Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chudley and Greeno's Building Construction Handbook. 12th edn. (Print copy) by The 12th edition of Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookremains THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on modern methods of construction, greater emphasis on sustainability and a new look interior. Chudley and Greeno'sBuilding Construction Handbookis the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Call Number: 690 CHU
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Design and Construction: building in value. (Print copy) by The design and construction of buildings is a lengthy and expensive process, and those who commission buildings are continually looking for ways to improve the efficiency of the process. In this book, the second in the Building in Value series, a broad range of topics related to the processes of design and construction are explored by an international group of experts. The overall aim of the book is to look at ways that clients can improve the value for money outcomes of their decisions to construct buildings. The book is aimed at students studying in many areas related to the construction industry including architecture, construction management, civil engineering and quantity surveying, and should also be of interest to many in the industry including project managers, property developers, building contractors and cost engineers.
Call Number: 690 BES
Publication Date: 2002
Energy efficiency in buildings. 2nd edn. CIBSE Guide F (Print copy) by This edition of Guide F covers both the energy requirements committed by the design and the energy costs in use, as design and management cannot be separated. It has become larger as some new sections have been added, such as the checklist Why buildings fail on energy, and there are useful practical enhancements including a Design checklist, How to carry out an energy survey and Part C: Benchmarks. CIBSE Applications Manual AM 5: Energy audits and surveys has been incorporated within this volume for completeness.
The Guide seeks to inform a very diverse audience and aims to be pertinent to many groups involved in buildings besides building services engineers, including building developers/financiers, specifiers, architects, surveyors, letting agents, energy managers and consultants and building owners/operators.
Guide F deals with the building as a whole. The technical content is guidance from an energy perspective and extra information is available elsewhere in the CIBSE Guides and other sources listed in the bibliographies at the end of each section. The Guide also complements energy efficiency publications provided under the Carbon Trust's Action Energy programme (formerly the Energy Efficiency Best Practice programme).
Call Number: 696 CHA
Publication Date: 2004
Building Regulations in Brief. 9th edn. (Print copy) by This ninth edition of the most popular and trusted guide reflects all the latest amendments to the Building Regulations, planning permission and the Approved Documents in England and Wales. This includes coverage of the new Approved Document Q on security, and a second part to Approved Document M which divides the regulations for 'dwellings' and 'buildings other than dwellings'. A new chapter has been added to incorporate these changes and to make the book more user friendly. Giving practical information throughout on how to work with (and within) the Regulations, this book enables compliance in the simplest and most cost-effective manner possible. The no-nonsense approach of Building Regulations in Brief cuts through any confusion and explains the meaning of the Regulations. Consequently, it has become a favourite for anyone in the building industry or studying, as well as those planning to have work carried out on their home.
Call Number: 343.07869 TRI
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
Building control systems. CIBSE Guide H (Print copy) by 'Building Control Systems' provides the building services engineer with a comprehensive understanding of modern control systems and relevant information technology. This will ensure that the best form of control systems for the building is specified and that proper provision is made for its installation, commissioning, operation and maintenance.
Beginning with an overview of the benefits of the modern building control system, the authors describe the different controls and their applications, and include advice on their set-up and tuning for stable operation. There are chapters on the practical design of control systems, how to work from the hardware components and their inclusion in networks, through to control strategies in Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) systems and whole buildings.
The relationship between Building, Management Systems (BMS) and information technology systems is discussed, and the building procurement process and the importance of considering control requirements at an early stage in the design process
Call Number: 696 CHA
Publication Date: 2009
Energy Management in the Built Environment. (Print copy - also available as an E-book available on CIS) by This book provides a step-by-step approach to energy management, together with the use of a matrix tool for implementing energy management initiatives within an organization. The tool can help identify areas for improvement, prioritize energy management activities and maximize benefits. Most of the examples are from the built environment but the principles can be employed in any organization or industry sector. The guidance is applicable by anyone responsible for energy management in an organization, from board level to operational staff. In addition, the publication: examines how data from sources such as BREEAM assessments, energy audits, energy performance certificates, display energy certificates and monitoring and targeting can underpin energy management addresses asset and operational performance and discusses how information from both is needed to adequately assess the energy performance of a building illustrates how undertaking an energy management programme can improve energy ratings introduces the new energy management standard ISO 50001 and explains its contribution to an auditable energy management programme.
Call Number: CURRENTLY ON ORDER - Available as an e-book on CIS
Publication Date: 2012
Operating BEMS: A practical approach to building energy management systems. (E-book on CIS) by Building energy management systems (BEMS) are often an integral part of a larger building management system (BMS). Discusses why BEMS are essential tools for managing energy, focussing on a number of key reasons why their use should be considered, including cost saving, compliance with legislation and to management of risk.
Call Number: online - Available as an e-book via Construction Information Service
Publication Date: 2014
Environmental Construction Handbook. (E-book on CIS by Environmental Construction Handbookis an illustrated analysis of the various specific sustainability challenges presented by different building types. Based on rigorous research, it examines the consequences of contemporary construction methods and the ways in which their environmental impacts can be improved. A thought-provoking introductory chapter that makes sense of the plethora of benchmarks and environmental assessment methods serves as essential background reading, while the subsequent chapters, which concentrate on discrete building types, are designed to be dipped into as needed. The types considered - houses, housing, offices, schools, supermarkets, and factories - are all described using consistent, objective measures.The book is illustrated throughout with case studies contributed by some of the UK's leading exponents of environmentally conscious design, each accompanied by an ECOpoints summary to allow comparison. Comprehensive in its coverage, it makes extensive use of information panels that highlight particular issues, systems or technologies. Overall, Environmental Construction Handbookis an important, authoritative compendium designed to help architects and other building construction professionals to deliver more sustainable buildings.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2008
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library