Principles of operations management; sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn (Print copy) by
A Broad, Practical Introduction to Operations, Reinforced with an Extensive Collection of Practice Problems.
Principles of Operations Management: Sustainability and Supply Chain Management presents a broad introduction to the field of operations in a realistic and practical manner, while offering the largest and most diverse collection of issues on the market. Problems found in the Tenth Edition contain ample support–found in the book’s solved-problems and worked examples–to help readers better understand concepts important to today’s operations management professionals.
Principles of operations management: sustainability and supply chain management. 10th edn. (E-book) by
A Broad, Practical Introduction to Operations, Reinforced with an Extensive Collection of Practice Problems.
Principles of Operations Management: Sustainability and Supply Chain Management presents a broad introduction to the field of operations in a realistic and practical manner, while offering the largest and most diverse collection of issues on the market. Problems found in the Tenth Edition contain ample support–found in the book’s solved-problems and worked examples–to help readers better understand concepts important to today’s operations management professionals.
Construction planning, programming and control. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This book offers a clear explanation of the principles and practice of construction planning, programming and control during the preparation and construction stages of a project. The book is written in the context of current procurement and contractual arrangements and JCT2005, NEC3 and ICE7 contracts are covered. The statutory framework within which construction projects must be managed is explained and the topic of construction hazard and risk is covered in detail. A variety of programming techniques are explained and the development of safe construction sequences and methods is particularly emphasised. The control of time, money and resources are considered in a risk management context and a complete chapter is devoted to cash flow. The third edition has been extensively updated and extended to include new materials on: Hazard identification Risk assessment Health and safety management CDM 2007 Construction sequences and method statements Delay analysis Waste management and Site Waste Management Plans The final three chapters are devoted to individual case studies which have been selected to illustrate the practical application of the principles explained in the book and to provide examples of current procedures adopted by major contractors. The content is designed to provide a clear and comprehensive text for undergraduates on construction management, surveying and civil engineering degree courses.
Human resource management in construction. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
The construction sector is one of the most complex and problematic arenas within which to manage people. As a result, the applicability of much mainstream human resource management (HRM) theory to this industry is limited. Indeed, the operational realities faced by construction organizations mean that all too often the needs of employees are subjugated by performance concerns. This has potentially dire consequences for those who work in the industry, for the firms that employ them and ultimately, for the prosperity and productivity of the industry as a whole. In this new edition of their leading text, Andrew Dainty and Martin Loosemore have assembled a collection of perspectives which critically examine key aspects of the HRM function in the context of contemporary construction organizations. Rather than simply update the previous edition, the aim of this second edition is to provide a more critical commentary on the ways in which the industry addresses the HRM function and how this affects those who work within the industry. To this end, the editors have gathered contributions from many of the leading thinkers within construction HRM to critique the perspectives presented in the first edition. Each contributor either tackles specific aspects of the HRM function, or provides a critical commentary on industry practice. The authors explain, using real-life case studies, the ways in which construction firms respond to the myriad pressures that they face through their HRM practices. Together the contributions encourage the reader to rethink the HRM function and its role in defining the employment relationship. This provides essential reading for students of construction and project management, and reflective practitioners who are interested in theoretically informed insights into industry practice and its implications. 　
This link will take you to your subject guide
Modern construction management. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
This new edition of a core undergraduate textbook for construction managers reflects current best practice, topical industry preoccupations and latest developments in courses and fundamental subjects for students. While the construction process still requires traditional skills, changes over recent decades today demand improved understanding of modern business, production and contractual practices. The authors have responded accordingly and the book has undergone a thorough re-write, eliminating some of the older material and adding new processes now considered essential to achieving lean construction. Particular emphasis is given, for example, to supply chains and networks, value and risk management, BIM, ICT, project arrangements, corporate social responsibility, training, health and welfare and environmental sustainability. Modern Construction Management presents construction as a socially responsible, innovative, carbon-reducing, manager-involved, people-orientated, crisis-free industry that is efficient and cost effective. The overall themes for the Seventh Edition are: Drivers for efficiency: lean construction underpinning production management and off-site production methods. Sustainability: reflecting the transition to a low carbon economy. Corporate Social Responsibility: embracing health & safety, modernistic contracts, effective procurement, and employment issues. Building Information Management: directed towards the improvement of construction management systems. The comprehensive selection of worked examples, based on real and practical situations in construction management and methods will help to consolidate learning. A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/MCM7 offers invaluable support material for both tutors and students: Solutions to the self-learning exercises PowerPoint slides with discussion topics Journal and web references Structured to reflect site, business and corporate responsibilities of managers in construction, the book continues to provide strong coverage of the salient elements required for developing and equipping the modern construction manager with the competencies and skills for both technical and business related areas.
Construction Management in Practice. 2nd edn. (E-book) by
While most construction management books are project based, this book looks at management principles and techniques applied to the day-to-day problems facing a business in the construction industry. It covers: Business strategy Industrial relations Health and safety Managing people Financial management Quantitative methods The text includes end of chapter review questions and a range of illustrative examples. Since the book was first written in 1982 much has changed. The Second Edition has been thoroughly revised and takes account of the increased globalisation of construction, the move from public to private sector work, the drive for productivity, changing procurement methods, new emphasis on life cycle costing and much more. It will provide a valuable text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in construction management, surveying and civil engineering as well as offering useful insights for practitioners undertaking CPD activities.
Construction Management in Practice. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
While most construction management books are project based, this book looks at management principles and techniques applied to the day-to-day problems facing a business in the construction industry. It covers: Business strategy Industrial relations Health and safety Managing people Financial management Quantitative methods The text includes end of chapter review questions and a range of illustrative examples. Since the book was first written in 1982 much has changed. The Second Edition has been thoroughly revised and takes account of the increased globalisation of construction, the move from public to private sector work, the drive for productivity, changing procurement methods, new emphasis on life cycle costing and much more. It will provide a valuable text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in construction management, surveying and civil engineering as well as offering useful insights for practitioners undertaking CPD activities.
Construction Management. Print copy) by
Behind the success of any construction project is the effective site management of the works by the principal contracting organisation. Construction Management provides a comprehensive introduction to the key management concepts, principles and practices that contribute to project success. Up-to-date with the latest developments in the field, and packed with examples and case study material, this book is suitable for a range of students including: HNC/D and undergraduates students on building, civil engineering, construction management, quantity surveying, building surveying and architecture courses. It would also be a useful reference for postgraduates and young construction professionals.
Construction Management: principles and practice. (E-book) by
Behind the success of any construction project is the effective site management of the works by the principal contracting organisation. Construction Management provides a comprehensive introduction to the key management concepts, principles and practices that contribute to project success. Up-to-date with the latest developments in the field, and packed with examples and case study material, this book is suitable for a range of students including: HNC/D and undergraduates students on building, civil engineering, construction management, quantity surveying, building surveying and architecture courses. It would also be a useful reference for postgraduates and young construction professionals.
Procurement Strategies. (Print copy) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
Procurement Strategies. (E-book) by
Construction has been an industry characterised by disputes, fierce competitiveness and fragmentation - all major obstacles to development. Now, however, a relationship-based approach to project procurement, through partnering and alliancing, aims to bring about a fundamental change. This book addresses the critical relationship issues for a more collaborative and sustainable construction industry. It looks at how project procurement and project alliancing partner selection works, and how risk and crisis resolution are managed. It provides readers with guidance and models on how to put a relationship-based approach to procurement into practice, drawing on specific prototypes from an actual, successful project that can be adapted.
Handbook for Construction Planning and Scheduling by
The authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction This handbook acts as a guide to good practice, a text to accompany learning and a reference document for those needing information on background, best practice, and methods for practical application.nbsp; A Handbook for Construction Planning & Scheduling presents the key issues of planning and programming in scheduling in a clear, concise and practical way. The book divides into four main sections: Planning and Scheduling within the Construction Context; Planning and Scheduling Techniques and Practices; Planning and Scheduling Methods; Delay and Forensic Analysis. The authors include both basic concepts and updates on current topics demanding close attention from the construction industry, including planning for sustainability, waste, health and safety and Building Information Modelling (BIM). The book is especially useful for early career practitioners - engineers, quantity surveyors, construction managers, project managers - who may already have a basic grounding in civil engineering, building and general construction but lack extensive planning and scheduling experience. Students will find the website helpful with worked examples of the methods and calculations for typical construction projects plus other directed learning material. This authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction is written in a direct, informative style with a clear presentation enabling easy access of the relevant information with a companion website providing additional resources and learning support material. the authoritative industry guide on construction planning and scheduling direct informative writing style and clear presentation enables easy access of the relevant information companion website provides additional learning material.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
