Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Design and Construction: building in value. (Print copy) by The design and construction of buildings is a lengthy and expensive process, and those who commission buildings are continually looking for ways to improve the efficiency of the process. In this book, the second in the Building in Value series, a broad range of topics related to the processes of design and construction are explored by an international group of experts. The overall aim of the book is to look at ways that clients can improve the value for money outcomes of their decisions to construct buildings. The book is aimed at students studying in many areas related to the construction industry including architecture, construction management, civil engineering and quantity surveying, and should also be of interest to many in the industry including project managers, property developers, building contractors and cost engineers.
Call Number: 690 BES
Publication Date: 2002
Design and Construction: building in value (E-book) by The design and construction of buildings is a lengthy and expensive process, and those who commission buildings are continually looking for ways to improve the efficiency of the process. In this book, the second in the Building in Value series, a broad range of topics related to the processes of design and construction are explored by an international group of experts. The overall aim of the book is to look at ways that clients can improve the value for money outcomes of their decisions to construct buildings. The book is aimed at students studying in many areas related to the construction industry including architecture, construction management, civil engineering and quantity surveying, and should also be of interest to many in the industry including project managers, property developers, building contractors and cost engineers.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2002
Building Services, Technology and Design. (Print copy) by This is a concise guide to the installation and design of principal services in domestic and commercial buildings. It combines theory, design and application in one volume and is supported throughout with illustrations, design examples, tables and charts. Topics are fully detailed to include existing and contemporary practice. The book concentrates on principal building services only and covers the CIOB Level 2 module on building services.
Call Number: 696 GRE
Publication Date: 1997
Building Services Engineering. 6th edn. (Print copy) by Engineering services within buildings account for ongoing energy use, greenhouse gas contribution and life safety provisions. This fully updated sixth edition of David Chadderton's leading textbook is the perfect preparation for those intending to enter this increasingly important field. Chapters addressing heating, climate change, air conditioning, transportation systems, water, gas, electricity, drainage and room acoustics cover all the key responsibilities of the building services engineer. As well as introductory material and the underpinning theory, practical guidance is provided in the form of sample calculations and spreadsheets. New material includes: trends and recent applications in lowering the energy use by mechanical and electrical services systems, heating, cooling and lighting of buildings case studies modelled from post-occupancy reports to provide realistic discussion topics examples of the use of photovoltaic solar panels, chilled beams, under floor air distribution, labyrinths, ground-sourced heat pumps, district heating and cooling, energy performance certificates, energy auditing and wind turbines outlines of the concepts of global warming, carbon trading and zero carbon buildings. exercises in each chapter and online self-study questions. A significantly expanded companion site offers over 1,000 self-test questions, powerpoint slides for lecturers, and an instructors' manual, enabling the rapid generation of lectures, assignments, and tests. This is the ideal textbook for students of building services engineering, as well as a comprehensive guide for those about to start work.
Call Number: 696 CHA
Publication Date: 2013
Chudley and Greeno's Building Construction Handbook. 12th edn. (Print copy) by The 12th edition of Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookremains THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on modern methods of construction, greater emphasis on sustainability and a new look interior. Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookis the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Call Number: 690 CHU
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Building Regulations in Brief. 9th edn. (Print copy) by This ninth edition of the most popular and trusted guide reflects all the latest amendments to the Building Regulations, planning permission and the Approved Documents in England and Wales. This includes coverage of the new Approved Document Q on security, and a second part to Approved Document M which divides the regulations for 'dwellings' and 'buildings other than dwellings'. A new chapter has been added to incorporate these changes and to make the book more user friendly. Giving practical information throughout on how to work with (and within) the Regulations, this book enables compliance in the simplest and most cost-effective manner possible. The no-nonsense approach of Building Regulations in Brief cuts through any confusion and explains the meaning of the Regulations. Consequently, it has become a favourite for anyone in the building industry or studying, as well as those planning to have work carried out on their home.
Call Number: 343.07869 TRI
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library