Internal Components by
This book and its companion volume External Componentsencourage an evaluation of alternative methods for putting components together. Both use contemporary case studies to relate component design to real building.
Metric Handbook by
* Significantly updated in reference to the latest construction standards and new building types. * Sustainable design integrated into chapters. * Over 100,000 copies sold to successive generations of architects and designers - this book belongs on every design office desk and drawing board. The Metric Handbookis the major handbook of planning and design data for architects and architecture students. Covering basic design data for all the major building types it is the ideal starting point for any project. For each building type, the book gives the basic design requirements and all the principal dimensional data, and succinct guidance on how to use the information and what regulations the designer needs to be aware of. As well as buildings the Metric Handbookdeals with broader aspects of design such as materials, acoustics and lighting, and general design data on human dimensions and space requirements. The Metric Handbookreally is the unique reference for solving everyday planning problems.
Smart Buildings by
Smart Buildings: Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology to Improve Energy Efficiency and Environmental Performance presents a thorough analysis of the latest advancements in construction materials and building design that are applied to maximize building efficiency in both new and existing buildings. After a brief introduction on the issues concerning the design process in the third millennium, Part One examines the differences between Zero Energy, Green, and Smart Buildings, with particular emphasis placed on the issue of smart buildings and smart housing, mainly the 'envelope' and how to make it more adaptive with the new possibilities offered by nanotechnology and smart materials. Part Two focuses on the last generation of solutions for smart thermal insulation. Based on the results of extensive research into more innovative insulation materials, chapters discuss achievements in nanotechnology, bio-ecological, and phase-change materials. The technical characteristics, performance level, and methods of use for each are described in detail, as are the achievements in the field of green walls and their use as a solution for upgrading the energy efficiency and environmental performance of existing buildings. Finally, Part Three reviews current research on smart windows, with the assumption that transparent surfaces represent the most critical element in the energy balance of the building. Chapters provide an extensive review on the technical features of transparent closures that are currently on the market or under development, from so-called dynamic glazing to bio-adaptive and photovoltaic glazing. The aesthetic potential and performance limits are also be discussed.
Civil Engineering Materials by
This text will appeal to undergraduate students of civil engineering, construction technology, architecture and related disciplines. Throughout the book the underlying theme is an emphasis on the factors affecting engineering decisions in order to promote an awareness of material behaviour in both design and construction.
Materials Technology by
Materials Technology clearly identifies materials and technology as the fundamental generators of buildings and examines how they determine the structure, overall form and quality. It examines the issues that determine the choice of materials, and argues that the decision-making of architects, engineers and designers should take account of the environmental impact of sourcing the basic materials, and of the energy implications of their processing and use in manufacturing. Materials Technology is an essential resource for Materials Technology units in building, architecture and surveying degree and postgraduate courses; and students of BTEC HNC/D building and surveying. It will also be a useful reference tool for Advanced GNVQ Construction and the Built Environment courses and Built Environment NVQs at levels 3 and 4.
Materials by
A well-known and respected standard reference, this fifth edition provides a thorough treatment of the properties of building materials and their manufacture, both on-site and in the factory.
Materials for Architects and Builders by
Materials for Architects and Builders provides a clear and concise introduction to the broad range of materials used within the construction industry and covers the essential details of their manufacture, key physical properties, specification and uses. Understanding the basics of materials is a crucial part of undergraduate and diploma construction or architecture-related courses, and this established textbook helps the reader to do just that with the help of colour photographs and clear diagrams throughout. This new edition has been completely revised and updated to include the latest developments in materials research, new images, appropriate technologies and relevant legislation. The ecological effects of building construction and lifetime use remain an important focus, and this new edition includes a wide range ofnbsp;energy saving building components.
Environmental Design by
Written and edited by a team of specialists at Max Fordham LLP, one of the UK's leading environmental and building services engineering consultancies, Environmental Designis the result of their extensive experience in designing environmentally-friendly buildings. The principles of their approach, which they have taught in numerous schools of architecture and engineering, are clearly presented here. The book starts with some basic scientific principles and environmental issues and then moves on to site planning, energy use, materials and building form. Natural ventilation systems, high-efficiency mechanical equipment and alternative energy sources are also covered. State-of-the-art buildings of exceptional quality are incorporated throughout the text and illustrate the authors' belief that environmentally responsible architecture can be visually exciting. They conclude with a selection of detailed case studies of award-winning projects - including, new for this third edition, Beaufort Court, King's Langley and the National Trust Headquarters, Swindon. This book is essential reading for architects, engineers, planners and students of these disciplines.
Materials Technology by
Materials Technology clearly identifies materials and technology as the fundamental generators of buildings and examines how they determine the structure, overall form and quality. It examines the issues that determine the choice of materials, and argues that the decision-making of architects, engineers and designers should take account of the environmental impact of sourcing the basic materials, and of the energy implications of their processing and use in manufacturing. Materials Technology is an essential resource for Materials Technology units in building, architecture and surveying degree and postgraduate courses; and students of BTEC HNC/D building and surveying. It will also be a useful reference tool for Advanced GNVQ Construction and the Built Environment courses and Built Environment NVQs at levels 3 and 4.
Materials by
A well-known and respected standard reference, this fifth edition provides a thorough treatment of the properties of building materials and their manufacture, both on-site and in the factory.
