reader can clearly follow the process leading to the creation of a new building. This new edition expands on the first edition including sections on CAD and sustainability; incorporating updates to legislation and adding new illustrations as well as discussion points and useful references at the end of every chapter. Gavin Tunstall is an architect and a lecturer in the School of Architecture, Design and the Built Environment at Nottingham Trent University, UK.
Procurement Strategies. (E-book) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
Procurement Strategies. (Print copy) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
Rethinking construction - 2002 (E-document on CIS) by
Rethinking Construction was initiated by the report of the Construction Task Force chaired by Sir John Egan in 1998. The principles are simple: Client leadership, Integrated teams throughout the delivery chain, and Respect for people. Since the publication of the report, the Rethinking Construction agenda has been taken forward through a partnership between government, clients and industry. At the heart of the Rethinking Construction initiative is the Demonstration Projects Programme. This provides the opportunity for leading edge organisations to promote projects that demonstrate innovation and change, which can be measured and evaluated. These are either site-based projects or organisational change projects. This new report looks at: How you can get involved, Working together, How widespread the initiative is across the UK, How good it is for business, The 12 KPIs demonstrated, Who’s who in Rethinking Construction, and Making contact with the initiative.
Handbook for Construction Planning and Scheduling by
The authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction This handbook acts as a guide to good practice, a text to accompany learning and a reference document for those needing information on background, best practice, and methods for practical application.nbsp; A Handbook for Construction Planning & Scheduling presents the key issues of planning and programming in scheduling in a clear, concise and practical way. The book divides into four main sections: Planning and Scheduling within the Construction Context; Planning and Scheduling Techniques and Practices; Planning and Scheduling Methods; Delay and Forensic Analysis. The authors include both basic concepts and updates on current topics demanding close attention from the construction industry, including planning for sustainability, waste, health and safety and Building Information Modelling (BIM). The book is especially useful for early career practitioners - engineers, quantity surveyors, construction managers, project managers - who may already have a basic grounding in civil engineering, building and general construction but lack extensive planning and scheduling experience. Students will find the website helpful with worked examples of the methods and calculations for typical construction projects plus other directed learning material. This authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction is written in a direct, informative style with a clear presentation enabling easy access of the relevant information with a companion website providing additional resources and learning support material. the authoritative industry guide on construction planning and scheduling direct informative writing style and clear presentation enables easy access of the relevant information companion website provides additional learning material.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
